We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Merrillville
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good location, good value”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Have stayed there many times for business travel, due to convenient location for nearby dining & shopping. Room was clean & quiet, wifi was strong, HVAC was good, & breakfast options were fine.
Told fitness center didn't open until 7, due to noise affecting nearby guest rooms, but could request access earlier, if exercised quietly.
Accessed at 5:30 without need for staff assistance? Ironic that TV was blaring loudly, since remote was broken & it was impossible to reduce volume or change channels.

Room Tip: East side rooms will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    33
    23
    11
    7
See reviews for
47
22
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
139 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

As a Choice Hotel member, I've stayed at lots of Choice hotels. This one was about the same. Some parts of it were modernized and very clean except for the hall carpet which was dirty & disgusting. It had the usual free breakfast which was good. The bed and the pillows were very comfortable.

However....We were on the 3rd floor and the free wi-fi was spotty/sporadic, which is why I put the title I did. We find we don't want to stay in places much anymore where the internet service is not fast and reliable. To us, it's just as important as comfortable beds. If you don't need internet service, then this hotel would be great for a longer stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank teechur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesmerrill, Webmaster at Comfort Suites Merrillville, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Comfort Suites Merrillville for your recent stay in our area

We regret that your experience was less than satisfactory. We will take heed of your comments regarding wi-fi.

We are thankful for mentioning all the positive sides which you observed during your stay.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay Comfort Suites Merrillville . I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Very nice room. Pool was very cold, heated but not warm enough. Check in was very slow!!! Close to lots of shopping and restaurants.pool was warm enough for a child to swim but way too cold for parents to enjoy. Quite a bit of noise from upper levels

Room Tip: Top floor to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis North Suburb
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

DH on business and l stayed 2 nights. King room with sitting area, very clean, comfy bed,friendly front desk day & night. Breakfast of standard hot items was good and ready before 6 AM. We were on interstate side and didn't hear traffic. Good value at $ 90+tax (wished we would had stayed here on previous Merrillville trip).

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank GrayMare42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

clean, one flat screen t.v. Nothing outstanding about this property. Loud and very close to highway. Rooms smaller than other Comfort Suite, Suite is just a sofa. Breakfast was just o.k., nothing outstanding about the breakfast either.

Room Tip: To avoid loud highway noise ask for room on backside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob2159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesmerrill, Webmaster at Comfort Suites Merrillville, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at the Comfort Inn, Merrillville IN.

We are checking the review. Our apologies for the inconvenience caused howsoever.

We are continuously improving our rooms, amenities and other points related to cleanliness and other points mentioned by you.

We would love to see you again at our hotel and we will definitely give you a nice experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Good hotel, great area. Man on front desk was not very friendly & seemed to be there all the time. Once I managed to get a nice lady. Decent "hot/continental" breakfast. The lady working in there was friendly. The door to our room had a large gap from the knob down to the floor - enough to see out in the hallway. We were a little uncomfortable with that. The first night we had some noisy neighbors who made the entry door and the "adjoining room door" rattle when they would go in & out which was often. Overall a pleasant stay and I would stay again. Although it's a little pricey, I was able to use some discounts that brought my price down.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WannaGo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesmerrill, Webmaster at Comfort Suites Merrillville, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Valued Guest!

Thanks for being at the Comfort Inn Merrillville and your overall review.

We are glad for the appreciation about the hotel, the area and the service staff and above all the breakfast.

At the same time we are taking effective steps to correct the points that you have mentioned.

We are eagerly awaiting to welcome you soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The desk clerk was the best thing about the hotel. Our room wasn't clean with hair in the tub and the toilet not cleaned. Prices are high for what you get.
The floor we were on was noisy and the elevator was not functioning correctly causing some concerns as to the safety.
There are too many other hotels in the area that give a better value.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mspons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesmerrill, Webmaster at Comfort Suites Merrillville, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with Comfort Inn during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate your review and our apologies for the inconvenience you had howsoever.

We understand your concerns regarding price and cleanliness and ac on that.

Happy to note that you liked the service of the front desk clerk and she has been conveyed the appreciation.

We await your earliest next trip to our area and promise a nice stay with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#1 of 21 in Merrillville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
#2 of 21 in Merrillville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
#6 of 21 in Merrillville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
#3 of 21 in Merrillville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Merrillville

Property: Comfort Suites Merrillville
Address: 1344 E 83rd Ave, Adj to 8311 Ohio Street, Merrillville, IN 46410-6364
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Merrillville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Suites hotel in Merrillville IN near Deep River Waterpark The smoke-free Comfort Suites(R) hotel is close to the Deep River Waterpark and the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore. We are near many other points of interest, including: Indiana University Northwest Genesis Convention Center Blue Chip Casino Four Winds Casino We are walking distance from the Westfield Southlake mall, movie theatres and several restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Merrillville Hotel Merrillville
Merrillville Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing