We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Merrillville
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Merrillville
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Easy to get to, clean, comfortable, nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 117 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed two nights. We changed rooms after the first night because the close proximity to the interstate caused a less than peaceful sleep night for me, a normally sound sleeper. In fairness, my spouse heard no noise. And, if the a/c or heat had been on all night, it certainly would have deadened the noise.

The second night we stayed in room 205. It was an exceedingly windy evening and night. In the couple of hours before we went to bed, we kept hearing some sort of creaking or cracking sound (a perfect sound for a creepy Halloween evening!). I could only think to compare the sound to a slightly loose piece of plastic siding. However, the building materials outside around the window did not appear to be any siding. We opened/closed the sliding window, and the sound seemed to abate some. The sound did not keep me from going to sleep or from sleeping all night. I did report the odd sound to the front desk person in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gramps45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The room was very clean. Bedding was comfortable with nice linens. The rooms were called suites, however, it only consists of a small couch and a partial divider from the bed area. The TV is in the bed area so actually the couch is useless unless you are needing additional bedding for a large party. There is a small microwave and refrigerator. The furnishings seem to be relatively new. The heating unit worked quite well. You can hear the interstate traffic going by but unless you are an extremely light sleeper, you won't notice it. The swimming pool is adequate, but my daughter thought the water was quite cool. The continental breakfast was adequate and had several items in a large room.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E4178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We arrived early & were allowed to go ahead & check in. The front desk manager told us that at that time the only room they had was by the elevator. We were concerned that there might be elevator noise all night but heard absolutely nothing, which was fantastic as we are light sleepers. Our king room was clean, roomy & comfortable, especially the bed & pillows. The bathroom was very large although the shower water pressure left a little to be desired. The location is convenient to shopping and entertainment and is a great value for the price. The breakfast was fine although the OJ was very watered down. The air conditioning wouldn't shut off automatically even when the correct temperature was reached so we were constantly turning it off/on to regulate the comfort level of our room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDDFJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

The room was very clean, and looked newly renovated (the mattress on the sofa bed was still in plastic). Furnishings were of good quality and the beds were very comfortable. The pool was nice, and the breakfast pretty good for a free breakfast. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDDChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

The first time I stayed here was a week in May 2011.

The room was clean, the AC worked nicely, the Wi-Fi connection was stable and good. The biggest issue I had with the hotel at this time was that the key cards would keep erasing themselves...so I would get all the way to my room and find that my card doesn't work... It became routine to get my card reprogrammed before I went to my room.

Also, the fridge was obnoxiously loud and the smoke detector would chirp loudly once every 90(ish) minutes.

I chalked it up as just an okay stay. It wasn't so bad that I wouldn't stay again at that point.


The SECOND time I came back to IN, I decided to stay here again...figuring I would give it another chance...
This stay was also a week in duration during July 2011.

The first room I had the toilet would flush itself every 45(ish) minutes...I requested a different room after four flushes and my attempting to fix it; I consider myself to be a handyman of sorts. No luck, the diaphragm inside the flush tank was just too old and needed to be replaced.

The second room I was in had an exceptionally loud AC...with a compressor that would have a locked rotor when it was coming off of the standby mode while operating; for anyone that doesn't know what this sounds like...it is terribly loud. The other issue with the AC was the face panel was vibrating like mad...I used some folded up paper to secure it and silence it.

Also in this second room...the sink in the bathroom doesn't drain rapidly...room service should surely know this is an issue...assuming they clean the bathroom...

All in all...it is a hotel that is not representative of the other Comfort Inns that I have stayed in. I think its issues stem from poor management.

Would I stay there a third time. No.

Room Tip: Even number rooms are on the sunset side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank onebigfellah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesmerrill, Webmaster at Comfort Suites Merrillville, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at the Comfort Inn, Merrillville during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate your review and the observations. We will surely take them for improvement.

We are addressing your observations for further improvement and you shall definitely find the difference during your next visit.

We await your earliest next trip to our area and promise a nice stay with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed one night this weekend. The hotel was almost completely full, with just a few rooms left. We had a king suite with a sofa bed on the 3rd floor. Everything about this hotel was clean, even the elevator. There is not one cleanliness issue I could complain about. The only problem with our room was that the vanity lightbulb was out making it a little difficult to put contacts in or apply makeup. However..... it was no big deal. We did not use the pool or hot tub, but they looked clean and refreshing. We had the complimentary breakfast and it was fabulous. The employee kept everything tidy and filled. The sausage biscuits and gravy was to die for! We would stay here again in a heart beat. Great area!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santhony6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Merrillville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#2 of 22 in Merrillville
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Merrillville
Quality Inn Merrillville
#7 of 22 in Merrillville
29 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
#1 of 22 in Merrillville
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Merrillville

Address: 1344 E 83rd Ave, Adj to 8311 Ohio Street, Merrillville, IN 46410-6364
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Merrillville
Price Range: $83 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Merrillville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Suites hotel in Merrillville IN near Deep River Waterpark The smoke-free Comfort Suites(R) hotel is close to the Deep River Waterpark and the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore. We are near many other points of interest, including: Indiana University Northwest Genesis Convention Center Blue Chip Casino Four Winds Casino We are walking distance from the Westfield Southlake mall, movie theatres and several restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Suites Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Merrillville Hotel Merrillville
Merrillville Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing