We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”

Morgan-Monroe State Forest
Attraction details
Martinsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Morgan-Monroe State Forest's boundaries are almost adjacent to ours. It's mostly just forest, with the remains of old settlements still visible in places. Some great folklore is associated with Morgan-Monroe, too, with some pretty great ghost stories.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lilybramble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful Drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Love driving through this forest especially in the fall. Enjoy riding my cycle there, very little traffic.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank beas51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent picnic spot. Beautiful, especially in spring or fall.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Has some of our favorite nearby picnic spots. The last time we had one was in October. Multiple picnic areas with both shelter houses (which can be reserved for large groups) and individual tables under the trees or in the sunshine. Fishing, hiking, and camping. Some hunting areas in season.
Ignore the silly woman who was afraid of ghost stories about the Stepp Cemetery.
Website: http://www.in.gov/dnr/forestry/4816.htm

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank hoosierM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hiking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

good trails, several miles total throughout. connects to the Techumseh trail (have not tried that part yet) Camping allowed on some trails. We did the Low Gap Trail, about 10 miles in 4 hours.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DWS964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“VG and it's in our backyard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Many parts of Indiana are devoid of anything nice to look at while driving. This place is easy to get to and fun to visit.

Beautiful areas that most local residents take for granted...or don't even bother.

We drive or hike parts of it at least once a week.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank aloha498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morgan-Monroe State Forest also viewed

 

Been to Morgan-Monroe State Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing