We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations were meant.”
Review of Turkey Run Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marshall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Turkey Run Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Marshall B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expectations were meant.”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The room was clean. Nothing extravagant here, but the value was good. The staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant was great, American buffet style. We didn't go here for the luxurious Inn, we went for the trails, and they were superb.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieAnnTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    95
    60
    18
    12
See reviews for
107
88
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I will not be eating your buffet ever again. It was never that great but the last time we were at Turkey Run to go hiking last October it was the worst I ever had.

The food had absolutely no flavor. The cooks did not use any seasoning whatsoever, not even salt. They just opened cans and dumped them into the trays and served the food. They had some type of Lasagna with sausage. The sausage tasted artificial. The fried chicken was overcooked, dry, greasy and tasteless. I complained but nothing was done about it. The only explanation I got was "we have a new head cook." I told them he needs to be fired! We ordered our son a hamburger and I was actually jealous.

You buffet is not worth $14.95. I don't know if you folks are trying to save money but just using a little seasoning and proper cooking techniques you could make that garbage taste a little better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rparker611, General Manager at Turkey Run Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. It is only through our guests feedback that we are provided opportunities to improve.

I apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations during your last visit to the restaurant, our staff is certainly empowered to correct any situation in regard to quality, so it is disappointing and somewhat embarrassing that you were allowed to leave our facility unsatisfied.

I also apologize that both I and our staff have been unable to establish a more personal relationship so that you would feel it appropriate to call, email, write or just stop by the office to let us know we were unable to meet the standards we continually strive for, the links to TripAdvisor and Facebook are always provided in our communications with our guests so that they have the ability to express their concerns both positively and negatively.

It is always difficult to hear that a guest will not be returning because we were unable to meet their expectations, in the event you would consider changing your mind please let me know so that a form of compensation may be offered.

Please do not allow this experience to dampen your good will towards the “Wonders in your backyard” also known as the Indiana State Parks.

Sincerely,
Rob Parker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We enjoyed our stay. The rooms and property were clean and presentable. The bathrooms have been upgraded recently I would say and they are very nice. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The General Manager went out of his way by email correspondence to answer questions we had and take our preferences for wine and reservations for dinner. We went on Valentine's Day weekend with another couple, and the Inn provided a bottle of wine (not to leave the room), a bag of nice chocolates, and dinner and breakfast were included. The buffet at the restaurant was pretty good, nothing outstanding though. It was the middle of winter with quite a few inches of snow on the ground, but they had a fire going outside and a night hike was included. Lots of different birds and I enjoyed using my photography skills. We had a really good time and will probably come back in the spring or fall.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Witteney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette
Level Contributor
415 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The desk staff were friendly and welcoming as we arrived on a Tuesday afternoon to take advantage of their 2-for-1 winter special. We had booked online and expected something similar to the picture posted; a fairly large room with a queen bed, rustic hickory furniture, and a love seat. We were given room 233 and disappointed to see it was dated and worn. I asked for another room and without hesitation we were given room 205, which was recently redecorated with a nice, renovated bath and the hickory furniture we expected ... but too small for a love seat. It was hard to get a good night’s sleep on the hard mattress and the sound of the nearby heatpump unit was distracting. The lounge area features a gas fireplace and rustic furniture but none of the “lodge architecture” that would make it an attraction. The “library” is very limited: would be nice to have books on Indiana history or about natural attractions of the area. Our meals were a pleasant surprise. Two breakfasts were served hot by attentive waitresses who kept coffee cups full. Our dinner sandwiches were good-sized portions and served hot with a side salad and fries, also good. We visited the nature center before leaving and enjoyed the simple, well-designed exhibits.

Room Tip: You may want to talk to staff for guidance in choosing a room. We reserved online and were given a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mack3065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillsboro, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This visit was my second stay at the Turkey Run Lodge. For an older establishment I've been pleased with the cleanliness and up-to date amenities. Wi-fi service throughout the lodge can be iffy. The food was pretty good and offered enough gluten free options to give us some choices.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraLynnBy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the queen bed/jacuzzi room at the Inn the first weekend of February 2014. On a whim I had reserved the anniversary package which gets you breakfast, dinner, a bottle of champagne, and chocolate. The room (301) was spacious, with an average queen bed (not horrible), a comfortable leather couch and chair. The decor was woodsy, better than your average Indiana State Park Lodge. We knew going in that this would not be equivalent to the Hilton, we have stayed at state parks lots of times before. Yes, parts of it are dated, but it was very nice. If I had to do it over again, I would skip the jacuzzi room (although it gives you more square footage) because it also does not have a SHOWER. This teeny bit of information was not mentioned anywhere. Instead, we had a hand shower we could pull up out of the jacuzzi tub. It made it feel a little like camping. Getting in and out of the jacuzzi tub was ok for a person who is fit, but it might be difficult if you have mobility issues.

The restaurant is typical fair for a state park lodge, and I can't say I'm a fan, since it leans toward the fried and the gravyfied. The salad bar is good, however, and the breakfast bar was very nice.

Staff was excellent. Restaurant staff, desk, and gift store staff were great. If you want a State Park Lodge stay with gorgeous surroundings, a little nicer than average room appointments, and quiet, this is your place.

We woke to 7.2 inches of snow and hiked out to the suspension bridge - it was wonderful and worth the effort. Although our $210 per night cost would have gone a lot further in a commercial hotel, I love our state parks and found it worth the money in many other ways!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chardob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Turkey Run SP is a great place but the inn like the park seems a bit overrun at times and in need of a bit of TLC. Room accoutrements and linens are dated and it could need a bit of an update. Front desk staff was very friendly but the restaurant needs help when it comes to food and service but it's the only game in town. Also not really for the younger set but for families and retired folks.

Room Tip: Don't get a room overlooking the roof of the restaurant or the pool especially in the fall and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogstar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshall
8.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Rockville
Econo Lodge Rockville
#3 of 4 in Rockville
67 reviews
20.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Crawfordsville
20.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Crawfordsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 9 in Crawfordsville
125 reviews
20.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Crawfordsville Hotel
20.9 mi away
Ramada Limited Crawfordsville
Ramada Limited Crawfordsville
#5 of 9 in Crawfordsville
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turkey Run Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turkey Run Inn

Property: Turkey Run Inn
Address: 8102 Park Rd, Turkey Run State Park, Marshall, IN 47859-8882
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Marshall
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marshall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turkey Run Inn provides the comfort of modern amenities in an historic country inn setting. Our comfortable sleeping rooms, indoor pool, full-service restaurant, arcade & over fourteen miles of beautiful hiking trails inside Turkey Run State Park create a relaxing atmosphere for all occasions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Turkey Run Hotel Marshall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing