We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“We enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grannys Farm Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marshall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grannys Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Marshall B&B and Inns
Elyria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

As part of the bike club, I was very happy with our room and setup. We had a nice room with a private bathroom. Yes the Jacuzzi was not working, but when I informed Sam, he looked at it and said that he would fix it. Our shower worked fine and had plenty of hot water. The water is well water and if you are not used to it or have not drank it before it does have a different taste. Sam and Judy were very friendly and accomandating. They let us store our bikes in the garage out of the rain and gave us the run of the place. The breakfast were excellent, consisting of cereal, fresh fruit, yogart, bagels muffins and hard boiled eggs, along with orange juice, coffee and tea. As far as things to do we enjoyed the bike riding, kayaking, and hiking thru the parks. In the evenings we went to a different restaurant every night and enjoyed the meals and reasonable prices. I would recommend the viniger pie and cat fish dinners. The weather was intermittent rain and the cell phone service was not very good, but Sam and Judy can not be held responsible for that. I enjoyed their hospitality and would highly recommend Grannys Farm Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: You would be better off paying a liltte extra for the private room and bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    5
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
21
38
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oberlin OH
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in room 3 and 15 other people from my bike club stayed in the farm house and the barn. be sure to bring your own water. The water smells bad and tastes worse. Our friends filled up the Jacuzzi in their room (didn't work) and said the water in the tub was a gray green and smelled bad. Our room had a nice sitting area but the bedrooms are really storage closets with twin beds in one and a double in t he other. If you shut the door you feel like you will suffocate. It felt way too hot in less than 5 minutes. The breakfast was nice with fresh fruit and cereal. After riding bicycles around the very rough roads of Parke county which may have been last paved in 1945, we took a very quick shower. The water was COLD! If you want to put something in the refrigerator you need to walk down a wobbly stairwell, through the owners home and down to the basement. Not too convenient. Internet connection was incredibly slow (think 1990 dial up) or non existent. Cell phone service was frustrating because when we would call each other to make arrangements the calls would get dropped over and over. Cell batteries died quickly in roaming mode.
We toured the covered bridges which all look alike save one that had windows. We left early because there is Nothing to do in Parke county except watch the corn grow. Rain is a real bummer. Two days of that was plenty.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Sam and Judy are so nice ! Great place, fantastic environment, amazing style. Everything is just fantastic and the feeling of being away from anywhere is awesome ! Close to Turkey run state park, perfect place for hikers and canoers !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoddickAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

A friend recommended it to us last minute. We got room 3, a large sitting room, with a loft area and two bedrooms. We rushed in took showers(very hot!) and headed to Turkey Run SP for a wedding. Afterwards we relaxed and watched some tv. Breakfast was delicious, fresh fruit and home baked goodies! Sam was very gracious. This was my first experience at a B&B, it certainly won't be my last!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

This wonderful bed and breakfast exhibits country relaxation to a T! Located close to Turkey Run State Park and all of the covered bridges in Parke County, this is a superb choice for accommodations. Choose a suite in the old farmhouse, in the new farmhouse, or even in the barn. Each one is decorated to the highest quality, the bedding is way above standard, and there are other thoughtful amenities to make one's stay enjoyable. The host family went out of its way to be helpful; and the breakfasts offered more than anyone could want with cereal, juices, bagels, muffins, warm cinnamon rolls, fresh fruit, and plenty of coffee. If you like peace and quiet but you also enjoy being pampered, this is a place for you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SED712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Barn Suite during a recent trip to Turkey Run. The rooms were immaculately clean & well maintained. My husband wanted to take the entire bed home with us...the sheets, mattress & pillows were all fabulous. The little touches were much appreciated...a pitcher of cool water in the fridge, an iPod docking station/clock. The hosts were very gracious & personable.

Only a few complaints...the bedroom had an east-facing window with wooden blinds, so it made sleeping in a little difficult. The other downside was the lack of communication options...terrible cell service (not surprising considering the locale), no WiFi & no house phone in our room (which was a drive down the road from the main house). We were on an anniversary trip but still wanted to be able to contact my mother to check on the kids.

Overall, a lovely experience & we'd definitely consider staying there again.

Room Tip: I'd recommend staying at either the main house or the farmhouse. The Barn Suite was nice but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peotone, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our 5th trip to Granny's Bed and Breakfast. The house is clean and very inviting. It is only 1 mile off route 47 and easy to get to. The amnities in the house are all in good working order. Our family rents the home each year for a family weekend. We have 8 adults and 4 children and don't feel crowded at all. Judy and Sam are gracious hosts and we look forward toour trip each year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshall
8.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Rockville
Econo Lodge Rockville
#3 of 4 in Rockville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
19.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Crawfordsville
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Crawfordsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 9 in Crawfordsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
19.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 9 in Crawfordsville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
19.6 mi away
Ramada Limited Crawfordsville
Ramada Limited Crawfordsville
#5 of 9 in Crawfordsville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grannys Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grannys Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Grannys Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4329 E State Road 47, Marshall, IN 47859-8843
Location: United States > Indiana > Marshall
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marshall
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing