We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of The College Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The College Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Marion B&B and Inns
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

If you are visiting your students at Indiana Wesleyan University, this is the place to stay! The Inn is adorable and its proximity to IWU was perfect. The rooms are so comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful. And Jack, the innkeeper, was so friendly. I really enjoyed talking with him. I will pick this inn over any hotel for my future visits to IWU.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
14
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

If you're traveling to Marion, Indiana, especially to Indiana Wesleyan University, you want to stay here! It definitely lives up to the motto "A Place To Relax". We have a daughter at Indiana Wesleyan University. My wife and I decided to visit on Valentine's weekend this year. Having heard great reviews about The College Inn, we abandoned our usual hotel (not so great) and were lucky enough to get in at The College Inn (awesome). We've never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, but were really impressed. Very comfortable, friendly, and a great breakfast. I agree with other reviewers who compare a visit to The College Inn to staying at a good friend's home. I will tell you I had some minor reluctance in writing this review -- I'm afraid there won't be a room available for our next stay! Seriously, you need to check this one out - we'll be staying there every time we visit Marion.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takerrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2014

"A Place to Relax" is the motto of this sweet bed and breakfast, and they stay true to these words. The room I stayed in was cozy and comfortable. Jack, the innkeeper was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the morning was made fresh, delicious, and filling! The food and service was top notch like at a fine hotel, and the atmosphere was like being at your best friend's home. I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I've stayed in many hotels in Grant County over the years, and hands down, my experience at the College Inn has been the best. That's because it's a great example of a B and B at its best: the dependability of a hotel, but with the relaxed and cozy atmosphere of a good friend's home. I totally recommend it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoRoadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My wife and I were in Marion for her brothers graduation from Indiana Wesleyan and could not have picked a nicer place to stay. The College Inn was very easy to find and located right across the street from the campus. The innkeeper was extremely friendly and hospitable to all our needs. There were wonderful snacks and drinks around the clock and a wonderful breakfast special made because my wife has lots of allergies. The room was the cleanest room i have ever stayed in and very warm and cozy with an awesome view of the campus. We stayed in room 5 which was upstairs and had the largest bathroom in the Inn. I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting IWU for any reason.

Room Tip: Room 5 was upstairs with a queen bed, large bathroom and great view of the campus. It seemed to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Our three nights here were the best stay away from home we've ever had. The inn is cozy, warm, and inviting. Jack goes above and beyond to make the stay as comfortable as possible! The food and snacks were delicious. We could not have had a more relaxing visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Wonderful place to stay. Well appointed rooms with very comfortable beds. Nice amenities - like a fridge filled with beverages, coffee, table full of baked goods, fluffy robes, flat screen t.v.'s, hair dryers, shampoo and greet innkeeper. Full breakfast in a sunny breakfast room. Room number one has a king sized bed. If you are a late riser, you might want to stay upstairs as the downstairs rooms are off of the lobby and kitchen. It was NOT noisy, but a light sleeper might hear people coming and going in the downstairs rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanEppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#2 of 5 in Marion
317 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 5 in Marion
71 reviews
6.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Marion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gas City
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Gas City
24.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kokomo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The College Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The College Inn

Property: The College Inn
Address: 3902 S Washington St, Marion, IN 46953-5070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Marion
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Marion
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To College Inn in Marion, Indiana - We Are Just Steps Away From Indiana Wesleyan University!College Inn is a new concept for university hospitaility that combines to be the best value and location for all your stays when coming to this area. Our Marion, Indiana Inn features five distinct rooms cleverly creating an upscale boutique hotel atmosphere without sacrificing the charming and appeal of an intimate Inn. When coming to the Indiana Wesleyan University campus area, College Inn guests are greeted by our staff who are focused on their every need and question while here. Our goal is to put WOW in every visit.An array of fine-star-hotel style options awaits College Inn guests. Visitors can begin their stay by enjoying a gift bag of goodies and a campus map on their bed, snacks on the porch, and bicycles are available at no charge for a tour of the campus.For those seeking a place to relax and escape, College Inn is a romantic and pristine destination with soothing music, warm towels, hot showers, private baths, large flat screen TVs, and everyone nestles in the most comfortalbe beds this side of heaven.College Inn is also the best value in the area, we include all taxes, fees, a great breakfast, snacks and beverages throughout the day, parking, and wifi in our affordable prices. Therefore, our rates, location, outstanding amenities, and captivating campus experience makes staying at our Marion, Indiana College Inn a must! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing