We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Views!”
Review of Marengo Cave

Marengo Cave
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Marengo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Amazing visitors since its discovery in 1883, Marengo Cave offers a wide variety of fun activities! Take a leisurely tour through our spectacular Crystal Palace or Dripstone Trail, pan for gemstones, twist and crawl through our cave simulator, or explore an undeveloped natural cave. You're certain to enjoy your stay!
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Took the family for a one day trip getaway and this was perfect! My kids had never been to a cave before so this was their first experience. Was able to order my tickets online ahead of time and when we arrived we were doing our first tour within 30 minutes. We did the combo package of both caves...it was a good idea because you see such different things between the two. Our guides were great and provided lots of terrific information about how the caves were formed and the whole history of their discovery. Family had a great time and it will be something we will suggest to others to do. Only thing I would suggest for the managers of Marengo Cave...the "Snack Shop" sign should really say "Vending Area" as we were really hungry between our tours and thought we would go grab a quick bite only to find two vending machines and an area to sit down. :-) Overall great experience though!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarengoCave, Manager at Marengo Cave, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks for coming for a a day trip to see us. We love it when children get to come and learn about the wonders beneath our hills. You even save some money by buying your tickets in advance. Your suggestion is good about changing our sign to Vending Area. Come back to visit us anytime. When the kids are at least 10 then you can come and do an underground adventure where you get wet and muddy!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    81
    13
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wonderful experience. Constant temp of 52, so take your jacket. Guides were excellent and well versed. All areas are easily passable. Will come again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank snp51023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarengoCave, Manager at Marengo Cave, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks for posting on TripAdvisor. So glad you enjoyed your trip to see Marengo Cave. The 52 decrees is the same year around so you can cool down in the summer and warm up in the winter. We are looking forward to your next trip to see us. We have camping and cabins also to stay in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
241 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The kids are still taking about this experience”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The family made a stop at Marengo cave on the way back home from Holiday World. This was a fantastic experience for the kids (ages 8 & 6). They learned a ton and are still talking about the experience. We would certainly recommend a stop here if you are close by our in the greater Louisville area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TheStolleFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarengoCave, Manager at Marengo Cave, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Glad your family was able to stop to visit the Marengo Cave. This a good stop to make after a fun day in the sun, you can cool off in our 52 decrees cave and see the beautiful formations in our cave. Hope to see your family again. Thanks, for coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Indiana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice trip”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Took our 2 kids to Marengo Cave a few weeks ago. We only live less than 1 hour away so that made it really nice. The only other cave we have been to is Mammoth Cave so comparing the 2 would not be fair. We spent about 2 hours here and the kids had a good time. We did one tour, The Dripstone, which was about an hour long. Our guide was very nice ( not sure if she was very knowledgable ) but the kids thought she was funny. The cave itself was pretty neat to see and in the summer you can't beat the underground temperature :-) I would recommend this attraction or getaway to people who live fairly close.. I would not drive 3-4 hours to visit but if you happen to be nearby it is definatly worth spending a few hours. I will say that it is a little pricey.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank indyxray5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarengoCave, Manager at Marengo Cave, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
So glad you came to visit the Marengo cave and felt it was worth your time to come. We have a beautiful cave and is easy walking tours. Children do enjoy seeing the formations. We do have some coupons on line and in local stores in the area. We have a large group of people that do come from Indy & Evansville and really think it work their time to come visit. Will look forward to your next visit. Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Caverns”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

What a great experience. We visited the cavern on a hot , raining day; what a place to stay cool and see some amazing formations all by nature. Our tour guide Mallory was great, she really brought to life the different formations. I really liked the eel fomration and the " Bacon" one with the water falling it made it sound like the Bacon was really being fried. We did the combination trails, with a break in between.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcds7183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarengoCave, Manager at Marengo Cave, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thanks for coming to visit our Marengo Cave. It is always good to come on a hot day, you get to cool off with the all year around 52 decrees inside the cave. The rain helps to keep the formations growing in the cave and does not ever close the cave. Mallory is a great asset to our team, she gives tours, underground adventures, and guest services. Come back to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marengo Cave also viewed

 

Been to Marengo Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing