We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riverboat Inn is smooth sailing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverboat Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Madison
TERRE HAUTE
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Riverboat Inn is smooth sailing”
Reviewed September 11, 2009

On a visit to historic Madison, IN we stayed overnight at the Riverboat Inn. We couldn't have made a better choice. The room we stayed in was not large, but since our objective was sightseeing, we didn't plan on being in it any length of time. However, it was very comfortable with everything updated. It was our understanding that the previous owner had let it fall in disrepair. You couldn't tell that now. The owner and her son have done major remodeling and upgrading to the room. And, the large porch? They have it stocked with comfortable chairs and lounges to enjoy the fantastic view. And, if you want to sip a drink while soaking it all in, they have a stocked bar too!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyingfish182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    61
    20
    16
    15
See reviews for
28
107
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

My husband and I shared a room with our friends on Saturday evening after attending
the Madison Ribberfest. The room was very comfortable and clean. The back porch
runs along the whole building and there were plenty of tables and chairs for all guests
to view the river and drink coffee the next morning! I will come back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phylharmonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis missouri
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

It was a girlfriend get away while the guys were off fishing and Madsion was our last stop and overnight on a long weekend Indiana adventure.
Riverboat Inn is everything the website depicts and more! The staff and owner (Kathy) are warm and welcoming and offer lots of information on Madison and the surrounding area. The Casino is just about 30-40 minutes away and deserves a look see even if you're not a gambler.
Our room was clean, spacios and well appointed with all the comforts of home and the upper balcony area is charming for sitting and sipping. I checked out the rooms on the lower patio area and they are just as inviting. If you're vising in the fall or its a cool night there are firepits or chimeas for your use. They have a great pool but unfortunately we didn't get to take the plunge. There was live enetertainment on Saturday evening and the band was good. That was too cool to sit on the balcony, look out at the river and feel like the band was playing just for you! Dining is in close proximity for the Key West Shrimp House - you can even walk down the hill if you so choose. We enjoyed dinner but pretty much all menu offerings are fried. The coconut shrimp is delish so if you go be sure to try. The river view is beautiful even with the murky muddy waters, but fun to watch the ski boats, tubes and jet skis make their way between Indiana and Kentucky. Breakfast was okay with biscuits, sausage & gravy but those egg patties left a lot to be desired . Would highly recommend this B&B to any friends traveling together or any couples looking for a midwest get away. There are 3 wineries in the area and all have interesting wines. Madison's people are friendly and we definitely enjoyed a bit of shopping. Outdoor activities abound for walking, hiking, boating, fishing or motorcycle riding.
The Inn is a little high priced even for the view - our room for three ran about $168 with taxes. The good news is that we split the cost and splurged - no regrets.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midwsttrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lousiville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Room 13....what can I say? Nice cross breeze. Bed was truly a sunken horror. Cryptic shower instructions, and an actual kitchen sink in the bathroom. No soap there, and the coffeepot was so dirty, well. $95

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bereakentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2009

i had a great time shopping in town, eating adjacent to the inn, shopping and best of all the kindness of the staff and owner along w/music on friday/sat. nights i was something i needed for a long time, along w/someone i care about it was a great view looking over the river and a wonderful town i will be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newguy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the River Boat Inn. Our room was very charming. The people who work here are very nice. Breakfast was good. The live music on Friday night was nice and it was fun to sit out on their nice veranda, watch the fireflies, and enjoy the view of the Ohio River. Our biggest complaint was that there were way too many other guests at this hotel who were smoking outside on the veranda. It would be nice if they would make this property a non-smoking property like some of the other places we stayed on our trip.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2009

My mother and I came down to Madison for a fun girls getaway and by chance found the Riverboat Inn on her GPS and then looked online. We loved the location, we could see the Ohio River from our deck, and watch the boats go by, our room was beautiful, beautifully decorated, wood floors, very, very homey and comfortable. The staff was out of this world friendly and accommodating. The "continental" breakfast was bisquits & gravy, eggs, and bacon and toast! I've never had a continental breakfast like that! We can't wait to go back with our husbands!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sightseer000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
0.2 mi away
Hillside Inn
Hillside Inn
#3 of 7 in Madison
170 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#4 of 7 in Madison
108 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Way Inn
Best Way Inn
#7 of 7 in Madison
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Madison/Hanover Area
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Carrollton
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 7 in Carrollton
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverboat Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverboat Inn and Suites

Property: Riverboat Inn and Suites
Address: 906 E 1st St, Madison, IN 47250-3623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an American-owned hotel. We try hard to be the best we can be. All our rooms are individually decorated with the cutest amenities. Flat screen TVs, pillow top beds, fireplaces, hardwood floors, mini refrigerators, microwaves, free breakfast on weekends, free wi-fi, live music on Sat.evening, full lounge, and much more. Our riverfront patios are enclosed and heated in the winter so you can enjoy the view even if it is cold! We are Madison's only riverfront hotel and just minutes walking distance to historic downtown Madison. Lets us know ahead of time and we will pick you up at the Madison airport or marina.We can also take you downtown or pick you up if you let us know.We also have 2/3/and 4 bedroom condos on the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverboat Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing