We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, included kitchen sink, sunken bed”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverboat Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Room 13....what can I say? Nice cross breeze. Bed was truly a sunken horror. Cryptic shower instructions, and an actual kitchen sink in the bathroom. No soap there, and the coffeepot was so dirty, well. $95

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bereakentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Riverboat Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 223 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2009

i had a great time shopping in town, eating adjacent to the inn, shopping and best of all the kindness of the staff and owner along w/music on friday/sat. nights i was something i needed for a long time, along w/someone i care about it was a great view looking over the river and a wonderful town i will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newguy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the River Boat Inn. Our room was very charming. The people who work here are very nice. Breakfast was good. The live music on Friday night was nice and it was fun to sit out on their nice veranda, watch the fireflies, and enjoy the view of the Ohio River. Our biggest complaint was that there were way too many other guests at this hotel who were smoking outside on the veranda. It would be nice if they would make this property a non-smoking property like some of the other places we stayed on our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

My mother and I came down to Madison for a fun girls getaway and by chance found the Riverboat Inn on her GPS and then looked online. We loved the location, we could see the Ohio River from our deck, and watch the boats go by, our room was beautiful, beautifully decorated, wood floors, very, very homey and comfortable. The staff was out of this world friendly and accommodating. The "continental" breakfast was bisquits & gravy, eggs, and bacon and toast! I've never had a continental breakfast like that! We can't wait to go back with our husbands!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sightseer000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

We are working across the river from the Inn and had notice the view it had and decided to check it out for Thanksgiving since we could not make it home to florida for the Holiday.

We stayed in the Captains quarter for two nights and it was beautiful, and homey, and spotlessly clean with its own large private balcony, we also had a front balcony with gas heaters.

It was all done up in Xmas decor and they went all out, it was awesome. We had Thanksgiving dinner there and it to was awesome, there was more food than I could even try and it was all homemade (they only do this on Thanksgiving). They have a cute little Pub that have friendly locals who come to have a few drinks.

I would recommend this place for any occasion and especially a romantic getaway, the view of the river is spectacular.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank safetydiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We stay at the Riverboat Inn every spring for the CAM River Run Car Show. We have never been disappointed. Very friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank himicats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2008

We were there duirng the power outage of Hurrican Ike. The Riverside Inn had no electricity the two nights we stayed. All of the accomodations with lights were housing Electrical workers. We were grateful for a place to stay.

Kathy was very gracious. She got 6 generators brought in and ran them for periods of time, so we could take hot showers or watch TV. She heavily discounted the rooms. The Veranda everynight was aglow with fires. I got up one morning and there was fog coming off the River. Then a barge came down. It was llovely.

We asked her to recommend some place to eat.. The Key West Shrmp house had electricity, and we had an excellent meal there. (I loved the shrimp scampi and the salad bar was great)

The room was small but nicely decorated and clean. They had small wallmounted LCD TVs, and great walk in showers.

They have taken this Hotel, and tried to make something special out of it. Rates run from approximately $84 to $150. Probably at off times the lowest rate if further discounted.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bugszie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
0.2 mi away
Hillside Inn
Hillside Inn
#3 of 7 in Madison
173 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#4 of 7 in Madison
112 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Way Inn
Best Way Inn
#6 of 7 in Madison
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Madison/Hanover Area
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 7 in Carrollton
239 reviews
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Carrollton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverboat Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverboat Inn and Suites

Address: 906 E 1st St, Madison, IN 47250-3623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Price Range: $65 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an American-owned hotel. We try hard to be the best we can be. All our rooms are individually decorated with the cutest amenities. Flat screen TVs, pillow top beds, fireplaces, hardwood floors, mini refrigerators, microwaves, free breakfast on weekends, free wi-fi, live music on Sat.evening, full lounge, and much more. Our riverfront patios are enclosed and heated in the winter so you can enjoy the view even if it is cold! We are Madison's only riverfront hotel and just minutes walking distance to historic downtown Madison. Lets us know ahead of time and we will pick you up at the Madison airport or marina.We can also take you downtown or pick you up if you let us know.We also have 2/3/and 4 bedroom condos on the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverboat Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing