We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the River Boat Inn”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverboat Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Hebron, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We love the River Boat Inn”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We have been staying at the River Boat Inn for four years now. I stay there on business as a workers comp RN and with my husband for a relaxing get away. We average 20 plus nights per year or more. I cannot think of one negative thing. Yes, the rooms are smaller, but the building is old and historic and rooms in hotels back then where smaller. The view and friendliness of everyone who stays and works at the River Boat Inn makes up for the smaller rooms. The rooms do have the most comfortable pillow top king size beds. Since this hotel is mostly couples the King size bed is nice and roomy. I would rather have a large comfortable bed than sleep in a double bed. Who stays in the room anyway? Most people are socializing outside looking at the river and enjoying the music . I would suggest " Not worth it" ask for a quiet room when he goes to a hotel or Inn. This is not a bed and breakfast with maybe 6-8 people spending the night. On the week end this hotel is very busy and the music is great especially when other people sing. 11PM is reasonable quiet time when music stops. So, if you want to have a nice adult evening with music, dancing, singing , and bar services then look no further than the River Boat Inn in Madison, Indiana. I have to go now and call for a room. It has been six weeks since we have been there and we need to get back for a relaxing couple nights. Kathy, you are the best inn keeper in the world. We love you and all your staff. See you soon. Cindy and Steve.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    60
    19
    16
    15
See reviews for
27
105
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelbyville, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

the staff at this inn is the best that i have ever delt with,the rooms are beautiful and clean the property is well kept and i plan to host a cruise-in and car show here in september.i am very pleased with the riverboat inn and there staff,keep up the good work kathy and i plan to see you soon.

Room Tip: there main floor rooms are the best for the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
138 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Pros: location, views
Cons:
1) noisy. Our room was in the main inn building, which seemed like a plus till the live music began. We were directly next to the inn's bar, and people sat outside our window to enjoy the live music on the patio. Typically at any inn, other people do not sit at a table outside your room, but this inn seems to be happy to earn money from the live music in order to lose money from guests never booking here again. Madison is not a party town, so we were back in our room by 9p, and listening to slightly drunken people hoot for the musicians till 11p.
2) inconvenient configuration of room. The room had a king-sized bed, which I guess meant that there was no room for end tables. There were 2 lamps that we moved around so that we could have light w/o the overhead. It just seems an odd decision to buy a big bed for a small room.
3) flaky service. First, the website doesn't list rooms by price & type, like other inns do. You are asked to call the inn. When I called, the woman at the desk could not seem to keep the date requested in mind, repeating back to me incorrect dates numerous times. I was not super comfortable with her having my credit card information.
4) breakfast. The price of breakfast is included in the room price, but it looked unappetizing.

$120 per night is not worth it here. Try elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Parts of the hotel were nice. I loved the atmosphere. However, it had rained in the evening and for some reason our room was so damp. The floor was wet. The sheets were damp. The room was extremely small. No room for your suit cases. You can't run the heater while blow drying your hair. The toilet handle kept falling off. I don't think they clean the rooms very well because we found an earring, cell phone charger and a sock on the floor. Although it was a nice little extra, they shouldn't even bother with serving breakfast. The live music was amazing. The patio was beautiful and very relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, IL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The best part of this Inn is being right by the Ohio River. The patio and enclosed porch made viewing the river very comfortable during most weather conditions. You can walk right down by the river bank. The staff was friendly and helpful. While the room had a certain charm and was clean, it was small for a room with a king size bed. We had the room were the bathroom door knocks into the bed. The breakfast was very continental in a dimly lite room. Breakfast could be more user friendly. Madison, IN is a great town to visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyinSchaumburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We needed a weekend out of town and always enjoy Madison, so we looked on Trip Advisor for a good place to stay. We chose the Riverboat based on price and location. We didn't get the best room because of bookings, but the room we did get was adequate and a great price. The staff and owner were great to work with and fixed a couple of little issues quickly. We enjoyed being able to hang out on the deck with music.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmsps23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

overall our stay was great, the room was clean, we enjoyed the live music on saturday night (Ray was great), the staff was friendly, breakfast was good. We enjoyed how unique the hotel is! The only few negatives was that the room was tiny and it was hard controlling the temperature of the shower.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bekki3221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
0.2 mi away
Hillside Inn
Hillside Inn
#2 of 7 in Madison
167 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#4 of 7 in Madison
104 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Way Inn
Best Way Inn
#6 of 7 in Madison
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Madison/Hanover Area
14.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
#2 of 7 in Carrollton
112 reviews
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Carrollton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverboat Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverboat Inn and Suites

Property: Riverboat Inn and Suites
Address: 906 E 1st St, Madison, IN 47250-3623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an American-owned hotel. We try hard to be the best we can be. All our rooms are individually decorated with the cutest amenities. Flat screen TVs, pillow top beds, fireplaces, hardwood floors, mini refrigerators, microwaves, free breakfast on weekends, free wi-fi, live music on Sat.evening, full lounge, and much more. Our riverfront patios are enclosed and heated in the winter so you can enjoy the view even if it is cold! We are Madison's only riverfront hotel and just minutes walking distance to historic downtown Madison. Lets us know ahead of time and we will pick you up at the Madison airport or marina.We can also take you downtown or pick you up if you let us know.We also have 2/3/and 4 bedroom condos on the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverboat Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing