We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”
Review of Bistro One

Bistro One
Ranked #6 of 71 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We took our children and some friends, who were visiting from Chicago, to the Bistro One in Madison, Indiana and we were all very impressed. The service was excellent and the food superb. All six guests were very impressed and pleased with the experience. All agreed it was the best filet mignon they had ever eaten. Rate it a "10" experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank snchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    22
    5
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great food! Highly recommend it!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Wow what a great meal! This place does not look like an "upscale dining" establishment, but the food was top notch! The house made hummus is amazing and our entrees were absolutely delicious. On top of that, it was a great value. I would recommend a stop if you are in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oh my!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

A merchant in the historic district recommended this restaurant. I thought we could be seated quickly, but no, we couldn't be seated until 7:15. The place was packed. The prices looked very reasonable for an upscale place. But, oh my, the meal! I had the pork medallions after the best cold cucumber soup I've ever had. I hope to eat there again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JBoone80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, USA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming ambiance, Mediterranean-style!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

There were five in our party- 2 couples and a 14 year old with great discriminating taste in pastas! We were a combo of vegetarian and gluten-free munchers! We tried the saganaki- (flaming goat cheese – floating in Ouzo with “Nic’s special herbs.”) As there are several ways to prepare saganaki, this will not be one our list of favorites, it was too wet with ouzo and the goat cheese was too obscured with the herbs. The hummus with fresh, warmed pita bread was delightful and the service was friendly and quick. Our server gladly accommodated our gluten-free eaters with carrots and cucumbers for hummus dipping. The salads were fresh. Our fourteen year old probably had the best pick that night- she tried the potato gnocchi and cream sauce. Oh, and I ended with a very tasty Baklava. It was superb. We enjoyed the ambience, some fine Cabernet, a beautiful street scene and the charming company of the legendary Chef/Owner!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MidwestTravelgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love the food”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We always have great food at Nick's Bistro One on Main Street in Madison. It is always a wonderful place for a delicious one of a kind meal. Nick fixes a great walnut encrusted tilapia with a chile honey sauce that is the best I have ever had.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Madison_Mammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bistro One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing