We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Seafood Restaurant been serving great seafood for a long time.”

Key West Shrimp House Incorporated
Ranked #3 of 71 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
West Baden Springs, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classic Seafood Restaurant been serving great seafood for a long time.”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We often ravel to Madison and Bell Terra. We never miss a chance to have dinner here.
Great salad bar and Scott is a master host. Can't go wrong here. Break free from the chains and try local fare while in town. This is a good start.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrenchLickWinery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    102
    53
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Seafood gem!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Based upon previous reviews we decided to give this place a shot. We knew we must have stumbled across a great place when we saw a line out the door. Friendly staff and great service. Great value for the price of food. Entree includes endless trips to the salad bar (small but includes basic salad items and potato salad, slaw, pea salad, etc) and a cup of soup.
Portion sizes were very generous and the seafood was fresh. The seafood sampler was hot and I enjoyed the different batters used on the mix of seafood items. We also ordered a fish entree and the piece of fish was huge.

Great food!

We loved our experience here and if we visit Madison again we will definitely be stopping by again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1214cbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

My wife and I have been dining at the restaurant for over ten years. We have eaten at fine restaurants from Maui to San Antonio and Seattle and find the Key West Shrimp House at the top of our list. The food is superb with generous portions and the service has always been great with Scott, Susan and the entire staff always attentive to making the meal special. The lunch and dinner menus offer a wide variety of selections. We live in south central Ohio and it's a 190 mile drive to Madison and we have driven there for lunch, then headed back to Ohio. To my wife Carolyn and I, a great restaurant is like a great vacation and on the way home you are planning your next visit. Kudos to Scott, Susan and the entire staff of the restaurant. You guys are the very best!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Lick, Indiana
1 review
“Good food and GREAT service!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

My two friends and I were out for a day of sightseeing and shopping. This restaurant was recommended to us as a "must try". So glad we did! Our server, Vicki, was fabulous! As someone who works in the hospitality industry, I really appreciated the level of service we received tonight. She was engaging, knowledgeable about the menu items, and took an interest in the fact we had some food allergies and made a point to help us find something suitable. She was entertaining and professional. We asked for her recommendations and were pleased with each one we chose. The good we well prepared and arrived fairly quickly. In fact there was so much food, none of us even went to look at the salad bar that came complimentary as part of our meal. As for the food: we started with the hot shrimp dip appetizer (OH MY GOSH! It was 'slap your momma' good!) ; 2 of us had the seafood chowder (it's an upgrade to your meal, but try it!) and the other the beef bouillon (tasty beef broth with hints of onion and maybe caramelized tomato?); 2 of us had the classic fried shrimp and double baked potato; one had the tilapia and the potato. Delicious all around.
All in all: an wonderful end to the great day we had.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraG47432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were not impressed with the look of the place from the outside, except for one thing: the parking lot was FULL! Local cars are always a good sign. The food was excellent and the manager will give you a free dessert on your birthday or anniversary.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VonniTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Shrimp House Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Key West Shrimp House Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing