We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday hassle”
Review of Lanthier Winery

Lanthier Winery
Ranked #6 of 26 things to do in Madison
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lanthier Winery is one of several popular state attractions in Madison Indiana. Known for its European "feel", Lanthier is scenic Madison's oldest winery and a favorite tourist destination. Lanthier is home to a unique combination of multiple attractions including the Loft Art Gallery and the areas most popular public garden which visitors find in bloom more than 3 seasons every year with abundant fragrant blossoms similar to Europe's old French Country Gardens. Of course guests to Lanthier Winery's tasting room also enjoy free samples of award winning, handcrafted wines, a relaxed atmosphere with friendly staff and exciting events throughout the year. Enjoy a great grape getaway to Madison Indiana home to Lanthier Winery....where a far away feeling is close enough to taste.
Virden, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Holiday hassle”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Had the holiday hassle to get away from so i went to the Lanthier winery. Over a glass of moscato i had a very pleasant and helpful conversation with Steve. Cant wait to go back in the spring to see how beautiful the garden is. Thank you Steve my plants are doing much better hope to see you in the in a few months.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    28
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I LOVE their wine. Blackberry is the best, and seriously, I want to hoard their holiday wine (if only i could!). I need it all year! They also have neat events throughout the year. Their gardens are beautiful (sometimes we stop by just to take easter pics by their tulips) , and the staff is very friendly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Shannarae7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sweet!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Best winery I've found in Madison so far. If you like wines of the sweeter variety, you must try "Blackberry Social" and "Millstreet White". They are both delicious! My friends and I all love this place.

Helpful?
3 Thank Jacamoames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not valued”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Sorry to say this winery on our tour seemed to be less than thrilled to have our group arrive. We had to wait to be acknowledged and the young man that served us samples didn't make any effort to engage us. It was more like we were a burden. Needless to say we didn't stay long or purchase much. The gentleman at the door served a nice sparkling fruit wine that was good. I really can't think of anything outstanding about this winery. Lots of Christmas trees were up and narrowed the space available to stand. No foods or crackers were available to cleanse the palate either. Not their day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Gardens outside beautiful”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Several wines to choose from, staff was friendly. Good product here. Appears to be better than other local winery. Easy to get to and good location.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanthier Winery also viewed

 

Been to Lanthier Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing