We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different review”
Review of Crystal & Jules

Crystal & Jules
Ranked #1 of 71 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are an upscale dining restaurant in beautiful downtown Madison, IN. We offer many types of cuisine using only fresh ingredients. Try our Made from scratch, hand rolled pasta, or our best selling item, the Costa Rican New York Strip.
Madison, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A different review”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I've been here a few times and like all the other reviews, this is the best place in Madison to get a meal.

But I had a different experience recently that really shows how great the staff and chef Andy is. My wife and I were heading home from a Christmas party and just wanted a place to sit and have a drink. Now most bars either have music or people falling over themselves drunk. So we thought we'd try to stop in and see if Crystal and Jules was open. They were just closing up and there were no patrons and the chef and his crew were just relaxing. Most restaurants will say we're closed and move along. Andy and crew welcomed us in and let us have a drink as they finished up. Thank you all very much!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dubentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arichmer, Owner at Crystal & Jules, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you very much sir...I do not have kids yet, but I'm sure when you get a date night with your wife you want to have a laid back drink, so I was happy to let you in after hours...as long as you didn't mind the music we play after closing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    26
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
louisville, ky
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Crystal and Jules has a terrific, upscale menu. However, if you want to eat there, make sure you have a reservation. My date and I went on a Saturday night and they didn't have a table, so we sat at the bar. The service was still good and the patrons extremely friendly. We had a great meal and a great time! The Costa Rican steak had a wonderful flavor and was very tender. The desserts looked fabulous, but I didn't save room for any unfortunately!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arichmer, Owner at Crystal & Jules, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We do get busy on the weekends and I am glad you enjoyed our bar dining area. Next time you come you will have to save room for dessert because our Creme Brulee will blow your mind. Safe trips to you and yours. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“wonderful meal, great service”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal at Crystal and Jules. The grilled chicken with poblano pasta is excellent and I highly recommend it. The service was very good and we had a wonderful time. Everything was tasty-the salad, the appetizer and of course the creme brulee. Great experience all around.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelprof57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arichmer, Owner at Crystal & Jules, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
First off thanks for your review. Every since we put the Pablano Chicken on the menu people have loved it...the fresh rolled pasta is what makes it special. I hope you have safe trips and will find your way back to us again. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing food in a small town setting”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing meal. Butternut squash, curry, and pear soup is a taste I will never forget. Steak was good and the best creme brûlée ever.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arichmer, Owner at Crystal & Jules, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thanks for your review. That soup has changed the lives of many people. When we make it, it will last about 1 day and that is all. I'm glad you enjoyed the steak and your dessert. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Date Night Place”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

What a great experience: wonderful service and scrumptious food! Started with the mascarpone and goat cheese w/ prosciutto, a perfect salty bite that's great with red wine. Then fresh salads, and good hot bread. For the main course, my husband had the stuffed chicken breast which he thoroughly enjoyed and I had the lemon lime chicken with roasted poblano cream sauce & house-made pasta, which was instantly addicting it is so delicious! Can't wait to go back and try their lamb and other treats on their new fall menu! Lucky they're local for us :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank knackpak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arichmer, Owner at Crystal & Jules, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Let me tell you the Lamb is very addicting. I have to stop myself from eating up all the profits with it. I'm glad you and your husband enjoyed all aspects of your meal. Please come back and see us again, and until then have safe trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crystal & Jules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing