We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful piece of history”
Review of Lanier Mansion

Lanier Mansion
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wabash, Indiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A wonderful piece of history”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Lanier Mansion will appeal to almost anyone. There is great history in this home. You are transported to a simpler time when inside this house. The guide will give you great information about this mansions connection to the state of indiana and it's owner's contribution to the state. It also has a nice flower garden and landscaped garden on the back of the house facing the river. What a wonderful place to visit on a nice relaxing trip to Madison!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank crocky66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    41
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
madison, in
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Historic Home”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Bill is the very best tour guide you will ever come across. The home is also just super. I have toured mansions up and down the rivers and this is the best I have seen, I make sure all of my friends get there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
13 Thank riverboatmadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice piece of history”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The tour of the house gave some nice history of the area and how important Madison and Mr. Lanier was to Indiana.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank dale3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
137 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“An interesting lesson in history.”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were given a delightful tour of this beautiful mansion by a gentleman named William. He had interesting and educational stories of the Lanier family and the economic, political and social activities of that era. We learned a great deal about the contributions Mr. Lanier made to the state of Indiana. Even though it was late fall (November), the gardens and the view of the river were lovely.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank bgoIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, KY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We toured the Lanier Mansion. The decor was very interesting & in very good shape. You could imagine how beautiful it was back in it's day. It still has a beautiful view & our tour guide was very knowledgable. Loved the windy staircase.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank covgirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lanier Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing