We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lanier Mansion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanier Mansion

Lanier Mansion
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lanier Mansion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Lanier Mansion is a delightful place. We really enjoyed the tour and learned so much about the history of Madison on the visit. We highly recommend it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Rhonda5519jimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    40
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A part of my boy time experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have b een going to the Lanier Mansion since I was eleven an just to sit on the lawn an watch the river go by. To bad the took the Paddle boats off, They plyed the river for two hundred years an now they are unsafe. mercy me

Helpful?
4 Thank Butch K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Indiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for History Buffs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This would be a great place for civil war era History Buffs, but it doesn't appeal to a mass audience. Tours are nice, but what sales the place is it's events. Night time spooky tours during Halloween, Civil War re-enactments, and Lanier days all stick out.

Helpful?
Thank dubentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
827 reviews
343 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
“I could get used to this.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great old house overlooking the river, just across from the visitors center. The guide knew her stuff and was very friendly and willing to stop at any time and discuss questions. Each room also had a folder with details on all the items in that room. An interesting look at an interesting time and a somewhat forgotten man.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank TransplantedBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Generous man”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

As a native Hoosier I still am amazed at our state history. The Lanier Mansion was a treat to tour. Gorgeous architecture. I was amazed at his generosity by giving $1 million to the state for the Civil War effort.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank JBoone80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lanier Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing