We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday weekend”

Azalea Manor Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Azalea Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Madison B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday weekend”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful B&B. Very charming and historic. Shirley's breakfasts are wonderful! French toast with homemade bread and apple compote was great.Location was wonderful, close to mostly everything. We stayed in the English Garden room which is in the oldest part of the house. Quaint and lovely. Shirley's garden is beautiful. The double porch is perfect for morning coffee or evening glass of wine.My husband and I had a fantastic weekend and highly recommend the Azalea Manor.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    7
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
36
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The house is a beautiful place to stay. And the owner, Shirley, was the perfect hostess. She knows the area well and was able to give great suggestions on places to visit. The house is in a great location to walk just about anywhere downtown. Would recommend this to anyone. Hoping for another visit myself ;)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Shirley, the owner, was extremely attentive to our needs from the first phone call I made to book the room. She suggested the perfect room for us and offered us several brochures for area attractions. She understood our interests and gave us directions to the places we wanted to visit. The home is ideally located, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, the river, wineries and more.

The home is exquisitely decorated in period furniture with high quality accessories throughout. She has snacks, cold soda & water, fresh cookies and coffees & teas available 24/7 for guests. She even let us put our bottle of wine in her refrigerator! The expansive covered porches offer a place to relax and she has them decorated perfectly, with plants, tables & chairs, porch swings, outdoor rugs and reading materials.

We stayed in the Classical Antiquity room. It was a nice size, as we never felt crowded. We had a soaking tub and there were several bath salts/soaps to choose from. It was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Our only note is that this room is in the front of the house right by the road. While most of the town does shut down by 10pm-ish, the traffic can be a little noisy for early to bed-ers.

The breakfasts....oh my! I could go on and on. The food was outstanding! We had Belgian waffles the first morning along with fruit and yogurt parfaits and sausage. The second morning's offerings consisted of fruit, an ooey-gooey warm sticky roll, a flavorful western style egg casserole, sausage, bacon and sliced tomatoes. She is a whiz in the kitchen!!!

We had never been to Madison before. In fact, we'd never heard of it. What a shame! It is a charming town on the Ohio River with a rich history. We would recommend the carriage ride (Shirley can set it up for you) which gives you an insiders view on the history of this well preserved river town. We will recommend the town and the Azalea Manor to everyone we know!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I had a great couple of days in Madison IN, especially our stay at the Azalea Manor Bed and Breakfast. The location is great to see alot of the the town's historic sites. Many were within walking distance. Shirley was very helpful in providing information on attractions, shops, and places to eat. The breakfast was wonderful each morning and we had to walk a lot to work it off! The house is a beautiful piece of the history in the area and we were glad we stayed at this bed and breakfast for this trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed during the weekend of the soups, stews, and brews festival. We were served an amazing spread of stuffed apple French Toast, ham and fresh fruit the first morning. We were in and out all day, walking to all of the shops and through the festival, stopping to chat with Shirley, the owner, a few times. We got cold and warmed up with some hot tea which we leisurely enjoyed in the beautiful front sitting room. We took a carriage ride around the downtown area, and the carriage picked us up right at the front door! After getting some of the most amazing ice cream a couple block down from the b & b, we hit the sack. The next morning we awoke to the smell of egg casserole, sausage and coffee. Yogurt and fruit were also served. I have to say the egg casserole was delicious filled with veggies and a hint of rosemary. We will definitely be visiting the Azalea Manor again, and recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spotless1825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia City, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

My husband and I just stayed at the Azalea Manor and visited Madison for the first time. We fell in love with both the first hour we were there. Shirley, the owner of Azalea Manor is the sweetest, friendliest, and most accomodating lady you would ever want to meet. The house is beautiful, clean, and very well maintained. We stayed in the Federal room. We loved having our own entrance and upstairs covered veranda to sit and enjoy our evenings. Shirley has thought of everything. The breakfasts she serves are delicious and nobody ever leaves hungry. She is living out her dream and is enjoying every bit of it. We will definately be returning to Madison and the Azalea Manor B & B. Leave the light on Shirley, we'll be back! :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWUSA
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My wife and I passed through the picturesque town of Madison last weekend and were able to stay at the Azalea Manor. The house was built in 1833 and has a very nice parlor and dining room, attractive staircase, and about 4 bedrooms. The owner, Shirley, was friendly, knowledgable, and eager to help. She had plenty of brochures and restaurant tips, and gave us good ideas on what would be worth doing in this small rivertown.

Our room was comfortable and the breakfasts were good. My wife especially enjoyed the lounging chair next to the bed, while I grabbed some sun in the upstairs "library" (really just the landing, wide enough for a book case and a couple of comfy chairs). One suggestion I'd make would be to have a pot of decaf brewing (my wife doesn't do regular coffee).

We'll recommend the Azalea Manor and can see ourselves going back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Classical room, which was nice but overlooked the street. The Victorian room, one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidCardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
0.8 mi away
Hillside Inn
Hillside Inn
#3 of 7 in Madison
170 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#4 of 7 in Madison
110 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Way Inn
Best Way Inn
#7 of 7 in Madison
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 7 in Carrollton
232 reviews
2.8 mi away
Super 8 Madison/Hanover Area
15.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Carrollton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azalea Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azalea Manor Bed and Breakfast

Property: Azalea Manor Bed and Breakfast
Address: 510 W Main St, Madison, IN 47250-3718
Location: United States > Indiana > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing