We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Clifty Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clifty Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Best place to stay in the area. Great views. Love the rocking chairs on the porch. Pool is nice. Food is good and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelsister07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 276 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Clifty Inn June 22-24. We were very impressed with the Inn. The room was clean and roomy, the bathroom was a good size and great water pressure in the shower. They had copies of the movie "Madison" at the front desk and we watched that our first night after a suprisingly tough hike in the afternoon. The bed was pretty comfortable and I really appreciated the free Wi-fi throughout the Inn.

We ate at the Falls restaurant and really enjoyed that also. The food was great and reasonably priced and the service was great from all the servers.

We did not have a river view but did not spend much time in our room except at night. The park was great to hike in, even with the heat. The falls were not doing much falling more of a trickle Madison was a grreat time also, lots of nice local shops.

Great time and highly recommended. We can't wait to check out what all the other State Park Inns have to offer!!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank SeptSav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The Clifty Inn is great. The facility is updated, very clean, modern, comfortable, quiet, and overall just great. The staff is wonderful. The restaurant is very affordable, and very good. The rooms are spacious, much nicer than most "luxury" hotels and just great. We had a balcony room overlooking the river (and the powerplant, but oh well). The room is large, has a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and large kitchen sink. The balcony is comfortable and large. The bathroom is large, and very nice. Everything about this place is amazing. It is evidence that government can do something right!

Room Tip: Definitely get a room overlooking the river, and with a patio or balcony. It is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tewks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Beautiful views overlooking the Ohio River. Clean, large and comfortable rooms. Friendly, helpful and accommodating staff. Located in the middle of a beautiful state park just minutes away from historic Madison, Indiana. Several very nice social areas with views and fireplaces that are most comfortable and inviting. A very nice spot and we enjoyed our stay. Very reasonble price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pamela064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My husband and me went there for a little get away. We saw the town of Madison but we enjoyed the walks we had at the park. we saw deer, racoons, bunnies and turkeys. The restaurant was great. Breakfast was the best!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We were five families coming to celebrate grandpa's 80th birthday - 16 people total, 9 adults and 7 kids - and everyone had a good time. The setting is fantastic, overlooking the Ohio River and inside Clifty Falls State Park. My family had a "suite" room, which gave us a small separate bedroom, a very large bedroom, a large living room with a pull-out sofabed, and a kitchen with a fridge, microwave and small table for eating. The sofabed was far better than most and was plenty comfortable for the kids. The bathroom was extravagant: giant whirlpool tub and walk-in shower with six shower heads. The TV was a nice flatscreen and there was a DVD player in both rooms. The channel selection was very limited, with none of the typical cable channels my kids like to watch in hotel rooms, but I considered this a blessing as it kept the TV off. The internet connection was woefully slow. The HVAC was rather loud, but once we set it to run the fan continuously it was fine for sleeping. Would have been a problem for watching TV. One major problem during our stay - the AC went out in one wing of rooms and the main part of the hotel, leaving some of our party seeing 90+ degrees temps in their rooms. They were able to get it fixed before the end of the day, so everyone had a cool place to sleep, so I can't say this reflects badly on the place - stuff happens and they dealt with it as best they could on the Sunday of a holiday weekend when special service parts needs to come from far away.

The hallways were set up with game tables for cards, checkers, chess, and a few others various games and the cousins made great use of them. The indoor pool was nice and also well utilized by our group. There were several lounge areas with sofas and one with a large TV where a group gathered to watch "the race" on Sunday.

We had several meals at the restaurant, and it was unimpressive. The staff and the view were fantastic, and you can't beat just walking from your room, but the food was expensive and only about the quality of a typical MCL.

Note that when you first arrive, you will have to pay to enter the state park ($7), but after that you can show them your room key to come and go as desired. The park itself has a large network of rugged hiking trails along the creek and the sides of the canyon. I wish we had had more time (and better weather) for hiking, and it would be great to come visit in a wetter season when the falls were running.

All in all, a great weekend for a family reunion. Everyone was comfortable and there was plenty of space to get together for activities and to have our own spaces for alone-time. Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Riverview rooms overlook the Ohio and have a great view and a small balcony. Other rooms have a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jh26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Clifty Inn this past weekend for a wedding.The staff was friendly and professional. The rooms were clean and had nice amenities. The hall where the reception was held was beautiful. The food in the restaurant (we just had breakfasts there) was good. I was surprised at the way the building looked-I expected it to be more rustic looking-but it still looked nice and was well taken care of. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: We stayed in a river view room. It had a nice little balcony (or patio if you stay on the ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
2.6 mi away
Hillside Inn
Hillside Inn
#4 of 7 in Madison
175 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#3 of 7 in Madison
119 reviews
17 mi away
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
#2 of 7 in Carrollton
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Way Inn
Best Way Inn
#6 of 7 in Madison
62 reviews
3.1 mi away
Super 8 Madison/Hanover Area
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifty Inn

Address: Clifty Falls State Park, Rte. 56, 1650 Clifty Hollow Rd, Madison, IN 47250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Madison
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Price Range: $79 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Clifty Hotel Madison
Clifty Falls State Park Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing