We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
COVID Friendly Excursion

Wife and I visited historic Madison on a rainy Sunday afternoon. Had to get out of the house after... read more

Reviewed November 22, 2020
Z2591ZSmiked
,
Hebron, Kentucky
via mobile
One of my favorite places.

A couple of years ago there were some empty storefronts but now there seems to be some nice new... read more

Reviewed November 1, 2020
Joe B
,
Louisville, Kentucky
via mobile
Read all 277 reviews
  
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveler rating
179
74
13
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
179
74
13
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main street shop owners ohio river small town great town antique stores specialty shops public restrooms old gas station interesting shops checking out nice place to visit lanier mansion worth the trip clifty falls state park businesses architecture
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 277 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2016

This is an attractive, clean and well preserved historic town. There are lots of good places to eat and visit and all types of businesses for shopping.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Lila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

Wherever I go I'm always interested in checking out the business district (BD). Madison has the most historic businesses and houses I have ever seen in one town. Block after block of original architecture that has been respected and very well preserved. Many shops and places to snack or grab a full meal. Really beautiful. Clifty Falls for hiking was the main reason for visiting so I was very pleasantly surprised by the "Old Town" section.
My only issue? Parking spot availability was atrocious. It wasn't really unexpected for the area but if you're there on a busy weekend, good luck parking.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2016

Love it very clean and nice town. Lots of little shops to go in and shop. People are friendly and helpful. There are lots of places to eat also. Lots to see went to town

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2016

Parking can be a problem during the festival, we parked at the bank for 10.00 and used the free shuttle to Broadway. A very good option.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Mary Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

The architecture in the historic district is truly lovely. Added to the mix are numerous shops and restaurants that will peak your interest. Add a special event and you have a weekend that screams out we must stay the weekend. The Madison Chautauqua in September is a good time to see the historic district. Also, the last weekend of November and first weekend of December when they have the "Nights Before Christmas tour of historic places and private homes are great. The whole area is decorated for the season and makes for a festive time while shopping and relaxing.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews