We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something to see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Historic District

Historic District
Ranked #3 of 26 things to do in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The area along First, Second and Third Streets is home to many of the town's restored pre-Civil War houses.
Ashland, Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Something to see!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

History was everywhere! The driver of the horse-drawn carriage ride we took educated us well. The architecture was amazing - restored and being restored.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    49
    10
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great historic town”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

If you like an historic town, with plenty of parking, shops, dining and antiques, you will love this area. It is fully restored and very authentic in it's architecture and design. I always enjoy myself when I come here.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank chiefjacknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinand, IN
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Such a nice place to visit”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have been visiting Madison for years and are never disappointed in our visit. There are so many shops to visit of all kinds. A nice place to stroll along the river. Lots of places to stay if you would like to spend a night or two. There are several festivals and events that go on during the year that are always fun to attend. Don't forget to visit the beautiful fountain and Clifty Falls State Park while you are there. You will return over and over as we do.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank couplefromIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knox, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Christmas tour of homes”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We like Christmas and they have a tour of historic homes that have been decorated for the holidays. What makes it especially interesting is that usually most of the homes are not "museum" houses (i.e. homes that are just museums now) but are private family homes that are being lived in. You can't help but think "wow, this home was built in the 1840's and people are actually living here".

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute,IN
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Collection of Shops”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We had a short time to shop on a icy cold weekend, but enjoyed the variety of shops and the friendliness of the shop clerks. Would be most enjoyable in good weather.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic District also viewed

 

Been to Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing