We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Faithful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of George's Family Restaurant

George's Family Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 22 Restaurants in Lowell
Price range: $10 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Established in 1984. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner 7 days a week. Casual family restaurant, and the Epitome of Delicious.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Old Faithful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were in this area a couple years ago. Went back to Georges. They didn't disappoint us. The food is great, serving generous, staff is friendly and efficient, prices competitive. My wife's favorite comment about restaurants," it was clean". We would certainly eat there a third time should we return to the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank toobks70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Right down the middle”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

If there is some sort of baseline standard for a general service diner, this is it. You will never be surprised here. Good or bad, everything is... fine. Not great, but not bad. The menu has a wide range of options -- you can have the minimum, basic version of just about any American standard, with a few Greek items tossed in for flavor (literally).

Breakfast is solid, well executed. For other meals -- well, it's a meal. You wont' go hungry, the bill won't make you complain, and if you want food you could have eaten in 1968, this is the place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimverbose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Lake, Indiana
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Average...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just your average beef, mashed and daily specials....food is okay, but nothing great. They do have daily specials you might try. Okay for breakfast.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
157 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Service, Please!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

George’s is one of the few restaurants in Lowell, Indiana. Booths and tables accommodate the people. What decorations there are is pretty neutral. The menu is large as typical Region Greek owned restaurants tend to be. I went with friends for lunch. I had the French dip. It came with fries, but for $1.10 more, you could get onion rings. It was a nice sunny day and I was in the mood for onion rings. The food came. My friends ordered the Mediterranean salad. They were huge. My French dip was alright, nothing special. The onion rings were not hot at all. I sent them back. The server finally brought them when I was finished with the French dip. Never had onion rings for dessert. They were hot this time. But before I could say, “Ketchup, please,” the server was gone. We did not get refills of our water. It was very busy and I got the impression that the server might be new. French dip with second chance Onion rings with tax was $11.21.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RexGermanorium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to George's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing