We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Why not...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solomon Mier Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Solomon Mier Manor
Ranked #1 of 2 Ligonier B&B and Inns
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Why not...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Beautiful place, owners are very nice...awesome breakfast...if you're a place off the beaten path this is the place. Close enough to all the doings in Noble County! Would definitely stay here again! The drive through the countryside is very peaceful and calming.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spyderspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

This is a beautiful, old mansion with lots of character. The space is immense. We didn't even have time to really enjoy the space, there are so many antiques and interesting pieces of furniture to look at.
We stayed in the Ameila room for one night. Our room was very large, with two queen beds, a sitting area, window air conditioner, ceiling fan, TV and dvd player. We also had our own bathroom with a shower/bath combination.
Here is a personal preferences that we have, but it didn't take away from the pleasure of staying at this B & B; the bathroom has carpet, we are not fans of carpet in the bathroom, but it matched the decor.
The bed was very comfortable with soft sheets. The bath towels were nice and thick.
A bonus was that Tom and Amanda offered fresh cookies at night and a small refridgerator with water and soda pop in it.
They offered our choice of a breakfast time from 7-9a.m. and had breakfast ready for us. It was delicious and the perfect amount.
We enjoyed having a few moments to talk with Tom & Amanda before we left to hear more about the house.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ainchsmom3x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Solomon Mier is a gorgeous, large mansion located right near downtown Ligonier. The manor is absolutely amazing with its beauty, furnishings, original woodwork, painted murals, mosaic tiling, and all kinds of hidden antique details and surprises to find. My husband and I stayed in the Amelia room for our annual Shipshewana trip over Memorial Day. The Amelia room is beautiful and comfortable. The beds were outstanding and so comfortable I fell asleep instantly with none of the "this is not my bed at home" awkwardness. Amanda and her husband hand-delivered delicious cookies in the evening and gave us advice on where to eat in town. There are a lot of Hispanic businesses in the area and we ate at a taqueria a few blocks down. It was delicious. This is a sleepy town, so there is not much to do in the evening but relax, which was fine with me at the time. We were invited to look at the other rooms in the manor and while they had their own charm, the Amelia room felt bigger and had more amenities (such as a bathtub). So I loved the room we were in, but might have not been as pleased with a different room. It would be great if there were more things to do around town after 5 or so. It would also be great if the manor was less expensive - then I could stay multiple nights! The service was great, breakfast in the morning was incredible! The manor was also exceptionally clean, which made it even more impressive. I cannot wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank herforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

This is a grand place to stay with many antiques and pictures. The rooms were spacious and beds very comfortable. They went to a lot of rouble to ensure we had a good breakfast. The town is very quiet and closes about 8.00 p.m. including anywhere to eat except for fast food type places. It is also a “dry area” so don’t ask for a glass of wine. Our host arranged a meal with an Amish family which was a great experience.

  • Liked — Hstory and atmosphere of Manor
  • Disliked — Nowhere to eat in the evening
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thisisus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ligonier
9.2 mi away
Brook Pointe Inn
Brook Pointe Inn
#2 of 2 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
14.1 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
14.6 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
12.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Goshen
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Inn at Amish Acres
The Inn at Amish Acres
#1 of 2 in Nappanee
3.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solomon Mier Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solomon Mier Manor

Property: Solomon Mier Manor
Address: 508 S Cavin St, Ligonier, IN 46767-1802
Location: United States > Indiana > Ligonier
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ligonier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solomon Mier Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly unique place where you can step back in time and relax. Come as a guest and leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Solomon Mier Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing