We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely View - Better Than The Food”

Overlook Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Mobile, AL
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely View - Better Than The Food”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Nice clean restaurant with a lovely view of the Ohio River. We waited about 40 minutes for our food. There were 11 of us. I had the Seafood Sampler Platter and the baked fish was okay. Fried shrimp and clams were pretty bland. Green beans were really good and cole slaw was tasty. Dinner rolls were also very good. Loved their fries. The kids liked their burger and fried chicken. The dark chicken pieces were pretty small though. Blackberry cobbler was delicious but the bread pudding and chocolate cake were a disappointment. The cake had a bitter aftertaste and the bread pudding was not moist. Service was friendly and she kept the drinks filled. Bathroom was clean.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Plumeria76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    89
    36
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful view - decent food”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We ate there for my sons 10th birthday while camping at Obannon Woods. The views were fantastic. The service was good and so was the food. Not the greatest food I've ever eaten but adequate. I ordered the ribs and they came out cold. Had to have them heated. My husband got the fried chicken and he said it was good but he didn't rave about it. The onion rings were good and the deserts were great. Worth a go if your in the area but I wouldn't make a long drive for it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyNell17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Spectacular View and Clean”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Overlook is about 45 minutes west of Louisvile, and about 5 minutes from I 64 at exit 92. The menu has a bunch of items to choose from, from fried chicken to burgers, salads, catfish and more. The desserts looked great, but we passed on them. They have a full service bar downstairs and a lot of outdoor tables to sit on and enjoy the view of the Ohio River. Hey have a bunch of bird feeders and there are many unique birds to watch above the river.

The food was good, not great, but solid good tasting food. I had the deep-fried mushroom appetizer and they were very only fair. The reuben was good as was the cod platter.

The place is quite clean with lots of large windows In a wood panel setting inside. The only slight negative was our fast talking server Mary Jo who rambled swiflty when greeting us, drink orders, soup of day, vegetable of day, specials, then she came back 2 to 3 minutes later, here are drinks, ready to order... Please give me a few moments to absorb surrounding and the menu.

Once again, a spectacular view!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Artie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joe, Indiana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, Great view, Good value”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

When approaching the Overlook you are thinking "Okay, this is a nice looking place but why call it the Overlook?" Then you pull into the parking lot and hit the brakes because there below is several miles of the winding Ohio River. From any seat in the restaurant you have a view of the river and the valley on the Kentucky side and the tug and barge traffic that may pass at any time. Now. top this off with a great home style meal at very moderate prices and you have a very good dining experience. Then after your meal you can relax on the decks over looking the river in one of the rocking chairs. Whenever we are in southern Indiana we make sure to stop here for a dining experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great view. Good food.”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in on a Tuesday evening and it wasn't crowded. We were seated immediately. Of coarse, the view is spectacular. You can see the river far below and see how it winds around Kentucky on the other side. My wife ordered the fried chicken with sides and I ordered the hot brown. We were told it would take about 15 minutes because the chicken is made to order not pre-fried and warmed. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. We will return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Overlook Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Overlook Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing