We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next time I'm staying at my Brother's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn La Porte
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in LaPorte
Midland, MI
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Next time I'm staying at my Brother's”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I am surprised that the Holiday Inn Express in La Porte could really be ranked the top place to stay in my hometown. When we returned recently for a wedding, we found that on a Notre Dame game weekend, the rate was over $170.00 a night, remarkably high for a room with very average appointments and amenities (only one bar of soap, tired towels). Our door was very difficult to lock from the outside. The manager was very willing to address the problem, but we were literally on our way out the door to the wedding and could not wait. After repeatedly trying to lock and unlock it as we waited for her to return, we got it to stay locked, but when we checked out the next morning, we were not as successful and had to leave the room unlocked. The young woman at the front desk seemed indifferent to this fact. The breakfast was virtually inedible except for the bacon and toast. I do not know what kind of viscous matter was supposed to go on the biscuits, but it was not 'gravy' in any sense of the term; the eggs looked like pea gravel and were tasteless; and the coffee was both weak and bitter. The heating/cooling unit was a little loud but the bed was reasonably comfortable. La Porte does not have a lot of options. I'm going to explore others before I would stay here again -- and would rather pay for breakfast at Louie's downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Opinion8ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday I, Manager at Comfort Inn La Porte, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay was. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and want to let you know that all of these issues have been addressed. We are sorry you hear you will not be returning but hope that you will consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    37
    21
    11
    4
See reviews for
38
18
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Indiana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

there isn't much more to say - it's about right in the middle of what one would expect for the hotel brand. Room sizes, cleanliness, staff, breakfast all about what you'd expect. Would stay here again if in the area (we were just passing through and needed a quick stop to sleep and move on), but wouldn't go out of our way to return. However, nothing bad to say and no problems at all with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbobpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

There aren't a whole lot of hotel choices if you want to stay in La Porte, but the Holiday Inn Express isn't a bad choice. The staff is friendly, the place is relatively clean, there is an indoor pool and decent free breakfast. The beds were super comfortable. There are a few minor issues I will mention. The room-key access reader at one of the side entrances was not working. Housekeeping was a little lax, for example there were a few mildew stains in the bathtub, there was only one bar of soap which had to move back and forth from sink to shower and plastic cups were not replaced daily (we were there for 3 nights.) Overall, though, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We came up to this hotel at 9 at night after a few hours of driving and asked the clerk how much for one room and she said $105 + tax and my mom looked at me and i said "well there's a best western" and the lady gave us a coupon for the room...the room was nice, TV was kinda staticky but only a little, had chocolates on the beds, it was really nice

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernaloveit96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Going to Notre Dame for a college visit on a game weekend so needed to stay outside of town. Decent location a little more than a half hour from the university. Clean and quiet place to stay. Basic accommodations with a decent breakfast included. Many dining choices within two minutes up the road.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnPatrickC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I am originally from Laporte and everytime I visit family I stay at the Holiday Inn Express. The pool area is nice and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The bed is very comfortable and I love the linens. I love the that the hotel is across the street from Pine Lake and the atmosphere is really nice. My husband, daughters and I love the included breakfast. I have stayed in the suites and the regular rooms and love them all. The staff makes me feel very welcome everytime I have stayed here!

Room Tip: I always get a 1st floor room! Very quiet hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccarose76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

On a recent trip from NYC to Colorado we were looking for a nice, clean, affordable place to stay near I-80. This hotel met and exceeded all of our expectations. The staff was especially friendly and helpful and the rooms were very clean. The location, across the street from a beautiful lake was an added bonus. It provided a perfect first night for our adventure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTRACY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaPorte
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn La Porte
Hampton Inn La Porte
#1 of 7 in LaPorte
318 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
16.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
8.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn La Porte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn La Porte

Property: Comfort Inn La Porte
Address: 100 East Shore Ct, LaPorte, IN 46350-2395 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express La Porte)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > LaPorte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in LaPorte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn La Porte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in March of 2017. The non-smoking Comfort Inn® hotel in La Porte, IN near Pine Lake will get you rested and ready for anything. Our La Porte hotel makes it easy to browse 120 stores at the Lighthouse Premium Place Outlets or visit Hesston Steam Museum for a scenic ride on a steam locomotive. Make time to take a day trip to the unforgettable Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore and State Park. Additional nearby attractions include: Soldiers Memorial Park Michigan City Lighthouse & Pier Washington Park Zoo Shady Creek Winery Four Winds Casino Whether you’re staying for leisure or visiting for work, amenities you can count on include: Free WiFi Fitness center Business center Indoor heated pool Guest laundry facilities Start your day off with a great hot breakfast. Your trip to La Porte begins with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. Pause and enjoy relaxation in your guest room, which offers amenities like in-room tea and coffee, a microwave, refrigerator, recharge device and 32-inch TV. Behind every great day is a great night at the Comfort Inn. La Porte hotels like ours will give you everything you need to make your trip a success. Rested, set, go–book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn La Porte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express La Porte Hotel Laporte
Holiday Inn Laporte
Holiday Inn Express Laporte
Laporte Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing