We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in LaPorte
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I go here each February from 3 hours away. We meet with about 20 friends and we really look forward to it. The staff is very friendly and will do anything to make our stay comfortable. The food in the restaurant is excellent, but expect to wait (and wait...and wait) for it. When a couple questioned the wait we were told, "well, if you would have told us you were going to eat here, we could have prepared for it" (we had told them months earlier). Soooo...hotel service, excellent! Restaurant service...not. Again the food was great, but half our group opted for pizza the next night because of the service...it's a shame that the restaurant lost that business because of slow, "it's not my fault" service. Just a hint owner, if your customers are waiting over two hours for food, at least offer a free drink, desert, or discount off the bill. We'll still go back because the hotel itself is great.

Stayed: February 2013
3  Thank Kathie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Kathie L.
Thank you so much for telling us the about the details of your stay. We are sorry that you did not have a wonderful experience in our restaurant. We will use your feedback to help improve restaurant satisfaction for other guests. Thank you so much for your kind words about the hotel. We definitely appreciate and look forward to hosting your group here every year and hope to see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 455 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Had a wonder two night stay for my birthday. friends and family stopped in for visiting and didn't here of any complaints.Didn't have any problems with the staff, room was clean and ready and the room I requested (poolside). We stayed Saturday night and Sunday night The best time was Suday at noon when parents checked out with the kids. Parents in the hot tub with 5 & 6 year olds meaningfuly splashing and kicking other customers was not nice. parents that bring kids should teach kids to respect others feelings or don't bring them. I like kids, Ihave kids myself, I just feel they should be a limited amount and age of kids for the hot tub area. And the parents should be watched that there taking care of their kids. Sunday afternoon was the relaxing time I was there for. Best Western in Laporte, Indiana has all the comfort I'm looking for on the right day.

Room Tip: main floor (poolside) the only area I've stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Frances,
We are so glad that you had a wonderful birthday! I personally remember you from your stay and it was a pleasure to see you here again. Your feedback about the pool/jacuzzi area regarding the children will help us in handling issues like this in the future. We apologize that the first half of your weekend in the pool area was not as pleasing as it should have been. Again, thank you so much and we hope to see you help you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed at Best Western on 2-23 to 2-24 of 2013 with my husband and 2 kids..My main reason for staying there is for the pool and room service..I had a awful experience with room service for dinner and breakfast..The waitress had a very bad attitude and made her mistakes mine.. I guess customer service is out the window with her..Got my room number wrong at dinner and told me that i gave her the wrong room number..No i did not and i told her..She did not apologize at all but the lady that helped her bring the food did..Spent very good money at dinner and i thought she could have had a better attitude..For breakfast the same lady brought me 2 orders of the same food and did not apparently see my note..the menu u order from for room servvice for breakfast, u better not want 2 orders of the same thing but one thing is cooked diffrently..The waitress will get to confused i guess..
MAKE SURE u make sure ur toilet is clean..I was giving my baby a bath that nite and looked over and saw black stuff in toilet bowl to the top..Laziness! Thank God I had Lysol and sprayed the WHOLE toilet..I will NOT stay there again...If i had too i would like to see the room first before i pay..Hope this stuff is helpful...The front desk ladies were AWESOME!! no complaints there..

Room Tip: any room near the pool...Just try to see the room first and make sure they cleaned it good enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mOm2006Westville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Let me begin by thanking you for your detailed feedback. It is feedback like this that helps us to improve the way we manage all aspects of our property. We sincerely apologize that you did not receive the treatment that you should have. We would love to make it up to you. If you are ever in the area please contact the Assistant General Manager or the General Manager and we will help you personally. Thank you again for your feedback and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our family stayed at this hotel this past weekend. It seemed like this hotel was half way through a remodel of sorts. Many items in the hotel are newer such as the TVs, bedstands, furniture, and vanity. However, things like the walls, flooring, elevator and recreation area in the middle of the hotel are a blast from the 60's and in need of updating. The hotel is comfy, but had an odd feeling since it seemed quite empty when we were staying there.
One thing the hotel definitely needs to do is get automatic doors for the entrance into the lobby. Using the luggage cart to get through the double sets of doors was a problem and I'm not sure how disabled individuals would ever be able to get into the hotel without a bit of help.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not near the elevator due to the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you so much for reviewing our property. You feedback and suggestions will definitely be taken into consideration for future improvement plans. Have a wonderful day and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Staff went out of their way to help make our daughter's wedding reception a success. Very accommodating in terms of making sure we were taken care of. We had an hors doeurves bar instead of a meal - the table looked fantastic. Karen was wonderful to work with. I do not have one single complaint about the entire experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonanza4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

We are glad that your experience here was a great one. We had a wonderful time with your group and Karen appreciates the kind words! I know that she had a great time helping you as well. If there is anything that we can ever assist you with in the future just let us know. Thank you so much for your feedback and for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

peopple here are super cool. front desk, bar, housekeeping all of them. they know the area really good because most of them live in the area so if you want good places to eat or hang out or whatever they got you covered. i am here all week for work every week for 12 weeks and i have pets to take care of and they are very accomidating for that situation as well.

Room Tip: rooms on upper levels in the corners are larger so u have more room to move around
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casey y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Casey,
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you stay here with us for so long. Guests like you make our job that much better! Again, a tremendous thank you! We hope to serve you again in the future if you are ever in LaPorte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Hotel layout is spacious with plenty of room to walk around, and the surrounding area makes for a pleasent enviornment, being close to Pine Lake. The staff is quite friendly, and the restaurant has interesting choices, especially for appetizers. The Breakfast/Brunch is a nice value.

Room Tip: Some rooms have tables in the walkway facing the open space in the interior which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GtrScottR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your friendly compliments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaPorte
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn La Porte
Hampton Inn La Porte
#1 of 7 in LaPorte
349 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Blue Heron Inn
The Blue Heron Inn
#6 of 7 in LaPorte
99 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
15.7 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
439 reviews
18.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 444 Pine Lake Ave, LaPorte, IN 46350-2315 (Formerly Best Value Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > LaPorte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in LaPorte
Price Range: $110 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus La Porte Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Plus La Porte Hotel Hotel Laporte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing