We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Comfortable enough” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in LaPorte
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
179 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Comfortable enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our family stayed at this hotel this past weekend. It seemed like this hotel was half way through a remodel of sorts. Many items in the hotel are newer such as the TVs, bedstands, furniture, and vanity. However, things like the walls, flooring, elevator and recreation area in the middle of the hotel are a blast from the 60's and in need of updating. The hotel is comfy, but had an odd feeling since it seemed quite empty when we were staying there.
One thing the hotel definitely needs to do is get automatic doors for the entrance into the lobby. Using the luggage cart to get through the double sets of doors was a problem and I'm not sure how disabled individuals would ever be able to get into the hotel without a bit of help.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not near the elevator due to the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank epi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing our property. You feedback and suggestions will definitely be taken into consideration for future improvement plans. Have a wonderful day and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    74
    62
    45
    31
See reviews for
161
65
15
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Staff went out of their way to help make our daughter's wedding reception a success. Very accommodating in terms of making sure we were taken care of. We had an hors doeurves bar instead of a meal - the table looked fantastic. Karen was wonderful to work with. I do not have one single complaint about the entire experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonanza4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We are glad that your experience here was a great one. We had a wonderful time with your group and Karen appreciates the kind words! I know that she had a great time helping you as well. If there is anything that we can ever assist you with in the future just let us know. Thank you so much for your feedback and for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miller beach, in
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

peopple here are super cool. front desk, bar, housekeeping all of them. they know the area really good because most of them live in the area so if you want good places to eat or hang out or whatever they got you covered. i am here all week for work every week for 12 weeks and i have pets to take care of and they are very accomidating for that situation as well.

Room Tip: rooms on upper levels in the corners are larger so u have more room to move around
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casey y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Casey,
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you stay here with us for so long. Guests like you make our job that much better! Again, a tremendous thank you! We hope to serve you again in the future if you are ever in LaPorte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Hotel layout is spacious with plenty of room to walk around, and the surrounding area makes for a pleasent enviornment, being close to Pine Lake. The staff is quite friendly, and the restaurant has interesting choices, especially for appetizers. The Breakfast/Brunch is a nice value.

Room Tip: Some rooms have tables in the walkway facing the open space in the interior which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GtrScottR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your friendly compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stay at this hotel many times, and the most important characteristic that i always notice is the friendly atmosphere. The restaurant has a very big fire place in front of the tables, perfect for a romantic occasion. The staff is very respectful and you can see the managers always interacting with the guests trying to make their visit the most comfortable. The bar has live entertainment on the weekends so if you want to have a drink there is no need to go out of the premises. There are tables and chairs everywhere and you can sit out of your room and drink your own beer. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. The food is very good and the prices unbelievable, very affordable, I recommend the chicken avocado sandwich, the burgers are huge, and the breakfast buffet every weekend. I go there so much that i don't need to get my information to the guest clerk, they remember my name and what i need for my stay. I'd stayed in many hotels around the area and what makes me go back is the special treatment i get all the time, many other places were so cold and impersonal, but at this place i am treated as a person and not a number. Thank you Patricia, Karina, Cristal, Michelle, and to all the staff for making my visits to La Porte very comfortable. Your hotel is my home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmbegazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your kind words. It was a pleasure to assist you in your travels and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby Hills, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I was in town for a wedding and I loved everything about my trip to La Porte! I loved that everything in the town was just 5 minutes away. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. The bar had a nice live band. The rooms were also a nice size. I liked the set up of the hotel with some of the rooms facing the atrium. I didn't get a chance to visit the pool or game room but the breakfast was REALLY GOOD and for a good price. If I ever go back to La Porte I would stay at this hotel. Thanks again from a satisfied guest!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Latrice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Beautiful hotel, clean, nice pool and hot tub area. There was wedding set up in the hotel. Very charming.Nice hotel good value. Clean and spacious rooms. Room smelled fresh and clean. Nice layout. Very family friendly place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachy1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaPorte
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn La Porte
Hampton Inn La Porte
#1 of 6 in LaPorte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
8.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
8.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
10.3 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 444 Pine Lake Avenue, LaPorte, IN 46350 (Formerly Best Value Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > LaPorte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in LaPorte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus La Porte Hotel Hotel Laporte
Best Western Plus La Porte Hotel And Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing