We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place 4 kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in LaPorte
2 reviews
“Nice place 4 kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

nice pool and hot tub. comfortable beds but queen would have been better than doubles. Great customer service. on a lake so summer visit would have been ideal. Make sure to request a room that had always been nonsmoking because we were given a room that had once been a smoking room and it stunk of old smoke. They did give us a new room quickly and easily.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pgilbo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    69
    56
    39
    24
See reviews for
143
58
11
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a jr suite which was very strange. A long narrow room with an outdated bathroom. There was a desk where you came into the room that had a power strip on the floor with everything plugged into it. Definitely not good for our one year old grandson. The shower curtain had mold along the bottom; just a yucky bathroom in general. The toilet had black gunk under the rim that showed. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegas79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you haven't tried this hotel recently you should give it chance. For our most recent stay in September 2012, I was shocked in a great way! My husband and I had stayed there a couple of years ago and the facility was showing it's age, so we hadn't gone back for a while. I decided to give it another chance when a few of the local residents told me that there were some recent upgrades throughout the hotel. Always listen to the locals, they know! This full service hotel/restaurant/bar was clean, fresh and very hospitable.
From the new furniture in the lobby to the freshened hallways to the rooms that were full of customer friendly aspects, everything was fresh and clean. They have upgraded the service to guests by giving them the ability to request room service very easily or plan the time of day that you want your room cleaned by simply filling out a checked card on the night before. The TVs are nice comes with a remote that has been sanitized.
The weekend we stayed many other activities were happening in the area. At the hotel, there was a huge wedding party and some live music that attracted a small crowd in the bar, but the staff made sure that even at the late time that we came back from our event, the guest's safety had been considered. The parking lot is well lighted and there was plenty of staff to maintain a safe environment for families or party goers.
The food was good at the restaurant too. Sunday morning buffet was delicious with a great selection of food that satisfied everyone. Our 11 year old loved the pool too when we finally had some family time on Sunday to enjoy it after our weekend work was done.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orchestraldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The rooms were large with very comfortable mattresses and bedding. The restaurant was excellent! They had locally grown farm fresh items on the extensive menu and even offered gluten free pasta. The breakfast buffet was also delicious and had a large variety to choose from.
I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Demaris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The rooms were large and updated, even have a microwave. Having the dining room and bar so easily available was great. Food was delicious. I really enjoyed the menu, many different things to choose from so every family member would be satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank INdycoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I found the Best Western Plus in LaPorte to be a fabulous place to stay. The rooms were decorated beautifully with everything one could ask for. The restaurant was superb with lots of variety in the menu and each item we ordered was absolutely delicious. The Rothers Bar was inviting with great music and a full assortment of beverages and food. It is a great place for conferences or weddings. I would highly recommend it.

Nancy Spohn
Indianapolis, Indiana

Room Tip: I love that all of the rooms are around an atrium which has a southwest feel. You can't find a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were coming home from Milwaukee to Cleveland, and stopped here as kind of a mid-way point. There were no towels in the pool area, and the pool was warmer than the hot tub! The room we booked said atrium view, and we got a view of the parking lot. Also, the room was FREEZING!! You turn the a/c off, and the room is stuffy. The a/c control has a little dial that has numbers on it, that usually lets you control how warm/cool it is. Not here. It's low, high or off. But, I didn't get chewed on by bedbugs, so I'm happy! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WearyTraveler522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaPorte
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn La Porte
Hampton Inn La Porte
#1 of 6 in LaPorte
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
8.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
8.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
10.3 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
3.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 444 Pine Lake Avenue, LaPorte, IN 46350 (Formerly Best Value Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > LaPorte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in LaPorte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Best Western + Iniative so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus La Porte Hotel Hotel Laporte
Best Western Plus La Porte Hotel And Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing