We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Plus LaPorte”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in LaPorte
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The hotel was very good in general. Two thigs that my family enjoyed the most was the pool that has an inside and a outside part. The second is that the restaurant is excellent. Two things to improve are the internet wireless connection. I had no signal in my room, I need to bring my computer close to the lobby in order to connect. The hotel fare is reasonable and the hotel is located close (30 min) to Indiana Dunes and Michigan City. The Pine Lake (1 block from the hotel) is beautiful.

Room Tip: There are rooms right next to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diego O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 455 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed 8/4/12-8/5/12 and this is a huge party place and full of children. Very Loud, our room 246 was clean but the 2 full size beds were Terribly uncomfortable.. My husband went out around 2 am into the hallway and saw a woman, drunk nearly passed out sleeping on her suitcase! Someone else was yelling to a bunch of partiers, "read the bible!" It was 116.00, not cheap.
The other complaint, you have to walk through unairconditioned hallways to get to your room, very unpleasant especially with 90+ degree temperatures.
If you like to get stinking drunk, and have bible thumpers yelling at you stay here. If you like to have many rug rats running around stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabeth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear Elizabeth, Thank you so much for your feedback that will enable us to make future stays even better for guests. We do want to apologize for you having to encounter such behavior from other guests of the hotel. It is not the norm I assure you. We have taken precautions to prevent this sort of behavior from happening in our hotel again. We would love to see you at our facility again in the future to make ammends for your stay last time. Again, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Realizing this was a small midwestern town my expectations weren't huge, but they were not met even at that. The hotel front desk staff was very helpful and friendly; the property itself was not well kept up or maintained. Lots of maintenance is needed. The rooms are a bit rundown and not particularly clean. The hotel access to the rooms is all indoor, but there is no climate control, so the humidity and heat were terrible in the halls and common areas. I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Booked this hotel for a one night stay off their website for my husband and I. Was also involved in a bait and switch with no explanation. Reserved a room with 1 king size bed and they gave us a room with 2 queen beds. At check out I questioned it and the woman at the desk told me we were actually upgraded from a room with 2 dbl beds to one with 2 queens. I told her I didn't reserve a room with 2 dbls and showed her my confirming email. She told me they never read emails. Other issues: the hall way was hot (they had their heat on), it smelled musty, our room was freezing cold (the air was left on), the heat in our room caused the smoke detector to go off and there was a burning smell coming from it. The only things we liked were: the beds were comfortable, liked the shower (though I had a hard time turning off the water) and we liked the breakfast buffet. Other than that we will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

There's better options in La Porte, though this one does have its own restaurant and bar. Unfortunately, due to the atrium style setup we found that we could hear nearly everything from the main floor and pool area upstairs in our room. We've stayed at Embassy Suites hotels before (similar design) and it wasn't that loud. Plus, the next morning at 7am some kids were screaming up and down the hallway. Nice parenting. This did not make for a good experience. Lastly, the front desk clerk (blonde female) was rude to my wife for no apparent reason as we were courteous to her.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pentwater07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

On behalf of our property, I would like to thank you for your review. It is feedback like this that helps us become a better hotel. We are taking your feedback and using that to determine what steps should be taken to prevent this issue from continuing. We would love for you to give us another chance if you are ever in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Using the Best Western website, I reserved a king jr suite. Upon arrival they put me in a king business room explaining they gave my room to a wedding party. The room was noisy all night due to the strange layout of the rooms. They all face inward toward a 3 story open, indoor court yard with indoor pool and game room. The rooms have large windows facing the courtyard so all that activity noise comes right into your room.

Room Tip: Due to the design, there are no good rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kainay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience. We apologize for the situation. Of course, this should not happen. Your feedback enabled us to handle the situation so that hopefully it won’t happen again. We would like to encourage your stay again in the future and would be please to offer an upgrade for you inconvenience. Thank you again for your candor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed here because of a buddy's wedding this past weekend. The had our group all put together in the same area which was nice. The wedding reception was great with great food from their kitchen and banquet people. I wasn't going to stay since I didn't live very far away but it turned out to be good since we were drinking at the reception it turned out to be a little safer. After the reception we went into the bar they have and watched a pretty good band to end our evening. Housekeeping was quick to get us extra towels that night after the reception since we had used ours in the pool, so thanks! The staff were all great and accommodating to our wedding party and we all really appreciated it! Great wedding!

Room Tip: if you stay with multiple rooms the balcony rooms with tables outside are perfect to gather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

On behalf of our staff we would like to thank you for your review. We are very pleased that your group had a wonderful stay and we also hope to serve you in the future as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaPorte
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn La Porte
Hampton Inn La Porte
#1 of 7 in LaPorte
349 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Blue Heron Inn
The Blue Heron Inn
#6 of 7 in LaPorte
99 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
15.7 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
439 reviews
18.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 444 Pine Lake Ave, LaPorte, IN 46350-2315 (Formerly Best Value Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > LaPorte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in LaPorte
Price Range: $110 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus La Porte Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Plus La Porte Hotel Hotel Laporte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing