We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing get-away”
Review of Arbor Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arbor Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 LaPorte B&B and Inns
Crestwood, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Relaxing get-away”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I would highly reccomend Arbor Inn at anytime of the year.
We spent 2 nites in the Northwoods room and it was everything we wanted. The staff is friendly and attentive. The main house was decorated beautifully and looked like something you'd find on the front of a Christmas card. Our room with fireplace and jacuzzi was immaculate and very private. The breakfast each morning was delightful.
We plan to return again. This is a wonderful alternative to hotel stays and extremely charming.
Thanks to the wonderful staff for an excellent stay.

Kim & Eric Reicher

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
88
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We've been to several B&B's over the last couple years and this ranks with the best of them. The house has maintained it's historic charm and is kept very clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. As for local restaurants, we recommend Heston Supper Club (about 20 minutes away). We're planning a return trip next year.

Room Tip: We took a tour of all the rooms and found them all charming. The three we liked best were: WA Jones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dantick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at the Arbor Hill Inn for the final game of the Notre Dame home season. I have stayed in South Bend before for game weekend, and paying >$175 for a 'motel' is just never something I enjoyed. This location showed up on a 'deal' site, but the weekend was unavailable (of course because of the game). Looking over the pricing and location, we decided to pull the trigger anyway!

A truly lovely location just 40 minutes from the Notre Dame campus, and only 20 minutes from either of the casinos in the area. We had one of the smaller rooms on the 3rd floor, but still had plenty of room to enjoy our stay. Next season, we are truly considering another weekend here at the Arbor Hill Inn.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so choose your floor wisely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSnackpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton Grove, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a great two night stay in the Uncle Karl's suite. The breakfasts are great and served on your schedule. The room was spacious and comfortable. The location of LaPorte is convenient for exploring neighboring areas such as Michigan City and South Bend. The 1 1/2 hour ride from Chicago made it the perfect distance for a short getaway.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayied two nights in the beautiful Global Latitudes suite in their Guest House. Wonderful welcome, desserts each night, delicious breakfast. We drove to orchards and did a bit of shopping at the nearby outlet mall. Have already decided that if we plan a future trip to Chicago, we would rather stay here and take the train into the city. We did use a Groupon for this trip which made it a great value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjpalmer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had a great time staying at Arbor Hill Inn. We slept well and enjoyed the morning breakfast both days. It was an easy drive to surrounding orchards and Notre Dame and Valpo. Our room was quiet, but in the morning it was nice to share breakfast with the other guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We initially intended to spend a single night at the Arbor Hill Inn and reserved the Victory Garden. After we arrived and rounded around we immediately cancelled our reservations in Chicago for the next two nights and reserved Uncle Karl's room for Friday and Saturday. If you can afford it try to get the WA Jones Retreat. The Arbor Inn is a wonderful place to stay even if you want to spend the weekend in Chicago. My wife and I will return... often.

Room Tip: If you can afford it try to stay in the WA Jones Retreat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaPorte
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
9.1 mi away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
626 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn La Porte
Hampton Inn La Porte
#1 of 7 in LaPorte
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center
9.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbor Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbor Hill Inn

Property: Arbor Hill Inn
Address: 263 W Johnson Rd, LaPorte, IN 46350-2026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > LaPorte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in LaPorte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arbor Hill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Winner! For those seeking romantic getaways in Northwest Indiana, Arbor Hill Inn is an excellent choice. We are a luxurious yet comfortable Inn steeped in romance. Arbor Hill Inn is a place of celebration and laughter. A place to reconnect, relax and be as social or as private as you wish. Our twelve guest rooms have a timeless style. Each room of our La Porte Indiana bed and breakfast is a sanctuary of quiet ease. Each is an authentic experience with unique designer décor, private bath and amazing attention to detail. Located just 10 Minutes from Lake Michigan, Dunes and Lighthouse Place Premium Outlets. 35 Minutes from Notre Dame. 1 1/2 Hours from Chicago. Enjoy Orchards, Festivals, Farmer's Markets, Museums, 3 Public Golf Courses, Specialty Shopping, Fine dining, Antiquing, Nature at its best at our numerous local parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Arbor Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing