We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Time”
Review of Arbor Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arbor Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 LaPorte B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had a great time staying at Arbor Hill Inn. We slept well and enjoyed the morning breakfast both days. It was an easy drive to surrounding orchards and Notre Dame and Valpo. Our room was quiet, but in the morning it was nice to share breakfast with the other guests.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Arbor Hill Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 148 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

We initially intended to spend a single night at the Arbor Hill Inn and reserved the Victory Garden. After we arrived and rounded around we immediately cancelled our reservations in Chicago for the next two nights and reserved Uncle Karl's room for Friday and Saturday. If you can afford it try to get the WA Jones Retreat. The Arbor Inn is a wonderful place to stay even if you want to spend the weekend in Chicago. My wife and I will return... often.

Room Tip: If you can afford it try to stay in the WA Jones Retreat.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this B&B on an October weekend to relax. We had a great, peaceful time. The staff is very friendly and homey. They give you nightly desserts and a good breakfast (we have dietary restrictions so we couldnt eat any of it). But, they did supply us with a breakfast to meet our restrictions although it wasnt much food and we were hungry again within an hour or so. But, they did their best. We greatly appreciated the effort.

The place is crazy quiet, which we loved. We stayed in the Victory Garden room which was nice. The home is beautiful but inside is very outdated but nice amenities. Very nice shower/bath, large bathroom, king size beds and a fireplace. The TV is very old school and small but they do have VHS (yes, tapes!) in the common room you can take up to your room to watch (pretty good selection).

We spent most of our time at Garwood Farms (upick pumpkins and apples and market) and Michigan City. We had an amazing trip to the national dunes and the lighthouse premium outlet mall. They have great country cooking restaurants around this area but with our dietary restrictions we were pretty limited to where we could go. But we didnt starve, so its still a good trip for anyone with dietary concerns. Also, the room does have a fridge in case you need to bring food (no microwave though) but I am sure they would let you use the one in the kitchen.

I wish we could have stayed another night because the weekend just went by way too fast! Summed up, we will be back to Arbor Hill Inn again :D

Room Tip: there is no fitness center or swimming pool, which makes sense for a B&B. :D
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielleajames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a great find just 30 minutes from Notre Dame! I have been hesitant to try B&B's because I didn't want to feel like I was staying in somebody's personal home. Instead, this had the privacy and comfort of a retreat.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex in the North Pointe room which was spacious and had a small kitchenette avail...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soupysales_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was our first experience at a B & B. I was a little hesitant, but after arriving and seeing our room, i was very impressed. We stayed at the main house in the Scotts Lady of The Lake. What a beautiful room....very spacious and very clean. We woke each morning to the smell of bacon. The staff was wonderful. Very friendly and accommodating. We just needed a little getaway and is was perfect. I am looking forward to going back again in the summer months. The area is nice and close to the outlet mall and the Casino.....great time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krnreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

How sweet it is to find such a treasure in La Porte! Absolutely gorgeous Craftsman-style home, beautifully restored high on a high above Pine Lake. Both ladies were so helpful, cheerful and accommodating in meeting my needs. Cozy, clean, excellent breakfast presented artistically. Quiet and relaxing. Excellent wifi. It was a delight to wake up in the morning after a sound sleep in the comfy bed and look outside at the horses and barn, all in autumn foliage. I highly recommend this place for any one individual or a group - wedding or women's retreat! A real jewel in La Porte County!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Like many first-class B&Bs, Arbor Hill was no slouch at comfort, cleanliness, and quiet. We stayed in the Northe Pointe room upstairs in the Annex. BTW, the Annex is just north of the original mansion and is a separate building. As we were the only occupants that night, the house was as quiet as King Tut's tomb. Spacious bathroom (with both shower stall and jacuzzi tub) and a large, comfortable bed. Breakfast was served next door. It was served at the time we asked (earlyish) because we had a morning meeting with a LaPorte businessman. No problem to accommodate our breakfast wishes, both his and ours. Definitely we would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Annex Northe Pointe. Don't bypass the rooms in the main house though.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unclevad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaPorte
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
9.1 mi away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
634 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn La Porte
Hampton Inn La Porte
#1 of 7 in LaPorte
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
0.4 mi away
The Blue Heron Inn
The Blue Heron Inn
#3 of 7 in LaPorte
99 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbor Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbor Hill Inn

Address: 263 W Johnson Rd, LaPorte, IN 46350-2026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > LaPorte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in LaPorte
Price Range: $87 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arbor Hill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Winner! For those seeking romantic getaways in Northwest Indiana, Arbor Hill Inn is an excellent choice. We are a luxurious yet comfortable Inn steeped in romance. Arbor Hill Inn is a place of celebration and laughter. A place to reconnect, relax and be as social or as private as you wish. Our twelve guest rooms have a timeless style. Each room of our La Porte Indiana bed and breakfast is a sanctuary of quiet ease. Each is an authentic experience with unique designer décor, private bath and amazing attention to detail. Located just 10 Minutes from Lake Michigan, Dunes and Lighthouse Place Premium Outlets. 35 Minutes from Notre Dame. 1 1/2 Hours from Chicago. Enjoy Orchards, Festivals, Farmer's Markets, Museums, 3 Public Golf Courses, Specialty Shopping, Fine dining, Antiquing, Nature at its best at our numerous local parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Arbor Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing