We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Blue Heron Inn
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn La Porte(LaPorte)(Great Value!)
$89
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Economy Inn(Hamlet)
$53
Travelocity
View Deal
Cool Springs Inn(Michigan City)(Great Value!)
$55
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City(Michigan City)(Great Value!)
$144
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
53
25
5
5
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
25
5
5
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewst bonepine lakewhirlpool tubhouse boatsecond floorattached restaurantbalcony overlookingmom and pop placefree breakfast islong weekendhot breakfastwafflesmorning breakfastking bedpontoonfishingtiki
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 100 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Found this great hotel while searching for a place to stay near South Bend for the Notre Dame game. We were only 30 minutes from South Bend. The hotel rate was reasonable, the room was huge with a king size bed and jacuzzi tub. Our deck had a gorgeous view of the lake. Yes, the patio furniture was plastic as others have complained about, but it was fine to sit and enjoy the view and have my morning coffee. The free breakfast had both hot and cold items. The food at the restaurant was very good. The service at the hotel and restaurant were good. The room was clean, housekeeping kept it tidy. Would definitely stay there again. Have recommended to others already.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoCats1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

After reading so many negative comments about the Blue Heron Inn, I felt like I should write and tell my experiences while staying here. We usually stay here once or twice each year and we have been doing this for quite a few years.
We have stayed in the spa rooms and last week we stayed in one of the lakeside suites. The room was ready for us & we did arrive before check-in time (4:00) so we were able to put our bags in the room. The front desk staff were very friendly & nice to us. Everything in the room was clean, including the bed, bathroom, floor, etc. The chairs on the deck were clean so we could sit in them.
This is a cozy little inn and its nice to be able to sit on the deck and look out at Pine Lake or walk along the paths at the lake. There is a nice lobby to relax in or swim in their pool.
Staying here is much nicer than staying in the usual motel room. We will keep coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Our first night our toilet wasn't bolted down and when you flushed it water ran out over the floor. Then we realized that our air conditioner in our room was broken. The second night the people above us partied until 3 am. When we complained about stuff broken in our room they fixed it the next morning. However, never asked what they could do to make it right or anything else. When we complained about the loud music and dancing above us they acted like we were crazy. Never, Ever said they were sorry. This Inn has no idea to what customer service is. Our son and his wife went to a motel and their air conditioner was broken and the place comped them a whole nights stay. This place looks for excuses to make everything your fault. DON'T STAY HERE! WORST PLACE WE'VE EVER STAYED IN 26 YEARS! Oh yes, one more thing the lawn furniture around the pool was covered in cob webs. My husband had to clean them off to lay on the lounge chair by the pool.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank bgwardlowfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

The view of the Lake was beautiful...the room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful giving us local information about where to eat and things to do. The breakfast was tasty - enjoyed it every morning we were there. We used the pool, rented a pontoon, ate at the T-Bone restaurant - everything we did we were pleased with. I would most definitely recommend this for a great get away. My husband and I plan to return again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyBethDeKalb_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

The room was well designed (corner one-bedroom suite) but a little shabby. The linens -- sheets and towels -- were worn and thin. Although it was June15, the outdoor pool wasn't open and the pool bar wasn't open. We had a large balcony overlooking the lake, but had only two plastic chairs. We did ask the office for a small table (had seen them on other balconies and patios), but was told that they never allowed tables on the balconies. There was a kitchenette, but no glassware -- plastic glasses and foam cups.. The rooms were large -- sitting room, fireplace, table and chairs, king-sized bed -- but lacked those little touches that would have made it more luxorious. The attached restaurant was, however, great and service was wonderful. The view was beautiful and the woman at the desk (not the one we talked to about the pool and the table) was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retiredmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews