We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect romantic paradise”
Review of The Blue Heron Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blue Heron Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in LaPorte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We spent the weekend for our 22nd anniversary here & had the perfect weekend. The staff was very friendly & helpful. The room was very clean & housekeeping did a great job of tidying things up while we were out so they didn't bother us. The view is so beautiful & relaxing its the perfect place to unwind & recharge. We have stayed here several times over the years and always have a great experience. The front desk clerk Debbie was so sweet, helpful & friendly. A very nice change from most people at other places. The staff was very helpful in helping my husband find a florist & having a beautiful bouquet of roses waiting in the room to surprise me when we arrived. We would highly recommend this romantic paradise to everyone. The only thing that we would not recommend is eating at Tbones. There is a great breakfast place called Sofia's & a great pizza place called Aurelios.

Room Tip: Any room they are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariehiland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 99 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

The Blue Heron is one of our favorite places to stay. We have booked for this year and looking forward to enjoying the room and the view of the lake. The free breakfast is like no other. They also provide homemade cookies for the guest. It is a quiet homey atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saltydog12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I love the Blue Heron. The location is great, we have enjoyed all four seasons and had a great time on the lake. Rooms are great, the food at TBones is great and we've even made friends with the staff. It's just a great get away.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samasteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stayed here for a getaway. I enjoyed the view and the staff. I would recommend it again! I just needed time to myself to unwind. My only complaint was breakfast was not very tasty but the view from my houseboat was breathtaking. I think if I do this again I will choose the boat on the end for a better view.

Room Tip: If you dont like the Rocking dont stay on house boat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank neffml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

It is a Great place to kick back and relaxes, in the summer you can catch some rays, go swimming, jump in your in room spa, walk over to the restaurant patio eat, have a cocktail and watch the sunset over Pine Lake. This is a prefect day to me.

The food is great and people are wonderful, and there are any different types of rooms to choice from so next time your in LaPorte IN stay at the Blue Heron Inn.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms and spa room are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Great rooms. Very large rooms.beautiful views. Loved the spa. Loved the fireplace. The in room kitchen was very useful. while eating in the dinning room u can see great views of pinelake everywhere. Very quiet and Cozi.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckyskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We chose to stay on the bigger size house boat because we had our grandchildren with us. It was a lot of fun and a very unique experience. YES, the house boat does rock so get prepared to be awaken at around 6:00 in the morning when the fisherman start the morning out with their quest to find the biggest fish at Pine Lake. We stayed Labor Day weekend so there was plenty of activity on the lake going on. We were all amazed at the big turtles that linger around the boats looking for food. If you like fishing you can sit on the deck and do some fishing. The boat is a good size - plenty of room for the four of us. The only problem that we had besides the kids fighting was that there was not enough hot water for showering. My advice is to shower very quickly or stop the water during the process, soap up and then turn the shower on again. Seeing that we stayed on a holiday weekend it was a bit pricey but definitiely worth the fun that we had. They also offer a continental breakfast however there wasn't a lot of room in the dining area to eat so a lot of people ate on the deck of the restaurant. They have a outdoor pool which is kind of small. We did not use the pool because there were always a lot of people swimming. They also have a bar/restaurant which is very nice.

Room Tip: Go for the experience and get the bigger house boat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaPorte
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn La Porte
Hampton Inn La Porte
#1 of 7 in LaPorte
345 reviews
9.5 mi away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
7.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
7.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Heron Inn

Address: 1110 Lakeside St, East Shore of Pine Lake, LaPorte, IN 46350-2216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > LaPorte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in LaPorte
Price Range: $100 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron Inn location on the east shore of Pine Lake in LaPorte, Indiana is dedicated to the tradition of making your vacation a pleasurable and relaxing experience. We feature several accommodation options from a basic no-frills guest room to a two bedroom suite with a fireplace and whirlpool tub. All rooms, regardless of type are decorated with elaborate crown molding, tasteful colors, and fine linens. If you are one of our frequent corporate guests, the refrigerator, coffee pots, and video entertainment options will surely make your extended stay convenient and pleasant. Our complimentary wireless internet access makes staying connected easy and convenient.While staying with us enjoy the intimate and elegant atmosphere of T-Bones Pier 11. This classic steakhouse features steaks, chops, and seafood. We have a magnificent fine wine selection as well.If you have a business function, celebration, or rehearsal dinner, give your guests the best treatment by selecting from several options available to entertain. The Le'Cabernet, which seats up to 50 people offers the elegance for those "special occasions". Pompeii's Pub greets you with a more casual setting ideal for up to 25 guests. Catering of food by T-Bones will wow your guests, and is available to fit many budgets.The Blue Heron Inn is open year round. This charming turn of the century retreat offers something for everyone. Whether you enjoy boating, visiting area orchards, golfing or simply relaxing Blue Heron has it all! Call today to learn about our special packages we offer. Gift certificates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Blue Heron Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Heron Hotel Laporte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing