We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for the mould and mice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bluff Resort Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Watch out for the mould and mice!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Beautiful location, good facilities but the mould in children's room (couldn't wuse the wardrode and oyou culd smell it) and mice weren't a nice additional. We weren't offered anything for these inconviences.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelleT705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    50
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
35
84
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My family stayed for 6 nights in a 2 Bedroom unit during mid January 2014. Although fantastic views and one of the only places in Victor Harbour to have a pool (the reason we stayed) but very, very unclean rooms.
Even after reporting this to reception on the first day after check in, apparently the head of housekeeping was asked to check on our room and after returning all that had been done was a new tea towel placed in the kitchen.
The floors were filthy, spiders & cobwebs on the ceiling, hairs left under the kitchen table, shower still had shampoo cap left on top of door and dust all over the furniture. There was also a funny smell coming from the upstairs bathroom.
Upon check out complained about the cleanliness again to reception and all they could do was apologise and said that they would look into it. The person I spoke to couldn't even remember my first complaint on the second day.
Whilst the view and location were excellent would definitely not recommend

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed at the bluff apartments in a studio ocean view room. The view is amazing and the room is very clean and has all the comforts needed. My only criticism is the swimming pool is not well heated. It can be quite cool in Victor harbour even in the middle of summer and I think a decent swimming pool that is not so cold that you will turn into an Eskimo the minute you dive in is a reasonable request. We have a spa in our room which turned out to be extremely noisy but I believe all spa mechanisms are noisy.... Wherever you stay. We found a melted cheese pack and some left over food in a drawer from a previous tennant so would suggest house-keeping check drawers regularly but this is only a MINOR thing,. Apart from those two minor things we have had a lovely time and I have thoroughly enjoyed the ocean views. We also had EXCELLENT wifi in our room however I believe other rooms have weaker signals.

Room Tip: I believe room 208 has the best wifi signal. We had no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My partner and I stayed for what was to be a lovely anniversary night getaway. The 3 bedroom apartment was clean and tidy apart from the resident cockroach in the kitchen and the flat batteries in the television remote and no toiletries in the shower dispensers. We were going to make plans to return with family and friends. At $295 a night we could turn a blind eye to these small oversights. The view would be the only reason though that we would consider returning - which unfortunately I very much doubt will happen.
As the only availability when we booked was a 3 bedroom apartment, the management had locked the 2 bedrooms that were not needed.
At 0420 in a blissful slumber we were both awoken to the bedside alarm going off loudly in one of the locked bedrooms. We rang the afterhours phone number only to leave a message re our predicament with no response. The alarm continued for the next 2 hours!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Upon checkout my partner made mention of our rude awakening. All we got was an apology which we definitely think is not good enough.
We have travelled extensively with lots of experience with different ranges of properties and would have to rate this as our worst experience. Apparently customer satisfaction is not held in high regard.
We will definitely be spreading the word about the poor value that The Bluff resort apartments (as it is now known) places upon repeat business.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginnyt63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I, my just married daughter and her husband and best man recently stayed at this place for a couple of days in early January, 2014.
I have been previously on 2 occasions over the last 5-10 years and always thought the place was nice (although expensive) for special occasions.
In summary this is my feedback:
1. Feedback Forms: Unlike every other decent establishment there were none available at the reception office. 2. Tissues: Unlike every other decent establishment there were none at all in the main rooms. 3. Pool very cold: For a place as expensive as this I and other guests thought some effort should be made to have solar heating of the pool. 4. Snobby staff: The office/reception staff were nice, efficient but quite snobbish in their manner. 5. Leaking taps: All the taps in the kitchen & main bathroom leaked water and wet our dry clothes etc very annoying and not professional. 6. Sharp bolts: There were sharp dangerous broken bolts sticking out of the wall in upstairs toilet where toilet roll holder had broken. 7. Dishwasher was full yuk! 8. Dirty benches: Kitchen bench tops were dirty sticky lollies etc left. 9. Small tidy bin: Must provide small bench top tidy bin/with liners as bending to use the large under-bench one in difficult. 10. No coffee: Must provide some instant coffee (good quality) as your fancy machine is hard to use & time consuming. 11. TV wrong spot: They must move the TV from near the lounge window as the glare from outside is unbearable. 12. Toilet paper: Must provide decent quality 3 ply toilet paper as the stuff supplied is terrible causing one to use twice as much. 13. Garden terrible: The terribly poor unsightly bedraggled garden which is seen when looking down from the balcony of Unit 103.
John Bowling

Room Tip: Look for a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
3,679 reviews
229 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 713 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This property is now called Bluff Apartments and is located some five kilometres from Victor Harbor in a very attractive location at the bluff. The apartment was clean and the service was fine. The negatives were the lack of wi fi other than at the pool and the untidy unclean laundry. A little more attention and this could be a great place but needs some attention.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Have just stayed 2 nights at The Bluff Resort in an ocean view studio. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Having arrived on a 40+ degree day coming into our apartment having the air-con on was a very welcome surprise. The view from our room was worth a million dollars and we spent both mornings and evenings sitting out on the balcony with coffee / dinner. Would recommend this resort in a heartbeat and will definitely be coming back ourselves.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank johnseyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encounter Bay
2.7 mi away
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Victor Harbor
328 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#4 of 6 in Victor Harbor
177 reviews
4.2 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Seascape Retreat
Seascape Retreat
#4 of 11 in Victor Harbor
37 reviews
2.7 mi away
Victor Harbor City Inn
Victor Harbor City Inn
#1 of 6 in Victor Harbor
266 reviews
1.9 mi away
Victor Harbor Holiday and Cabin Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bluff Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bluff Resort Apartments

Property: The Bluff Resort Apartments
Address: 123 Franklin Pde, Encounter Bay, South Australia 5211, Australia (Formerly Whalers Resort Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Encounter Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Encounter Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bluff Resort Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Bluff Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing