We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bluff Resort Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tired”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This really needs a good makeover. The rooms are very tired. Some of the furniture old and the kitchens need an update. We would not recommend this again. We had friends who visited and we thought this was the spot. It has fantastic views in a great location but needs some work to impress overseas visitors.

Room Tip: Find a B and B or home stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissyM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    48
    23
    10
    5
See reviews for
32
79
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed in a executive studio for $229 per night. Booking process was easy however the property name changed between making my booking and my stay, and i was not informed. This made things very difficult when trying to find the place when signage already reflected the new name. A simple one line email would have been nice to avoid the confusion.

For those unfamiliar with the area, it is a little way outside of the main town - about a 5-10 min drive. Car parking is easy though.

Once checked in, the room was very comfortable and views were spectacular. The stairs are quite sharp for anyone with mobility issues but that didnt bother us at all. Cleanliness was good, except for a spider making a nice home under the bathroom sink.

Had an excellent night's sleep. Bed was large and in good shape and very comfy. We were declined a 30-min later checkout the morning of arrival which was a bit disappointing.

Overall the place is great for a getaway if you want a tranquil setting although the price does seem a little steep for one-bedroom set-up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGO86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

A great place to unwind for a few days. The 3 bedroom apartment was comfortable for a family of 2 adults and 4 teenagers. It was disappointing that the shower in the downstairs bathroom wasn't working, but this was promptly fixed the following day when the helpful reception girl was notified, despite it being a weekend. The beds and pillows were comfortable, allowing restful sleep. The location was second to none, with commanding views from top balcony. A heritage walk along the clifftops behind the bluff, was fabulous, although no mention of it was made in the information brochures in the unit. It would have been a disaster to have missed it! I would return to this accommodation for another visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over Encounter Bay. I'd be dreadfully upset if I didn't get one of these! I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelaide-56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Nice studio apartment with a nice view. There was a lovely little restaurant within walking distance and the accommodation and the beaches were nice and quiet. I really appreciated the spa bath!
The Nespresso machine was a nice touch, but I was disappointed we only got three pods for the entire stay and they were not replenished (further pods had to be purchased - for a very high price!)
All in all, it made for a nice weekend away, but for the price, it was a little steep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pikasafire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

When I arrived at the accomodation I couldnt help but be blown away by the view...... It is absolutely superb. The next thing I noticed though was a pungent smell of what smelt to be urine! We aired the property and the smell was gone in about 15 minutes. I addressed this with the staff and was told a cleaner would attend. 2 hours later, no cleaner and so we went out only to receive a phone call to ask what the problem was! When we returned later on so had the smell! My overall opinion is that the resort relies too heavily on the magnificent view and doesn't pay attention to other things - ie our balcony needed a good sweep and our bins were left unemptied for 2 days which attracted ants. The Foxtel didn't work for one of the days and light fittings didn't have bulbs. I think for the money we paid, none of these issues should have arisen. I agree with other comments re the coffee, when paying $300 a night its a bit of a kick in the teeth to charge more for coffees - we were provided 9 for a 2 night stay for 4 people.

You wont be disappointed if you booked up here, far from it, and if the issues I have mentioned are addressed then it is a good destination for a few days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spent two weeks at the Bluff View Accommodation and had a fabulous time. Our three bedroom double storey apartment was clean and modern with all the necessary amenities and the view from the balcony was spectacular. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The swimming pool is gorgeous and our children had a fantastic time swimming in it daily. Thank You Bluff View Accommodation for providing us with a wonderful holiday ‘home’ for these last two weeks we will be booking for the same time next year and can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We paid 225 dollars for a studio apartment. For this money we expected top service and were disappointed. The cleaning spray smelt like Dencorub! There were no tissues, the clock didn't work and there were no shower caps.
We stayed 2 nights and on arrival we were supplied with milk and coffee pods for the nespresso machine which we were unfamiliar with. Coffee and biscuits were not replenished the next day (we had to pay for them!) which was surprising given what we were paying per night.
As international travellers we are constantly disappointed with the way some Australian managers are so complacent about service. We need to lift our game in this country if we want to brag about being an international destination.

Room Tip: rooms 301 and 302 have amazing views of encounter bay. We were there when there was a full moon and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encounter Bay
2.7 mi away
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
18.2 mi away
Links Lady Bay Resort
Links Lady Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Normanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
#5 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#4 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
4.2 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
2.7 mi away
Victor Harbor City Inn
Victor Harbor City Inn
#1 of 6 in Victor Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bluff Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bluff Resort Apartments

Property: The Bluff Resort Apartments
Address: 123 Franklin Parade, Encounter Bay, South Australia 5211, Australia (Formerly Whalers Resort Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Encounter Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Encounter Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bluff Resort Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Bluff Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing