We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Lafayette
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very good stopover”
Reviewed September 1, 2010

This is a very typical Hampton Inn. This chain has consistency that leads me to select it for stopovers during road trips. There is no smoking, a clean comfortable room and a reasonable breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    103
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
147
54
23
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Stayed here recently for 4 nights. It is a basic hotel, a bit overpriced, though it was move in weekend for Purdue Freshman. Room is on small side, but nice and clean, though it seems they would benefit from some upgrading on beds and furniture. Hotel was booked, but very quiet. Typical breakfast. The 'internet room" is really just an old dell sitting in their main lobby right by the door. Convenient, but no privacy at all. Oh, and they have free wi-fi, but we could only get it to work in the lobby, never in our room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canatrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Hampton is a good chain on the whole. This one is part of a string of three older adjacent Hilton properties. Everything, including access through road construction, speaks of aged and worn vs new and fresh. The breakfast service was served in an unintuitive scattering of elements around a room without enough counter space. I was surprised to find rubbery microwaved and warmed-to-point-of-no moisture eggs. Hard Boiled eggs would have been markedly better. For what it was, I thought it was overpriced. It was sufficient; I didn't feel that I needed to complain about anything in specific enough to cash in on the 100% guarantee. Nevertheless, I would recommend saving money at a nearby lower cost chain for the equivalent service.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmeade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, ca
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

The Lafayette Hampton Inn proves once again that one will find an excellent hotel room at reasonable price when you stay at Hampton Inns. This is my favorite hotel chain.

The room we had was excellent in every respect - roomy with extremely comfortable bedding, and everything clean and in good working order. Good hot breakfast in the morning is always a plus.

This hotel is located on the east end of Lafayette very close to Interstate 65, with many restaurant chains located on both sides of the street. Walmart is just around the corner and Target is a half mile away. If you are in town for Caterpillar, it is also about a half mile.

We were in town to visit Purdue, and the only drawback of this hotel is that is about as far from the campus you can get. It will take 10 or 15 minutes to drive to the campus from the hotel, no matter which route you travel. On busy weekends (i.e., football games), the hotel fills up fast and all rooms must be prepaid at least a month in advance.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brucegary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette.IN
2 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2007

We stayed here for our 10th Anniversary and we loved it! A hotel room that I could find absolutely nothing wrong with! It was very clean, the heat worked, the water pressure and temp in the shower was perfect, the bed was sooo comfortable - everything was great! I booked the Jacuzzi Suite and while a little expensive, I was willing to pay a little more since this was the only hotel in Lafayette I could find that had a jacuzzi in the room! I wanted something big enough for 2! Other hotels only seemed to have bathtubs with jets. The employees were also very efficient, courteous and friendly- we were checked in very fast and with no problems. The breakfast the next day was very good and displayed wonderfully - plenty of choices from cereal and yogurt to scrambled eggs and toast or bagles. I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Liked — The jacuzzi
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tracy880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
185 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

Due to flight troubles wasn't able to get where I needed to go, booked this hotel enroute and hoped for the best.

It more than met my expectations for a Hampton Inn.

Check in was quick with none of the "can we see the credit card" nonesense that happens all too often even when you've already provided it online. The folks were nice too.

Room was typical Hampton in design, was cleaner and better maintained than many I've stayed in.

Breakfast looked meager at first, but really was just spread all around the room. Cereal here, bread there, hot food and drinks along the wall. As usual for Hampton "Fruit" came only in the form of canned fruit cocktail. I'd kill for a banana.

Check out was equally painless.

I'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jondf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2007

I travel a lot for business, and always prefer either a Hampton Inn or Courtyard Mariott, because you always know what you're going to get.

This Hampton was no different. The only problem was that the person who cleaned the room before I arrived left a dirty wash cloth from the last occupant in the shower. Gross, but I ignored it as it was sort of out of the way.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thaJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lafayette hotels
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lafayette
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lafayette
Red Roof Inn Lafayette
#3 of 22 in Lafayette
470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Lafayette
Comfort Inn Lafayette
#9 of 22 in Lafayette
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lafayette East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lafayette

Property: Hampton Inn Lafayette
Address: 3941 South St, Lafayette, IN 47905-4812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Lafayette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lafayette
#5 Business Hotel in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Lafayette 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Lafayette offers 62 recently renovated guest rooms, free WiFi and hot breakfast, and a convenient location near Purdue University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing