We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid bar food, great beer”

Lafayette Brewing Company
Ranked #40 of 232 Restaurants in Lafayette
Price range: $0 - $16
Cuisines: American
Description: We are a mid-sized brewpub located in the heart of historic downtown Lafayette, IN, and just minutes from the campus of Purdue University. Our family friendly environment features a large dining area. We also have a spacious bar and comfortable banquet facility in our 2nd floor Beer Hall for the 21+ crowd. We were the 1st brewery to receive Indiana's small brewers permit back in 1993, and are currently the 2nd oldest operating brewery in the state. Our brewery philosophy is to brew traditional ale & lager styles while incorporating high quality ingredients and innovative practices to create a distinctive array of beers. Our kitchen focuses on generous portions of unique pub fare, and we feature quality, locally-produced ingredients whenever practical. Stop by and experience a bit of Indiana's craft brewing history. We hope to see you soon!
Restaurant details
Description: We are a mid-sized brewpub located in the heart of historic downtown Lafayette, IN, and just minutes from the campus of Purdue University. Our family friendly environment features a large dining area. We also have a spacious bar and comfortable banquet facility in our 2nd floor Beer Hall for the 21+ crowd. We were the 1st brewery to receive Indiana's small brewers permit back in 1993, and are currently the 2nd oldest operating brewery in the state. Our brewery philosophy is to brew traditional ale & lager styles while incorporating high quality ingredients and innovative practices to create a distinctive array of beers. Our kitchen focuses on generous portions of unique pub fare, and we feature quality, locally-produced ingredients whenever practical. Stop by and experience a bit of Indiana's craft brewing history. We hope to see you soon!
Battle Ground, In
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Solid bar food, great beer”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great microbrewery. Be careful, though - they keep a dozen or so brews on tap and some are a little 'exotic.' Sweet vanilla flavored beer, coffee flavored beer, etc. Stick with what the regulars drink - the Common Ale (a bitter IPA-like ale), or 85 (similar). If you prefer a heavier or maltier brew, ask the bartender for help- they're very helpful and knowledgeable. The food is good bar fare - a definite cut above average for what it is. The fish and chips are excellent as is most everything. They do have a few lighter offerings (salads, hummus and pita, etc) in case you're not up to scotch eggs or deep-fried sauerkraut balls.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 81hoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    69
    30
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fun restaurant, great beer, good service”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have been here both times that we visited Purdue. We love the beer selections and the staff that work there. If you are in the mood for bar food at a decent price then this is the place for you.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bikingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Make sure you have lots of time for lunch”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

There are not a whole lot of non-chain choices in Lafayette/West Lafayette, and I hate eating at chains when I travel. There are even fewer choices on Sunday, especially when one place was closed for a private party.

We had Sunday lunch after Purdue Parents Weekend/Homecoming. Perhaps the Brewing Company did not realize it was homecoming weekend (how could they not) but they were not ready for a full house.

The building is really cool. It is a furniture store built in 1892, so you can imagine the size. When we got there around 12:30 it was about half full. Within 15 minutes, it was packed. We waited 10 minutes for a menu, and that was indiciative of the pace of the meal. Our waitress had tables all over the restaurant, not must in our section. Further, she could not multitask. She would take the order for the table across from us, then disappear to the kitchen. Why not take the orders from both tables? To me the worst infraction was when she brought our food, she asked what else we needed. We needed soft drink re-fills and mustard. We never got either. I finally had to track down someone else to beg for a check so that we would not miss our flight.

The food was actually fine. My sons had burgers. The both seemed to be well done although one of my sons asked for his medium. I had the flat (name not accepted by TripAdvisor) with is essentially a sub with less bread. It was good. My wife had a wrap. They offer fries with various seasonings, and I think between use we sampled them all. I also had the beans which were good. I had one of the craft beers (the pilsner) and it was very good.

I think this place shows promise, but I am not sure I would go back. Maybe I am not used to the small town pace of life.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Drink your oatmeal”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I found the worst thing about this place was finding a place to park. I came here on a recommendation from a waitress at another restaurant. The food is very much above average. I'd call it pub food, that is kicked up a notch. They had a really good pulled pork sandwich with chipotle coleslaw. I had their stout which has oatmeal in it. It was really good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ferret538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Drink Indiana?”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Absolutely and start right here on Main street in Lafayette! 7 or so beers on tap. Great oatmeal stout, oatmeal stout w/ coffee flavor, eighty-five (solid IPA style beer), strong ale. Of my 6 samples, I thoroughly enjoyed 5 of them which is a strong showing for a brew pub in my experience. Bartender Ben was very knowledgeable about the brews.

Was happy to see so many dark beers on tap in the summer. Didn't have food, but noticed that they use their beer in the recipes. This is a HUGE plus in my book and bumped this place up to 5 stars! I hope to be back

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SingingOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lafayette Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Lafayette Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing