We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like an apartment complex”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Felt like an apartment complex”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed here for three nights while visiting Purdue University. I hardly felt like I was staying in a hotel, since my room was like a cute 1 bedroom apartment. Its true that the lobby is not connected to all the rooms, but it wasn't a problem for me. I only had breakfast one day and it was pretty standard, nothing too exciting.
Service was excellent - couldn't have asked for better. They seemed to really care for all their guests.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akrontraveler325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    119
    20
    12
    6
See reviews for
247
66
16
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Overall Impression: Great Location. Stayed here while visiting my son at Purdue. This is now “my place”, when visiting Purdue. One of the Best Homewood Suite I have ever stayed in.

With my Hilton Honors Diamond status, I received HH points.

PROs:
- Great staff
-Proximity to local restaurants and shopping.
-Rooms were spotless
-Great breakfast
-First class amenities
-Property layout large. More like an apartment/condo complex than a hotel.

CONs:
-Rooms/halls not connected to the lobby area.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank USMC_Retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston S.C.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The property was nice and Julie and Alix were wonderful. They were both very kind and caring.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LimeyCharlestonS_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood Crest, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Let me start by saying, I've never been a fan of hotels where the rooms are not in the same building as the main office. This hotel's staff makes up for that...I cannot say enough nice things about them. I've stayed there 3 times already and will again in August as my son is a student at Purdue and this hotel is pretty close. On our last trip we had to depart from Indiana at 3am and I mentioned this to the staff and told them my husband was a diabetic. They prepared food and coffee for us at that time...the food wasn't fantastic frankly a bit stale but the fact that they took the time to do this with what they had available at that moment speaks volumes for the quality of the people working there. They've always been friendly and helpful....well done and see you soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Versailles2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAFHH, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
The staff and I want to thank you for this wonderful review. We appreciate you recognizing our service and our commitment to our guest.
We are so excited to hear that your son is attending Purdue and you will becoming back to visit us. We have had many Purdue parents stay with us and this has always became thier home away from home-Welcome to the family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I was in this college town to give a lecture. I had minimal expectations as I thought I was headed to the middle of corn fields and soy beans.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The ladies at the front desk made our brief stay pleasant.

We had minor technical difficulties with our room and the staff worked incredibly hard to repair the problem and make the situation right.

Where we live we don't have fireplaces. It was a nice treat to enjoy a fireplace. My children really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank World2Explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAFHH, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
The staff and I are so happy you found us while on your visit to Lafayette. We appreciate all the great comments and we are very proud of the service we provide to all of our guests.
Come back and see us ---we are on the right of the last row of corn!
Have a wonderful rest of the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina Area
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Very nice hotel! I was upgraded to a fireplace suite free of charge which was a nice surprise. All the comforts of home and it felt like I was in an apartment rather than a hotel - only I didn't have to cook breakfast or dinner!

Room Tip: Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAFHH, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
The staff and I want to thank you for the wonderful comments. Our goal is to make all our guests feel like it this is thier home away from home. We are happy you felt this way and enjpyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Here are the pros:
Very good hospitality
Flat screen TVs in rooms
Beautiful dining area
Layout of king bedroom sweet cute - double doors to bedroom
Nice tile in bathroom

Cons:
1 king bedroom suites appears smaller than other Homewood king suites

MAJOR CON:
Lobby/dining area not connected to the rest of the hotel. Imagine it raining and you have to walk outside to get to the dining area for breakfast/dinner. How can one smell the cookies baking?
Outdoor pool nice but when vacationing w/ children you need a fall back plan in the event of bad weather. If there's only an outdoor pool......
Many other reviewers apparently don't mind the 'disconnect' but as a frequent Homewood guest it threw me for a loop.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the3travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAFHH, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Thank you for the wonderful comments about our hotel. The staff and I appreciate your positive comments about our hospitality and the suites.
The staff and I are so happy you are a frequent Homewood guest. This property is a Generation 1 and all of these are constructed with outside entries and outside pools. We do offer free umbrellas for the occassional rainstorm and our outdoor pool is fabulous on a sunny day.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay even though the hotel is not entirely connected and hope you stay with us again when you are visiting Lafayette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lafayette
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Lafayette
Hampton Inn Lafayette
#2 of 22 in Lafayette
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lafayette
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Lafayette Wabash Landing
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lafayette
Red Roof Inn Lafayette
#3 of 22 in Lafayette
468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lafayette East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette
Address: 3939 South St, Lafayette, IN 47905-4812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Lafayette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lafayette
#1 Business Hotel in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Lafayette Hotel Lafayette
Homewood Suites Lafayette
Hilton Lafayette
Homewood Lafayette
Lafayette Hilton
Lafayette Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing