We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice new hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lafayette East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lafayette East
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Reynoldsburg
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“nice new hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great service at front desk....new clean property...comfortable room...good breakfast. Will definitely stay again on return trips to Purdue. Easy access to I65 and plenty of restaurants nearby. Pancakes and cinnamon rolls were best parts of breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingandsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    45
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
67
15
2
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Had to go to the area on business. Usually I don't expect or look for much in a hotel, so anything good is a bonus. Friendly greeting, room was clean, pretty good location, and most importantly the bed was fairly comfortable.

If I could make one suggestion...breakfast starts at 6:30, a bit late for some business travelers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsloan_mmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
863 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 789 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express in Lafayette was just an overnight stop, but it was so nice that I was wishing that it was our final, multi-night stop. The hotel is new, clean, and attractive. The comfortable king bed provided a great night's sleep. The location was convenient to the interstate but far enough off the road to be quiet. The complimentary breakfast provided the usual HIE hot and cold items and, of course, the yummy cinnamon rolls. Wi-fi connectivity was good and convenient in our guest room, and the work desk and task chair provided a good space for working. The refrigerator and microwave are always a plus. The upholstered chair and ottoman were comfortable for watching the flat panel LG TV which had great picture quality. This hotel was everything that we have come to expect in HIE.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredTravelerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Booked this hotel for Homecoming weekend at Purdue as it was the only place available. Hotel was extremely overpriced, but it was our only option. Booked a king suite as we had three adults in our party. Pull out bed in couch was in "living area" between the entrance/kitchen and the bedroom. There was no light in the entire area which made it quite dark and the frig. was placed against the wall opposite the couch. It seems the frig. was to big to fit in the designed opening in the kitchen so the large hole sat vacant while the frig. was awkwardly placed against the wall in the living area. Hairdryer in the bathroom came unscrewed from it's wall mounting and fell on the counter. Asked front desk for additional blanket as the one on the bed was very thin and got one with a blood stain on it. For a new hotel it apprears that it was put up in a hurry and attention to detail was overlooked.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lafayette East, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear KCKansasCity,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations at a good and competitive value. I am sorry you were not fully satisfied with the conditions of the room you received. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts as this is our best resource for improving the quality and services we offer. I hope you give us a chance in the future to make your stay the best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The rooms were spotless , and the beds were comfortable ! The people so friendly! They went out if their way to be helpful. There were cookies! It was also located near restaurants and groceries . Parking was easy and free.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjswanson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

seemed very new, it was nice, clean, decent beds (they even mark the pillows "soft' & "hard" ) breakfast was great. overall a good stay and would recomend to anyone. If i had anything bad to say, the TV was kinda small?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjd1267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood Crest, New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Okay, this would be the first time I've written a review before my stay is over at a hotel but my disappointment with this hotel is that great.

Friday:
At check-in in evening, I was greeted with no smile, no hello, no welcome to put it plainly the person I now know as Charlies was just miserable. He made me feel like an inconvenience and my husband who is the easiest going person in the world commented on "how rude the guy was" you're in the hospitality industry....show some. The bags reserved to be given to Priority Club members at check-in, guess what? I didn't receive one. He did bring coffee to the room when requested because we had nothing but decaf and after he pointed out that he was on his own. My brother who is also in the industry said "you should never tell a guest that because you make them feel unwanted". Congrats, he did.

Saturday:
Housekeeping was appalling, after returning from a day out we did not find a cleaned room instead we found ,the beds were just thrown together, the crumbs on the carpet was still there from the evening before, the bathroom was not cleaned including the toilet and they did not replenish any items used but towels. I had to request toilet paper....I spoke to Marion in Housekeeping who assured me it would be resolved when we returned from dinner and most was but the toilet was still not cleaned, coffee but no creamer, sugar and 2 cups for a family suite.

The hotel:
It's new and looks nice in the entrance but no mirror or garbage can in master bedroom of family suite, elevator was referred to by a guest as sounding like an "plane taking off", the toilet shakes and vibrates when flushed and requires two flushes. Two tiny garbage cans in a 2 room suite, a family suite should qualify for more than 2 styrofoam plates and two sets of plastic knives and forks. A family suite would usually occupy more than just two people.

The only saving grace about this hotel is Li Li, the sweet , friendly and pleasant young lady. She gave me the Priority Gift Bag and apologised for our experience. I was offered 2,000 priority pass points to make up for the issues she said per her manager. I paid $189 for 2 nights and $129 for 1 night. This hotel is not worth anything close to what I've paid, the service is no better than a motel. I don't mind paying for service received at a hotel and sometimes I've paid a ridiculous amount but in this instance I've paid for a service and did not receive anything close to what I've paid for.

We've stayed at the Courtyard in Lafayette when it was new and just completed, I would say 4 times and Homewood Suites in Lafayette the rest of times I've visited and I've always given both excellent ratings. I would suggest this hotel's management ask the Homewood Suites management for assistance with training their staff because I've never had nothing but excellent service from the Homewood Suites' staff and I wish I did not make the choice to try this hotel. The staff comes off as lazy and not caring about the guests with the exception of Li Li.

At this time I cannot recommend this hotel and I doubt if I would stay here again. I appreciate the gesture of the 2,000 points but at this point I would have expected a discount on at least one night of my stay in addition to the points.

Bad show by the staff and management. I do not like to give hotels a poor ratings and I'm surprised that I'm doing so for a hotel in Lafayette because until now I've had nothing but really good experiences in the friendly City. Due to the homecoming weekend I had to pre-pay for this hotel, so I'm stuck or else I would leave. Please know, this is not the first time I've stayed at a Holiday Inn Express but it's by far the worst.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Versailles2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lafayette East, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Versailles2011,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We value all our Priority Club members so I was disappointed to hear of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I would like to address your concerns in further details and have sent you a private message to obtain more information regarding your stay.

I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lafayette hotels
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lafayette
Hampton Inn Lafayette
#2 of 21 in Lafayette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lafayette
Red Roof Inn Lafayette
#3 of 21 in Lafayette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Lafayette
Courtyard Lafayette
#7 of 21 in Lafayette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lafayette East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lafayette East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lafayette East
Address: 200 Progress, Lafayette, IN 47905-4835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Lafayette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lafayette East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lafayette East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing