We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Lafayette
Usa, Japan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“nice hotel friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

would strongly recommend this hotel if you want to be in downtown Lafayette. Purdue is about nine blocks away (hilton Garden Inn is closer). Great and friendly staff, nice rooms, ample parking.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewer613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHICC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. We appreicate your review and hope that you will choose the Holiday Inn City Centre for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    69
    50
    17
    20
See reviews for
61
20
10
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland, IN, USA
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2010

We were in town for my step-daughter's wedding. We selected this hotel because there was a bar inside and we would be going there after the wedding. We booked over 20 rooms. My husband spoke with planning coordinator and was told they usually close the bar at 12 a.m., but would stay open later if there were enough customers. At 12:15 we were told it was "last call" by the bartender. We asked to speak with a manager who said he could not help us. We were offered no solution on what to do with our friends and family. They called the police on us for excessive noise when we returned to our room. Since the event we have tried several times to contact the general manager and manager with no response. I think the management of this situation was very poor. No one will return our calls.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dottie306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHICC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
We apologize for any misunderstanding concerning the hours of our lounge. Our lounge does close at midnight as there are several pubs within two blocks of the hotel that stay open until after 2am. We take all feedback seriously and regret that we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lafayette hotels

Seabrook, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

The hotel itself is clean, houses all the basic amenities (fitness room, pool, restaurant, business center with computers, printers, etc) and the staff were generally polite and helpful. The rooms are not equipped with a safe, a fridge or anything else fancy, but the rooms were clean and decently-sized for the price.

However, as some of the other guests pointed out, the walls are paper-thin. On our 2nd morning about 5AM, we both woke up to the sound of an alarm clock going off in the room adjacent to us. It eventually turned itself off after around 10 minutes. The next morning, the same thing happened. Since noone was turning it off, we guessed that the guest had checked out without turning off their alarm. So we called the front desk and asked them if someone would come upstairs and turn it off. Unfortunately, they said they couldn't do that because a guest was still allegedly staying in the room. We were a little frustrated, but we understood. The alarm turned itself off again after 10 minutes. HOWEVER, the phone in the adjacent room now started ringing. Every other minute. We guessed it was the front desk trying to get a hold of the guest to turn his alarm clock off. But by this time the alarm clock was off, and now we had to deal with a phone ringing every other minute for the next half an hour. That did not seem like a very effective way to deal with the problem.

My parents from overseas were also traveling with us, and since the hotel room is not equipped with a safe, they took their passports and other valuables to the front desk. It took them 10 minutes to locate the form and the key, and once they brought the safe deposit box out and opened it, there were a bunch of official looking forms inside. Apparently she had brought someone else's safe deposit box for my parents to use. She quickly brought out another empty box for them, but by this time they were a little skeptical about storing their valuables with the front desk.

Other than those two little hitches, our stay was very comfortable and we would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyanicdelphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHICC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
We sincerely apologize for the disturbance you encountered with the alarm clock and appreciate your feedback. It is responses such as yours that helps recognize issues, correct them and become a better hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

Friends & I stayed at this hotel because it is within walking distance to the popular downtown Lafayette restaurants, bars, and theaters and it is about a 5 minute drive to the Purdue University campus. The Lafayette/West Lafayette free shuttle has a stop right out front which was convenient. We had a corner room which was huge and very clean. The hotel was a bit expensive but that may have been due to homecoming weekend. The hotel bar closed at midnight which was disappointing, but there were many other places in town to go for a nightcap.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEC829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHICC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
Our pricing is in line with similiar properties in the area and we feel we offer a good value given our hotel is located downtown and close to the university. However, in your case it appears we did not meet your rate expectation and for that I am sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
155 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

Stayed here for one night because HGI was just too high---even though I'm a Hilton Honors platinum member I thought that $85 aarp rate was great.here compared with $180 @hgi. Room was fine---temp was well controlled. Entire room/bathroom was very clean. Restaurant downstairs had a good bkfst. Bar was nice==had a fantastic cosmo. A little disconcerting that lounge area outside bar had signs all over saying no one under 21 could sit down on couches, so my hs aged daughter had to sit across entire room from me===only negative, really.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Proseco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbarotspencer, Hotel Official at Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre, responded to this review, February 25, 2010
The Holiday Inn City Centre is fortunate enough to have a large bar/lounge area which is comprised of the bar itself, an area with cocktail tables and stools, and a lounge area with comfortable couches and armchairs. All of these areas are incuded in the bar and therefore must be designated by law as 21-and-over areas. There is a sign at the entrance to the bar/lounge area (before you enter the lounge), informing guests that anyone entering the area must be 21 or over. For those guests who are under 21 or are accompanied by minors, the lobby is also furnished with couches and tables for guests to utilize as a lounge area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2009

This Holiday Inn is inside the city of Lafayette, Indiana. Great hotel and great staffs. Nice appearances inside and outside of the hotel. But there is one thing I want to warn you about. I was being charged an extra charge on my credit card about three days after I checked out from that hotel. I called that hotel in Lafayette, Indiana to find out what that charge was for. I learned that the cleaning people reported to them that we "stole" two blankets from our hotel room which we did not. I will need to call the head supervisor to deal with this situation and come back here to add more information on this situation. (Be aware of this! It may happen to you! Our room was on the 6th floor and we stayed there on March 6th and 7th and checked out on March 8th, 2009.)

The reason why I would not recommend this hotel to a friend is because of this falsely blame on us for stealing two blankets from our hotel room which we did not. Other than that, the hotel was nice and clean and the front desk staffs were great....but what about the cleaning people? How did the blankets gone missing after we checked out?

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank verytinyladybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHICC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
We sincerely apologize for the confusion associated with this problem. We are happy that we could resolve this issue for you and provide you with a refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
205 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 488 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2006

We stayed for 3 nights. As a priority member i didn't get a better room. At reservation, I was told hotel shuttle will offer service to the local area. However, after i checked in i was told shuttle was not running during the morning.

The exterior hotel looks the Best in the neighborhood, location is central in town center of Lafayette. Our room is near the pool where we can share the chlorine aroma from the pool.
The room is spacious with wireless in the public area. The deco looks dated.

The staff at the restaurant during breakfast time was slack except one lady who cleaned the table. The overall service could have been better.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the service and the decor of the room
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank yrtx4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lafayette
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Lafayette Wabash Landing
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lafayette
Hampton Inn Lafayette
#2 of 21 in Lafayette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Lafayette
Courtyard Lafayette
#6 of 21 in Lafayette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lafayette
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lafayette East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre
Address: 515 South Street, Lafayette, IN 47901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Lafayette City Centre in Lafayette, Indiana Returning the tradition and elegance to historic downtown Lafayette, Indiana, the Holiday Inn Lafayette City Centre offers 147 hotel rooms and 7,500 square feet of meeting space. A grand, new hotel built to reflect the quality and craftsmanship of a bygone era, Holiday Inn Lafayette City Centre rises 8 stories above ground, establishing a new landmark in the downtown skyline. From our rooms, guests can look out over scenic downtown Lafayette. Located in the business district, this grand hotel is blocks from the Tippecanoe County Court House, walking distance to the Long Center, theaters, art galleries, restaurants, live entertainment and more. We are also just one mile from Purdue University in West Lafayette, and close to many major businesses such as Eli Lilly, Wabash National, Caterpillar, TRW, Alcoa, Arnett Clinic, Landis & Gyr, Chemtura, Toyota, Subaru, Wal-Mart, Cargill, Fairfield, State Farm Insurance, St. Elizabeth Hospital, Home Hospital, and Unity Medical Center. Ascend our grand staircase in the main two-story lobby to the elegant meeting rooms on the second floor. Experience Italian dining at Toscana Italian Grill & Bar, where the menu includes seasonal and fresh market ingredients including premium ground beef, ground fresh from whole cuts of beef. Toscana also offers its customers a fine selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lafayette - City Centre Hotel Lafayette
Lafayette Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing