We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh my!! Great food, awesome creative options”
Review of DT Kirby's

DT Kirby's
Ranked #11 of 230 Restaurants in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh my!! Great food, awesome creative options”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Went with a group of friends to DT Kirbys to sample their legendary burgers. I had the macaroni and cheese burger with a Hard Apple Cider. The food was so good, never had pasta on a burger but it was amazing. When I'm back in the area to visit friends at Purdue, I'll definitely come back to DT Kirbys.

Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    38
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Sports Bar”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

The menu was great for a sports bar - excellent, large sandwiches with broad selection. Beer varieties and bar are excellent. The service was very good. Easy to find good locations to watch TV. Atmosphere friendly and inviting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Come here if there's a game on, otherwise...”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Ok so I've lived here for quite a few years now and decided to finally give DT Kirby's a try. The ambiance of the new location is sporty & casual - I guess they are a Cubs bar. We were there on a hot summer day and there were a swarm of flies it felt like inside the restaurant - not a pleasant experience if you're hoping to eat a meal there. Now, keep in mind I'm a vegetarian, so I'm not the typical burger lover, and I was pleasantly surprised to see they had quite a few stick-to-your-ribs veggie options. The sandwiches we ordered were good, with almost too much of everything - too much sauerkraut on the Reuben, too many fries, too much bread on the Philly, etc...BUT...I get it. It's the "eat like a man" theme they're going for. At the end of the meal, I felt full and greasy, and continued to whack flies away from my face. I don't know - give a try if you must, but in my opinion, there are far better options in Lafayette where you can get the same bar experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bikiniblonde2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomira, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great place - friendly owner, funky interior, great food”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Had a fun time in this funky little sports bar. Surprises everywhere, affordable food and fun. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun Bar/Restaurant”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great laid back college bar and for us older people...I'm 60. Cold beer....great...odd...food. Stuff on this menu you have never seen. Simple to read and fun. Don't be in a hurry and don't ask for ketchup or a knife! Don is a fun owner!

Dan

Monticello In

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DT Kirby's also viewed

 

Been to DT Kirby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing