We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night's sleep but a few flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Lafayette
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Lafayette
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed in a room on the third floor after having moved from our original assigned room on the first floor (toilet was not working properly). It was quiet and comfortable; however, minor issues such as a broken kitchen chair, dirty glass on the bathroom counter, and stained carpet in the hallway prevent us from giving this hotel a higher rating. A fine place for a quick stopover; staff was friendly and responsive. Highway noise is audible if you are in a room on the west side.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from I-65.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMJ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlewoodlafgm, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was. Your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate you letting us know how we are doing. I am sorry to hear of the maintenance issues you experienced during your stay with us. We have resolved these issuses and hope that you will choose to stay with us the next time you are in the Lafayette area. Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our staff. We take pride in our customer service and I am happy to hear that you felt we were friendly and responsive to your needs. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites Lafayette
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 73 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

I was working in the area for 4 months. Recieved a reasonable rate, friendly service, clean room as I checked in. Throughout my stay that service was maintained to the highest quality with an addition of "feel at home" personalities displayed by the staff. It was not just a MOTEL.

Thanks to the wonderful staff from management, desk clerks, housekeeping and maintence.

I would recommend this place for an over night stay or a long term stay to every one.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRHuffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlewoodlafgm, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

I'm glad to hear that we were able to make your stay feel more like home. Our entire staff understands the importance of making your time away from home as enjoyable as possible and I am glad that you were able to experience that during your stay with us. Thank you for recomending us to others and we look forward to you staying with us again should you return to the Lafayette area in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed two nights. Seemed more like an apartment building than a hotel. Very clean and quiet.
Staff courteous and professional. Dog friendly for an extra fee. Had dog walking area at the hotel and there are areas around the hotel to walk the dog. Had a studio suite with two queen beds. Comfortable beds, nice kitchenette, full size refrigerator, small coffee pot. Many restaurants and stores not far from the hotel. Free coffee but no free breakfast but still a good deal!

Room Tip: East side rooms are farther from the interstate traffic.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gulflover_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Our reservation was made by another family member on a travel website and was non-refundable after purchase. The reservation room size was made in error for a room with 1 bed instead of room with 2 beds for 2 adults and 3 teenagers. Even after my sister had spelled our name (very common, generic name) the clerk managed to screw it up and could not find our reservation for 20 minutes. When she finally found it under another name after insisting we had reservations, the clerk had a pre-made key card already swiped for our room and had us checked into the system since we were pre-paid. I asked if we could switch to a bigger room only to be told they were sold for the weekend. However, due to the lack of cars in the parking lot (7 cars at 8:00 pm) I called the hotel from my cell phone 10 minutes later only to be told they had plenty of rooms availabe and at a lower rate than I paid. Saturday morning when I got up at 6 am there were a total of 15 cars in the parking lot. They were NOT sold out!
I think to change our room would have been an inconvenience to the clerk.
When I inquired about blankets for my kids to sleep on the floor the clerk said she didn't know if they had enough and would have to go track some down. I ended up going to Meijer next door and buying blankets.

The room was clean overall, however we were told we would not have housekeeping as they only clean a room once a week for guests. That really was not that big of a deal however I did take issue when the clerk said if I want clean towels I will have to bring the dirty ones down to her and then they will replace them with clean ones. (Remember, there were 5 of us.) Housekeeping did try to come to our room once Saturday morning. Unfortunately, she didn't knock or announce herself, just used her key card to open the door and walk in on all of us while we were getting ready for the wedding we were in town for.

We ended up with a room facing the interstate. The hotel is not well insulated for sound and we were very close to the highway and could hear every car/truck/semi go by all night long and I65 is a busy interstate for semi traffic. We could also hear the guest in the room next to us snoring all night long. So a good night's sleep was not had by my children who slept on the floor or my husband and I due to all the noise.

Since the hotel does not serve any kind of breakfast food, we picked up a box of cereal and milk while we were at Meijer buying blankets. The first bowl I took out was not clean so after I rewashed the 2 bowls and 2 spoons, the 5 of us took turns eating breakfast.

I called and checked again on Saturday about a double room and were told they had plenty available but not according to the front desk. Sunday morning the car count was 23...once again NOT sold out for the size of the hotel.

At one point I had forgotten my key card and asked for another one. A different unfriendly clerk told me the only way she could give me another card is by making a new card and then it would cancel all my previous (2) cards. I said fine and she made another card. However, while she was doing this another clerk questioned her and asked "why don't you just make a dupicate?" Her response was, "This method is easier for me so I don't have to look everything up."

I believe the staff at the hotel are not concerned with accomodating and helping the customer, their main objective is what is easiest and less inconvenient for them. This attitude displayed itself many times during our 2 night stay. I will NEVER stay at this hotel again!!!

It is my opinion that the front staff are not overly helpful and are dishonest.

Room Tip: Chose a different hotel for a good room and if you stay here, stay at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Very clean rooms, like having the kitchenette. The front dest is friendly, and they have DVD's to rent for free while you are staying there. No breakfast, and internet signal is poor, recomment staying closer to the center of hotel for best signal.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dustinkrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

During our move from Lafayette, Indiana to Lubbock, Texas my wife and I needed a place to stay our last night in town after moving out of our apartment. I suggested we stay at the Candlewood because I had heard good things about it from a couple of people who stayed there on business and it is one of the newer places in town.

I was unaware it was a hotel designed for extended stays, so I was surprised how the room included a fridge, a kitchenette a desk area and a sleeping area along with a recliner. Overall the room looked really nice and was generally clean. The bathroom was very nice as well.

The one thing that kind of "icked" me out was the bedding...the bed spreads seemed to be stained. Like someone had spilled soda on them or something. Everyone's seen those stories about bodily fluids on hotel surfaces...I personally just try to push it out of my mind during hotel stays. But when you see stains on the bed spreads...it can be hard to do that. That said, the sheets looked clean. There were also some stains on the chairs in the room.

It was OK for one night, and like I said, the room was generally clean. Yet most places I've stayed wouldn't put a bed spread like that on the bed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

the rooms were very nice, with kitchenettes, nice size desks, some rooms w/a seperate bedroom. My only complaints are that I had to wait to check in while the person was outside smoking and the pool is like ice!!! It is upsetting when the kids are looking forward to a night of swimming but can't enjoy it because it is toooo cold.

Room Tip: Get a back room, you can hear all the traffic from the highway in the front ones.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwaters44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lafayette hotels
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lafayette
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Lafayette
Comfort Inn Lafayette
#9 of 23 in Lafayette
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Lafayette
Hampton Inn Lafayette
#2 of 23 in Lafayette
358 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lafayette
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lafayette
Red Roof Inn Lafayette
#3 of 23 in Lafayette
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Lafayette

Address: 240 Meijer Dr, Lafayette, IN 47905-4685
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Lafayette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Lafayette
Price Range: $127 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Lafayette 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Lafayette, IN. We are conveniently located between Chicago and Indianapolis on I-65 just minutes from historic downtown and Purdue University which is home to the Purdue Boilermakers! If you are coming to town for business we are only minutes from Isuzu, Subaru, Toyota, Wabash International, Eli Lilly and Alcoa corporations. Also experience fine dining at nearby restaurants, take in movie, or enjoy shopping in historic downtown or the major retail shopping in the area. We have what you need at the Candlewood Suites Lafayette, IN and we put the amenities where they really count, in your room. Big, built for comfort or extended stay, it is the ultimate suite for the business traveler. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk, check email with free high-speed Internet and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center and indoor pool or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Candlewood Suites Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Lafayette Hotel Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing