We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Italian”
Review of La Scala

La Scala
Reserve with OpenTable
La Scala is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 230 Restaurants in Lafayette
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 3rd and Main
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great Local Italian”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Visting Purdue, looking for a good place for dinner and found La Scala ranked as one of the top Italian restaurants in the area. It did not disappoint. Located across from the courthouse, it's a quaint, old space with bold red and black decor. The waiter was super friendly and helpful, giving honest recommendations, and, indicating which dishes might be 'too spicy.' The food was as good as the service. Nice crusty bread with olive oil for dipping was a meal in itself. The only hitch is parking, but, be patient and you'll find street parking. It's a nice way to walk off all those carbs, too! Nice way to remember the school and end our visit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    72
    31
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Good Italian again”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

It had been a while since we’d eaten at La Scala, and we’d heard that they’d redecorated and made some menu changes. We had an anniversary dinner on a Tuesday at 6:30 and first noticed the expanded and redecorated foyer, with large type graphics setting a traditional tone. A large graphic of the Coliseum dominates the back wall, and colorful local art lines the side walls. There are new pendant lights, but the light level is still annoyingly low. We enjoyed the large loaf of warm, crusty bread (a new type that we liked better than the old) with the olive oil for dipping. I had the side salad (a variety of ingredients including an edible flower), my wife had the caesar salad; both were fresh, served in a large square bowl. I had the Pasta Maria ($15.75) with a nice Italian red wine ($5.50), my wife had Kirsten’s Risotto ($15.25), both served hot in large shallow bowls with fresh, flavorful ingredients. For dessert we indulged in the Flourless Chocolate Torte which was melt-in-your-mouth delicious. All in all, a very satisfying meal in nicely updated surroundings.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mack3065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian restaurant just blocks from the river”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were town for the Nebraska-Purdue football game and found this place. This is a very nice Italian restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating just across from the county courthouse; it's a couple blocks east of the river (just across the river from the Hilton Garden Inn). Nice menu and excellent service (friendly and attentive). Salads were good (Caprese and Caesar), the panzoti was terrific, as was the veal scaloppini. Very moderate prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spicy options, calm service”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I have been to La Scala multiple times; the most recent was just a friendly meal with some colleagues. I do enjoy the more relaxed interactions from the staff; they are very easygoing and willing to help with allergies or food sensitivities. Fortunately, I was warned about the various "Diablo" options--they are quite spicy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barrett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

If I want to eat traditional Italian food in Lafayette, I always go to La Scala! Their tomato-basil soup has a creamy texture and deep flavor, and their grilled salmon is the *best* in town! Their wine selection is pretty good, as well, and the staff are pretty knowledgeable about pairings. The patio is a fabulous place to enjoy a meal or a glass of wine during the spring/summer. The downsides to La Scala include the following: 1) They close WAY TOO EARLY (9pm on weekends!), 2) The interior is dated and looks old. For such a good place to eat that is reasonably priced, they could put a little more effort into the aesthetics of their restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PurdueGirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Scala also viewed

 

Been to La Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing