We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasstree Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grasstree Beach Bed & Breakfast
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed at Grasstree Beach Bed & Breakfast after a flight to Mackay from Brisbane. We wanted to explore more of the area outside Mackay and thought we would give this a try. We were not disappointed! The B & B was reasonably easy to find with our GPS, about half an hour's drive from Mackay airport. On a mango farm, it is in a beautiful rural setting, not far from the beach. Our hosts were lovely and the cottage, though on the small side, was absolutely spotless. The inside area can accommodate a small family, with a separate room for the kids with bunk beds, though the main bed is also in the living area. Nicely decorated. We hadn't ordered an evening meal so drove about 10 mins to Sarina Beach, where we found a restaurant at the local hotel. Our breakfast was huge - so big we couldn't eat it all!! My only complaint was that they were out of Mango Chutney!! I will have to go back again to get some!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clermont_Cowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Searched the internet for a stop-over on our return from Cairns, just a short detour off the main road. Quiet and peaceful, hostess made every effort to accommodate our early departure - thanks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASR777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants U.K.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Lovely retreat staying in the detached cottage which is beautifully furnished and very comfortable. Manfred, Rosemarie and Maxim are the perfect hosts making you feel part of the family. The breakfasts and evening meals are delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alamar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We were travelling from Brisbane to Cairns and this is a lovely quiet place to break the journey. The accomodation is in a seperate building to the main house and consists of two rooms, the main one has a double bed, kitchenette, TV etc and there is also a bedroom with bunks, therefore could accomodtae a family of four. It is in a lovely elevated position looking over the surrounding countryside, very peaceful and a good place to unwind. There is a swimming pool which guests can use but we didnt get a chance to use it due to the rain. THere are no shops or restaurants within walking distance so be prepared to travel a few miles to Sarina Beach for restaurants, we ate at the Surf Club and it was very good value.
Breakfast is delivered to your terrace with wonderful fresh muesli and yoghurt, fruit juice, fruit and boiled eggs with toast.
This B&B is a bit out of the way (if on a road trip) however worth the journey and we would use it again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WChilcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

This was the last B&B on our honeymoon through Australia and we really enjoyed it very much. The swiss family warmly welcomed us on our arrival and showed us the small cottage which consists of 2 bedrooms with private patio and a bathroom. The B&B is nicely settled up on a hill surrounded by Mangotrees and a really nice view of the beach and the surroundings. We went for a hike rightaway and saw our first Kangooroos. They were all over the place and upon our return to the B&B there was even one in front of our room. What an adventure! We had a nice dinner which was prepared by Rosemarie herself. Don´t miss the homemade Mango Ice Cream! The following day we had the best breakfast in Australia, maybe because it wasn´t cooked breakfast but swiss Birchermuesli, OJ, Tea and real european bread with homemade Mangojam. Really a delight (check the pictures)!! We really enjoyed talking to Rosemarie while eating our breakfast and hearing the story of their emigration from Europe to Australia.If you need to stop on the long trip from Fraser Island to the Whitsundays make this B&B your choice, but, like we did, you will probably wish you could stay longer!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2009

My husband and I plus our two young children stayed here for 3 nights in August. This is an absolute beautiful place to stay. The cottage is 2 Bedroom and is spotlessly clean. The bedding was very comfortable and very clean. All furnishings are modern and include fridge, dvd, cd player, Air Con etc. The cottage was serviced daily, and provides privacy.
Breakfast is served daily at your preferred time and is absolutely delicious with a huge variety.
My family and I loved our stay, and the relaxing peacefulness of being just out of town. Rosmarie makes her own jam which is the most beautiful jam I have ever tasted. We would definately stay here again and would recommonend this Bed & Breakfast to all.
The service was of a very very high standard and we loved our stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpecialKQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Dorset, England
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights, and would have liked to have stayed for much longer. The accomodation is a lovely self contained bungalow, beautifully decorated with a gorgeous comfy bed, huge shower and is spotlessly clean. We had a delicious supper with the family, and breakfasts were served on the verandah of the main house. It is just so peaceful and relaxing, a lovely area to explore. The swimming pool was perfect for a dip at the end of the day, and all in all it was an excellent stay, would recommend anybody to stay here; if you like peace and quiet and a rural area. A bonus was seeing the wallabies in the morning and evening. Excellent.

  • Liked — Tasteful and clean with comfy bed
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grasstree Beach Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasstree Beach Bed & Breakfast

Property: Grasstree Beach Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lot 3 Wrights Road, Grasstree Beach, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Grasstree Beach
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grasstree Beach
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing