We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian”
Review of Portway Italian Restaurant - CLOSED

Portway Italian Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Italian”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been to this restaurant several times and it never disappoints us. The food is amazing and the staff look after us very well. If you like good Italian food with a nice homely atmosphere , you will love the portway.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marktoombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    15
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“First-class food in rustic surroundings”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Came here for a family birthday meal not knowing what to expect with no menu on their website and limited photographs. On arrival we sat having drinks in front of an open log fire and handed a menu full of choice. Although I was initially disappointed by the lack of pasta options (those that did exist were only available as starters, including the lasagne) there was plenty of other dishes to tempt my taste buds. I opted for the three pastas starter, followed by a duck with orange sauce. Both dishes were delicious and generously portioned. I have never had a duck dish with so much meat on it. The mains came with an array of freshly cooked vegetables and delicious potatoes and chips. Others on my table had lamb, veal with spaghetti and mussels and all of them enjoyed it. As if that wasn't enough, a sumptuous dessert trolley full of cheesecake, strawberries and tiramisu among other treats was wheeled out afterwards. The service? Fabulous. Italian charm combined with meticulous attentiveness, including a birthday cake with a candle for the birthday lady heralded by a bell and customary singing. Chocolate mints with the bill too. A truly enjoyable evening at a restaurant that I would thoroughly recommend to anyone. Buonissimo!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidayjunkie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, UK
Level Contributor
190 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Unique and reliably Italian”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We've been going to the Portway for yonks: many family occasions over the years - son's graduation, daughter's 40th, husband's birthday most years, in fact any time we can find a good reason! They're very good at arranging gluten free meals, cooking the vegetables separately and doing an individual sauce. It is always busy because the food is always delicious. The 2 waiters have been there for ever (how many other restaurants can you say that about). In addition to the extensive menu there's always a long list of 'specials' which ends up being a memory game as the head waiter recites a list of 10 or more dishes! Have venison steak if it's on the specials list. Otherwise my favourite dish is the saltimbocca, or any of the veal dishes. The sweet trolley is amazing: I often go for a teensy bit of several things!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jazzers45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best Sunday lunch ever”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I haven't been to the Portway for a couple of years but with another couple we decided to treat ourselves to a Sunday lunch before the Xmas festivities began. We were not disappointed the food was perfect, the staff very friendly and they even recognised us from years ago. Fine food, fine wine, excellent service. We are going to start being regular visitors again, it certainly is the best restaurant in this part of North Worcestershire. You will not be disappointed

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisG0EYO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent you must try !”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Have been to Portway Restaurant on numerous occasions just can't fault anything about the place.
The lasagne is the best I have ever had.
My husband always has fillet Rossini and still raves about it !
Nothing is too much trouble.
It's a lovely atmosphere just love it there if you like Italian food it's a MUST !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blackberry65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portway Italian Restaurant also viewed

Solihull, West Midlands
Solihull, West Midlands
 
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing