We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT PLACE FOR A PEACEFUL REST”
Review of Manta Raya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manta Raya Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Salchi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The best of this hotel is the amazing dinner, or either plate you'll try! It's completely disconnected of everything, there's no TV in the hotel but you won't miss it at all. As everyone says, Ana ia an amazing hostess, she'll make sure you have a great staying at the Mantaraya's.
I am from Mexico City, I just went with my best friend for 5 days, and we miss it already! We thought time was gonna pass really slow, but once we found out, we had to leave already!
We loved everything on it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wers V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 400 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Manta Raya in September 2013 and had a wonderful time. Ana is an excellent hostess; she helped us navigate two hurricanes to arrive at the hotel in one piece and then arranged for a 4x4 to transport us down to the beach when the roads were washed out. Even though the timing couldn't have been much worse from a weather perspective, we had a great time. The beach in front of the hotel is beautiful, if small, and if you're looking for a longer beach for walking there's one just over the hill to the west. On both beaches, you'll have plenty of privacy. This is a quiet beach community, not a built-up resort mecca like Cancun or Puerto Vallarta or even Huatulco. If you're looking to get away from it all, this is the place.

We found the hotel by scrolling along the coastline on Google Maps. It's located about halfway between Huatulco (home of the mega-resorts-- Dreams, Secrets, etc) and Puerto Angel (a quieter fishing community), and Salchi itself is a development of vacation homes owned mostly by Canadians, most of whom are in town for only part of the year. The hotel is exactly how it appears in the photos: small, boutique, and private, with a decent-sized pool out front, beds on which to relax, and lounge chairs with umbrellas on the beach. If you're independent-minded, this is a great hotel. It doesn't have the frills of a big resort, but that's also its charm. You could lounge around at the pool/beach all week and be happy, or if you're more active there are great walks through the jungle to nearby beaches, and great shelling on every speck of sand.

One concern we had going into the trip was food. Given how remote the hotel is, it's not really practical to go to town for meals. After one day at the hotel, we weren't worried about that anymore. Ana is a gourmet chef, and she prepares fabulous breakfasts, lunches, and dinners-- all at very reasonable prices. There's no reason to go anywhere else. The food is fresh and locally-sourced, and I would wager that it's better than anything you'd find at one of a big resorts, and at a fraction of the price. The dining situation really made the trip for us, as it meant that we could truly relax and not have to plan anything. We wandered up to the dining area when we were hungry, and lunch/dinner was ready 20 minutes later. Simple as that. And everything goes on a tab so you can just pay at the end of your stay-- no need to carry around your wallet all week. Another small luxury that makes a big difference.

Overall, I couldn't rate this place higher. My girlfriend and I have traveled extensively through Mexico and have stayed at countless boutique hotels. This one is, without a doubt, the best. Treat yourself to a week at the Manta Raya. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fso1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This place was without a doubt a highlight of our trip. We found it this place by accident after looking for some lunch and Im so happy we did. The most amazing beach we saw in Mexico, and the best hotel we stayed at on our trip. Ana was amazing, cooking us a spectacular meal and chatting with us about anything and everything. It is definitely somewhere I would want to go back to and just relax for a while with a babe.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank callum p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This place is a great retreat if you want to get away from stress of daily life - very secluded and quickly accessible. It gives you all the luxury of a big resort with a very personal touch. The kitchen is excellent and special wishes are happily fulfilled. Mexicans may miss the tortillas, but the homebaked breat and pastries make it up. We have enjoyed our stay and will certainly come back. After the first moment of stress when we realized that there is no cellular reception, and we got the wireless working, we enjoyed the excellent service and facilities. During the week we had the beach literally for ourselves. The sea is a bit rough and not convenient for children, but the pool makes it up for the little ones. The ponding of the waves accompany you through the night. The perfect hideaway and a good week-end escape from the city. Thank you for everything Reto and Ana and crew!

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally nice and have a private terrace. The view gets better the higher you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michele_desalmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I just returned from a trip to Bahias and MantaRaya made my stay unforgettable. Ana is such a gracious host, bartender, waitress, manager. She does it all and goes above and beyond to make sure everything is perfect.
Ana sources all her food from the local market. Breakfast consists of fresh fruits, juices, and homemade bread and jellies. She changes the dinner menu every night and while the food is not typically Mexican or Oaxacan I would put it against any high end restaurant. It is that good. (Spinach lasagna, pasta with jumbo shrimp, cream of squash soup, seared tuna on ginger sauce to name a few during our stay) and did I mention that Ana offered me to save my unused wine for the next night? Really, what restaurant would allow you that?

The staff will not come to your palapa trying to sell you beer or cocktails, she fully gets it that you are there to relax and enjoy the place so they leave you alone. If you need anything you get up and go to the bar which she gladly will prepare for you. The beach is nowhere near the tourist center either so you will not be bothered by people trying to sell you crafts.

Do not worry about the beat-up path to the hotel, once you get there your jaw will drop. The only bad thing was the ocean, it was too rough for swimming but I am sure Ana would have tried to solve that if she could.

I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone and would like to go back one day to do more adventure stuff around Huatulco.

Lastly, all of the pictures on the hotel website and other reviews are spot on. There are no hidden high risers next to the hotel or something crazy like that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank O A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We really didn't know what to expect before going here and were positively surprised by how enjoyable Manta Raya hotel is. Everything is just great, we had a wonderful time here.
The rooms are huge and very clean. They have a terrace with a hammock where you can relax all day long. Decoration is simple but tasteful. The beds are really comfortable.
The beach is small and, depending on the time of the year you visit, is almost completely empty. Its almost like a private beach for you to enjoy. We were there for 3 1/12 days and didn't see more than 5 persons. This is the ideal place to go if you want to dis-connect from the world and treat yourself with some quality time. A good companion and a book is all you need.
Finally, the cherry on top is the food. Every single thing that we tried was simply delicious. Dinner is prepared with fresh ingredients (the tuna fish in your plate was probably still alive only a couple of hours before) and is very tasty. If this were a restaurant in a city or a tourist spot it would be famous. Additionally, it's not expensive at all.
. Both my girlfriend and I loved it. I would go back to Manta Raya any time and I reccomend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Room 7 is the best one. It is on the top floor which means more stairs but also the best ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeKaiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

On the recommendation of some friends, we loaded our two kids in the car this June and headed over the mountains from Oaxaca for a blissful 3-day stay at Manta Raya. The hotel is located in a remote area, not walking distance to any shops or restaurants, and provides everything you might need for a quiet vacation. Anna, our hostess, greeted us with cold bottles of water and led us to our lovely, contemporary-style room with a view of the ocean and a hammock swinging gently on the deck. The kids spent most of their time in the pool, and we watched them swim from the shaded poolside beds. Each of our meals was fabulous, and reasonably priced. The beach has white sand with exquisite white seashells, and the ocean is warm, but has too much of a rip-tide for any but the most determined swimmers. A nearby beach provides more protected waters, in a tide-pool kind of way. We highly recommend Manta Raya, and can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salchi
7.8 mi away
Bahia de la Luna
Bahia de la Luna
#1 of 7 in Puerto Angel
322 reviews
14.9 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 48 in Huatulco
4,564 reviews
13.5 mi away
ZOA Hotel
ZOA Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mazunte
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Casa Aamori Hotel
Casa Aamori Hotel
#1 of 4 in San Agustinillo
235 reviews
15.6 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 48 in Huatulco
286 reviews
15.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Huatulco
Holiday Inn Huatulco
#11 of 48 in Huatulco
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manta Raya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Raya Hotel

Address: Salchi, Salchi 70900, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Salchi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Salchi
Price Range: $110 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manta Raya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small boutique hotel directly on the Pacific Ocean. Great place to relax and enjoy the fabulous fresh sea food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Manta Raya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing