We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay in a very friendly pub”
Review of Crown & Horns Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crown & Horns Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 East Ilsley B&B and Inns
Exeter, Devon, UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay in a very friendly pub”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Recently stayed for 1 night at this very nice pub whilst walking the ridge Way and was very happy with the accommodation, the food and the friendly staff.

Room was modern and well decorated with tea/coffee making and tv as well as a very comfy bed. Bathroom was wet-room style with decent shower and plenty of hot water.

Bar and restaurant area very nice and had a meal which was good standard and well presented at a decent enough price. Beer was usual price for this part of the world.

Overall i would recommend as its easy to get to from the A34 and good value for money all round.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    21
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
18
55
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our two night stay at the Crown and Horns was excellent. The room was beautifully decorated with rustic charm and many little touches - the shower and its four settings and piping hot water was heavenly! Everything was very clean and well looked after.

Kim and her team were genuinely welcoming and took care of us well. We had dinner and breakfasts, all great food and good value for money. The rooms are adjacent to the pub and restaurant, which is very convenient, but you also can't hear any noise from the bar in your room.

All in all the only thing we might have changed was to stay another night!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Having decided on a short break to The Crown and Horns Inn, we looked forward to getting there, however Bank Holiday traffic had other ideas, it took four times longer than expected! The welcome we received on arrival was great, most welcoming host and all the staff very friendly. Our room on the courtyard was spacious, very clean and what you would expect from a boutique hotel, let alone an inn in a beautiful village. The food was very good and very tasty with plenty of options, we ate there on each of our 3 nights there and were never disappointed. Breakfast was filling and I can recommend the bacon butty! set me up for the day! All the staff were friendly and willing to chat, can,t think of anymore to say, except that we will be returning in the not too distant future. Thanks for a lovely relaxing break.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonScooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Room was very comfortable. Excellent shower ,plenty of tea,coffee .we had a very nice evening meal in the resturant ,good selection of real ale beers in the bar area. The new owners were really friendly and helpful, would defiantly stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a upstairs room if stopping there in the week,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina1090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay at the Crown & Horns. The room was lovely and the en suite had a fantastic power shower. The owners are really helpful and make you feel welcome. The evening menu was great and we enjoyed three wonderful meals in the cosy bar.Would recommend to anyone and will book again when we are working in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just had a fabulous weekend in the crown and horns for a family wedding near by.
The rooms were lovely , both stylish and comfortable, the Sunday lunch was amazing and the staff most attentive.
Would recommend it to anyone , I believe it has recently changed management and it shows.
Well done to all staff and the chef.
Thank you for making us so welcome

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patten-Mills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here while in the area on business overnight. The food, atmosphere and welcome were all outstanding and the rooms were clean, neat and tidy. The price was also very good for the quality of service received. I will definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AytonSteve85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Ilsley
8.4 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
635 reviews
7.3 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
7.9 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 2 in East Ilsley
113 reviews
1.9 mi away
Compton Swan
Compton Swan
#1 of 1 in Compton
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown & Horns Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown & Horns Inn

Property: Crown & Horns Inn
Address: Compton Road, East Ilsley RG20 7LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > East Ilsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East Ilsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown & Horns Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Hotwire so you can book your Crown & Horns Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing