We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfactory and great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentland
wisconin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Satisfactory and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

A basic place to stay, but thankful for a frig and microwave in every room. No elevator, so it was a little challenging since we were traveling with elderly parents. I very much appreciated the service from Patty and Melissa...we were celebrating our daughter's graduation from Purdue and they went out of their way to help us with our small party. We were able to use the breakfast room for our gathering and Melissa went above and beyond by helping us and making sure we had everything we needed. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lambeauleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We was glad that we could be of help with your daughters party. I wish her the best of luck for the future. I will be sure to share with the rest of the staff the nice things that you had to say. If you are ever in the Kentland area please stop in and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    11
    10
    7
See reviews for
21
8
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakford, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had the basic, most inexpensive room. Very clean, bed very comfortable, quiet, no problems whatsoever. The pool was small but clean and a nice surprise for a budget motel on a minor highway in such an obscure location. Breakfast pretty scanty but didn't expect any breakfast at the low price. Only minor negatives: the carpet in the upstairs hall looked worn, and there was a slight odor to the water. As far as the water, that's nothing that can be blamed on the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcar4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you has passing by and stoped in. We are going to upgrade the hotel and have done some changes outside and in some of the rooms. I do hope that if you are ever back this way you stop and see us again. I will also let the staff members know how your stay was. Thank you again for your nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mabank, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had been travelling across Indiana all day and were tired, so we decided to stay at the next hotel we saw. This Red Roof Inn happened to be next. It seems to be a work in progress because the lobby was very nice, new furniture and big flat screen tv; the breakfast room was newly remodeled, beautiful floor, new bistro tables; our room had a newly painted accent wall, a flat screen tv, fridge and microwave, and a new white duvet cover instead of those old motel bedspreads. I was able to access the Wi-Fi first time. Our friends room wasn't as nice, they said it had a smell; so she sprayed Lysol everywhere, and the had a Jacuzzi tub that was between the bedroom and the bathroom with a shower curtain on both sides, so basically one of the bathroom walls was missing, which we found odd. The tub was old, but functional. The caulk job around the tub REALLY needed redoing. It was clear and you could see the mold behind it. The sheetrock around the tub was buckling and needed repair.
I love to swim in the morning before breakfast, and even though this pool looked questionable, I thought I would give it a try. The water was cloudy, the room felt old and humidly moldy, there was rust all over the door frames, and worse yet I noticed that the intake/outtake areas in the pool were covered with an orange algae. I jumped out of the water and ran back to my room into a hot shower wishing I had some bleach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn here in Kentland. The jacuzzi rooms are made that way so you can relax in the jacuzzi and still watch tv . We are in the process of renovating both the inside and outside of the hotel. I have address the issues that you had with the pool and they have been taken care of, please accept my apologies for the inconvience that it might have caused you. We here at the Kentland Red Roof Inn strive to provide every guest with superior service and do hope that if you are ever back in our area you will stop and see us again. Thank you for chosing Kentland Red Roof Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here every year for the past 30 some years because our family reunion is in Earl Park. Plus its the only motel close. Over the years it continues to go down hill. When it was the Holiday Inn it was not to bad. This last year you could really tell the decline. Not very clean at all. It says its smoke free but our room smelled like someone had been smoking in it and this was our second day there. We had a 4 day stay. They went in the room and sprayed some stuff. It masked the oder. Our family book a lot of rooms during the first weekend in Aug. every year. The staff took a lot of smoke breaks. One staff members boyfriend was hanging out there telling stories to our family members about their house being haunted. It really freaked out our cousin. It looked like maybe some staff were living there full time. Our son rented a room with his family and the air didn't work. The gave them a fan but the blade was broken on it. They asked for another room but told they were full. Finally their second day without air they gave them another room. Bad thing was our grandson has severe asthma.

Don't get me wrong. The staff is very nice and have been good to our family over the years. We just notice the decline. We noticed some new people coming in about a room and no one at the desk. The people finally left. I also miss the handicap steps they use to have to get into the pool. Now some of us can't use the pool. To hard to get in & out of. Still will stay here as long as it doesn't get any worse.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hersheybar73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay when you was here in august, we always look forward each year to seeing you and your family.

We redid the pool 4 years ago and that's when those steps was replaced. I have had a talk with the staff members about your concerns so it shouldn't happen anymore.

As you could tell when you was here we have redone the outside and we are in the process of renovating the hotel. I know that you have been coming here for many years and we look forward to seeing you in august of 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are very dated, air worked at times, but not consistently. Room was quiet and generally clean. No elevator and stairs were dirty. If you are looking to sleep only in this room, it will serve that purpose.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCherryJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. Just to let you know we are in the process of renovating our hotel. The air conditioners work just like central air in your home once they reach a curtain tempture it shuts off and will come back on when the room heats back up. We hope that the next time you are in our area you join us for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel several times over the years. While it was still a HI Express, it was great. Sadly, it just continues to decline. It's not expensive, and is the only show in town, but it really just doesn't cut it anymore. This time, our reservation was wrong (which they did make right), and the room looked clean at first glance, but there were bugs skittering across the floor when we went in. I realized with horror that the shower curtain was filthy, and the beds had no mattress pads (just a threadbare sheet on the mattress--is that even legal.) Some of the staff were very friendly, but some barely acknowledged us. It's just kind of sad...it goes more downhill every time we are there, and nobody seems to care enough to stop it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lori E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. We care about our guest and try to give our guest the best that we offer. Please accept my apologies and i will look into the problems that occured during your stay. We are located next to the fields which can be the reason why you might have seen the insects but we have a extermatetior that comes every month. I do apoloogize that not all staff members acknowledged you and have addressed this with each one. We do hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I am from Benton county and I know not to expect a grand hotel in Kentland....but when I opened the door to my room it was very musty odor the floors were clean looking but you could see the pile up of dirt in corners and dead bugs as well...the water is very hard and that's why I chose a hotel over family but even here its very hard...you feel a film from the water....its a cheap hotel old and dated....I learned my lesson...stay with family...not worth the price...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AaronGoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay.Please accept my sincerest apologies. We do have a water softener in our hotel. I will address with the housekeepers the issues that you had with the room. We do hope that you will stay with us again when you are in the area visiting your family. We here at the Kentland Red Roof Inn strive to provide every guest with superior service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kentland
16.1 mi away
Super 8 Watseka
Super 8 Watseka
#1 of 1 in Watseka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
16.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 3 in Rensselaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
16.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rensselaer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Super 8 Remington
Super 8 Remington
#1 of 1 in Remington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
17.0 mi away
Interstate Motel - Rensselaer
12.1 mi away
Pheasant Country Inn
Pheasant Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fowler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland

Property: Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland
Address: 205 S 7th St, Kentland, IN 47951-1377 (Formerly Hometown Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Indiana > Kentland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the intersection of Route 41 and Route 24, Red Roof Inn Kentland is Non-Smoking and close to some of Indiana's best features! Newton County Fairgrounds, Williow Slough Fish and Wildlife Area, La Salle State Park, Fair Oaks Farm Adventure Center, and Hazeldon Country Club are all convienient to this location. We are also close to Iroquois Memorial Hospital and within a 30 minute drive to both Saint Joseph's College and Purdue University. With a number of good restaurants close by, we are perfect for an enjoyable stay. Red Roof Inn Kentland is Non-Smoking and welcomes you with free WiFi, interior corridors, a guest business center, and meeting area as well as an indoor pool. All guest rooms offer microwave & refrigerator, hairdryer, dataport, iron & ironing board, clock radio, and in-room coffee maker. Ample free onsite parking for semis, bobtails, buses, and motor coaches. One well-behaved family pet is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn and Suites Kentland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kentland
Kentland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing