We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Kendalville
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kendallville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I couldn't have asked for a cleaner room, and the size was great, all the extras need away from home. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, went out of there way to help with even the smallest problems or concerns. I stayed in a Holiday Inn in Johnstown, NY asked for a pet friendly room, there was not even enough room to put the dogs create up where it was out of the way, had to fit it between two twin beds. My husband and I could not even slept together, had to climb over the dog to get around the room. The room in Kendallville had a king size bed more than enough room for a dog's create and no climbing over it if I had one in the room. Could not get over the size of the room for one person.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda485, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kendalville, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Karen,

Thank you very much for the warm review of our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable visit with us and that your room met your expectations in size. We strive very hard to make our guests feel comfortable during their stay with us.

Once again, we would like to extend our gratitude to you for the pleasing comments that you have given us. Our guest's comments are very important to us and it pleases us to know that we have been successful in making your stay a pleasant one.

If we can ever be of assistance to you in your next trip, please do not hesitate to contact us!

Warm regards,
Brenda
Executive Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 149 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

I requested a room with as little cleaning spray as possible, and a particular room was kept for us. It was clean, spacious, with frig and microwave. The breakfast had a lot of variety including scrambled eggs that tasted good, sausage, biscuits and gravy, juices, a variety of rolls, cereal, milk, yogurt, make-your-own small pancakes from a machine, and more that I don't remember.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladylodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda485, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kendalville, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Ladylodger,

Thank you very much for the wonderful comments that you gave regarding your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express in Kendallville. We are delighted to hear that we were able to make your stay with us enjoyable. We pride ourselves in working hard to keep our guests happy.

Our guest's comments are very valuable and important to us. Once again, I would like to extend my warmest gratitude for the pleasant review.

If there is anything that we can do to assist you on your next travels, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Warm regards,
Brenda
Executive Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on business. I was politely and warmly greeted at check in by Kaila and Fallon. Both were very nice and seemed pleased that I was staying there. I had to go to the desk a couple of times for things and they were always willing to help and they were both always pleasant.

My room was very clean with a comfortable bed. Flat screen TV, comfortable bed, frig and microwave. The bathroom came with a small basket of toiletries. Toothbrush, mouthwash, toothpaste, Q-tips, cotton balls, etc. It was just a little extra I have not seen at other Holiday inn Expresses. It was a nice touch.

Breakfast is the same as every other Holiday inn Express. The hostess was very friendly. The have a small pool and hot tub.

Every day from 4-7, the hotel puts out a table full of free snacks. It also includes a free drink. Water, pop, beer, or mixed drink.

The only drawback was it was raining and I wanted to use the treadmill. It was old and not working very well.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeffreyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda485, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kendalville, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

We would like to extend our gratitude for the nice comments that you have made regarding your stay with us. It is nice to hear that we have made your stay enjoyable, and we look forward to seeing you again in your travels. We pride ourselves in working hard to make our guests feel comfortable during their visits.

We would also like to sincerely apologize for your disappointment in the treadmill. Your feedback has been very helpful to us, and we will make every effort to improve upon the treadmill. We are saddened that we fell short of your expectations with the treadmill.

Thank you, once again, for your positive review, and we look forward to seeing you again one day. If we can help you with your next trip, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Warm regards,
Brenda
Executive Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My family stayed here for my brothers wedding. The rooms were clean, and spacious. The hotel had a great free breakfast lots to choose from cereal, toast, cinnamon rolls and more. The only down fall of this hotel is the indoor pool. It is a small pool but a nice pool. They also have a hot tub. Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dank94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda485, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kendalville, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Dank94,
Thank you very much for the nice comments that you left regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will possibly return one day. We take great pride in meeting our guest's needs and making them feel comfortable while they are staying with us.
We are disappointed to hear that our pool size did not meet your expectations. However, I am happy that it was clean and ready for you to use.
We would like to extend our congratulations to your brother on his wedding. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can ever be of assistance in your future travel.
Warm regards,
Brenda L
Executive Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel double charged my account and kept my credit card! The manager refused to call me back when they said they were going to speak to the owner about my situation. When I called back, the manager had left for the day without taking care of the situation and when I asked to speak to the owner, I could hear him in the background saying he wouldn't talk to me. The service is sloppy, and there is no accountability from the management/ownership. The hot tub was out of order, the room was filthy, and the non smoking floor was so heavily filled with cigarette smell, I could barely breathe. I would NEVER stay at this hotel unless you want to be ripped off!

Room Tip: Find a new hotel if you want a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kendalville, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Virginia L,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Kendalville, IN. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Kendalville country HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS on CONVENIENT main road location. Saved by booking online with NO CANCELLATION OPTION chosen to save 15%--worth it for 2 rooms X 3nights. Smooth check-in and desk service smiles but few hiccups during stay... MULITIPLE TROUBLE with ROOM CARD KEY had to reset 2X or more TIMES during 3-night stay...minor nuisance running down to desk to fix while 95yr old mother waited frustrated.

The DOUBLE QUEEN room was FINE for me/my mom had CLIMATE CONTROL and was AMPLE... neither new nor worn out but DECENT & CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN....3rd floor LOCATION facing 45MPH road noise was not a problem for us really.

My brother/wife would have preferred single KING but none avail 3 weeks prior to stay so SINGLE QUEEN was opted for--that room did not have climate but older dial heat/air controls...not big deal...but my brother/wife didn't like seeing 2 big bugs *NOT BED TYPE* under desk area so they moved after 1st night. btw someone else got same room next day...don't know if remedy was made or not?

THE FITNESS ROOM kinda sucked...TV electric cord cut and tied tape so been broken a spell i suspect. Small room with 4 pieces of equipment 2 being for weight lifters. I made the cheap model NORDIC TRACK ELIPTICAL electronics not function & squeaked like dickens but i used anyway as it 20-min then hopped on WOBBLY CHEAP treadmill 35min that DID POWER ON & WORK...more like HOME GYM QUALITY than commercial but hey--good enough for hard core fitness...beggars can't be choosers...

POOL was out of service 2days out of 3 we were there *didn't use or see anyone using*...There was a single computer avail for use in SEPARATE ROOM MAIN FLOOR adj to FITNESS...There was NO MOUSE to ease...for fumble finger granny like me...
DAILY PAPER under door on 1st morning was 3DAYs old haha ARCHIVE... some employee got mixed up!

BREAKFAST OPTIONS hot & cold reasonable and more than most chubby folks deserve *joke*

ALL IN ALL FINE STAY....GOOD A-OK....not perfection but wasn't expecting anything more THAN THAT for 2-star quality HOTEL anywho.

Room Tip: From our 2 rooms received one had CLIMATE CONTROL while other have OLDER DIAL heat air...3rd floor f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yankeedoodledandymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda485, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kendalville, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Yankeedoodledandee,
Thank you for the kind review that you gave regarding your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you were pleased with our location, cleanliness of our hotel, and the breakfast offered. We strive hard to make our guests happy and comfortable during their stay with us.
I am disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with our Fitness Room. Rest assured that your comments are taken into consideration and we will make any adjustments necessary. Thank you once again for the review you have left us. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is ever anything we can do to assist you in your future travels.
Warm regards,
Brenda
Executive Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff here was very accomodating! We booked two adjoining rooms, no problem. My brother booked one room separately, but asked to be near our rooms. No problem. I originally booked the wrong dates through a pre-pay, non-refundable website. No problem, the hotel allowed them to change our dates. Comfortable beds, spacious and clean rooms. Excellent free breakfast, including many hot items. A great value for the money!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendallville
0.9 mi away
Best Western Kendallville Inn
Best Western Kendallville Inn
#1 of 3 in Kendallville
182 reviews
23.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fremont
9.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Auburn
Hampton Inn Auburn
#1 of 7 in Auburn
299 reviews
23.1 mi away
Quality Inn hotel in Fremont
9.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Auburn
Comfort Suites Auburn
#6 of 7 in Auburn
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kendalville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kendalville

Address: 1917 Dowling St, Kendallville, IN 46755-9436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Kendallville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kendallville
Price Range: $93 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kendalville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with the totally renovated Holiday Inn Express of Kendallville! Our amenities are the newest around. Every feature designed to exceed the needs of every guest. Our hotel is the place to stay, whether for business or pleasure. A stay with us is not just a night at a hotel…it’s an experience to remember! Don’t compromise your stay. Our goal is to provide you with the most outstanding customer service experience you deserve. We offer an extended breakfast from 5:30–10am daily. Our hotel has executive king rooms, queen rooms, even Jacuzzi suites. Every room has been renovated with an urban scheme. We provide luxurious pillow top mattresses, high quality thread count sheets, choice of soft or firm pillows, desk & chair, refrigerator, microwave, coffeepot, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, luggage rack, and TV with HBO all for your convenience. We have a private business center with essentials available 24/7. We are the only hotel in the area with an elevator making accessibility easy on every floor. Relax in our whirlpool spa, enjoy our newly remodeled pool area, lounge on our comfy new pool furniture, and have the benefit of our lovely outside patio. This is a great place to hang out with family and friends. For our athletic guests we have our new fitness room that is available for use around the clock. The Holiday Inn Express of Kendallville is the perfect rest destination! Our qualified staff has the skills needed to ensure you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kendalville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kendallville
Kendallville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing