We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Kendalville
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kendallville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel double charged my account and kept my credit card! The manager refused to call me back when they said they were going to speak to the owner about my situation. When I called back, the manager had left for the day without taking care of the situation and when I asked to speak to the owner, I could hear him in the background saying he wouldn't talk to me. The service is sloppy, and there is no accountability from the management/ownership. The hot tub was out of order, the room was filthy, and the non smoking floor was so heavily filled with cigarette smell, I could barely breathe. I would NEVER stay at this hotel unless you want to be ripped off!

Room Tip: Find a new hotel if you want a good room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kendalville, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Virginia L,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Kendalville, IN. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Kendalville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 147 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Kendalville country HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS on CONVENIENT main road location. Saved by booking online with NO CANCELLATION OPTION chosen to save 15%--worth it for 2 rooms X 3nights. Smooth check-in and desk service smiles but few hiccups during stay... MULITIPLE TROUBLE with ROOM CARD KEY had to reset 2X or more TIMES during 3-night stay...minor nuisance running down to desk to fix while 95yr old mother waited frustrated.

The DOUBLE QUEEN room was FINE for me/my mom had CLIMATE CONTROL and was AMPLE... neither new nor worn out but DECENT & CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN....3rd floor LOCATION facing 45MPH road noise was not a problem for us really.

My brother/wife would have preferred single KING but none avail 3 weeks prior to stay so SINGLE QUEEN was opted for--that room did not have climate but older dial heat/air controls...not big deal...but my brother/wife didn't like seeing 2 big bugs *NOT BED TYPE* under desk area so they moved after 1st night. btw someone else got same room next day...don't know if remedy was made or not?

THE FITNESS ROOM kinda sucked...TV electric cord cut and tied tape so been broken a spell i suspect. Small room with 4 pieces of equipment 2 being for weight lifters. I made the cheap model NORDIC TRACK ELIPTICAL electronics not function & squeaked like dickens but i used anyway as it 20-min then hopped on WOBBLY CHEAP treadmill 35min that DID POWER ON & WORK...more like HOME GYM QUALITY than commercial but hey--good enough for hard core fitness...beggars can't be choosers...

POOL was out of service 2days out of 3 we were there *didn't use or see anyone using*...There was a single computer avail for use in SEPARATE ROOM MAIN FLOOR adj to FITNESS...There was NO MOUSE to ease...for fumble finger granny like me...
DAILY PAPER under door on 1st morning was 3DAYs old haha ARCHIVE... some employee got mixed up!

BREAKFAST OPTIONS hot & cold reasonable and more than most chubby folks deserve *joke*

ALL IN ALL FINE STAY....GOOD A-OK....not perfection but wasn't expecting anything more THAN THAT for 2-star quality HOTEL anywho.

Room Tip: From our 2 rooms received one had CLIMATE CONTROL while other have OLDER DIAL heat air...3rd floor f...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yankeedoodledandymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda485, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kendalville, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Yankeedoodledandee,
Thank you for the kind review that you gave regarding your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you were pleased with our location, cleanliness of our hotel, and the breakfast offered. We strive hard to make our guests happy and comfortable during their stay with us.
I am disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with our Fitness Room. Rest assured that your comments are taken into consideration and we will make any adjustments necessary. Thank you once again for the review you have left us. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is ever anything we can do to assist you in your future travels.
Warm regards,
Brenda
Executive Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff here was very accomodating! We booked two adjoining rooms, no problem. My brother booked one room separately, but asked to be near our rooms. No problem. I originally booked the wrong dates through a pre-pay, non-refundable website. No problem, the hotel allowed them to change our dates. Comfortable beds, spacious and clean rooms. Excellent free breakfast, including many hot items. A great value for the money!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed for two nights this past weekend. It is located at an average location; there isn't any restaurants within walking distance. There is a Walmart across the street and a plaza with Taco Bell, Applebees, and Goody's down the road on US 6. The rooms are ok with comfortable beds and a nice room size. The walls and the ceilings are very thin, you can literally hear every footstep in the room above. The hotel offers a free breakfast buffet every morning with bagels, toast, scrambled and hard boiled eggs, ham, sausage, biscuit and gravy, donuts, and a pancake maker. There is a manager's reception from 4-7 with free cakes and snacks and complimentary drinks ranging from soft drinks to vodka to beer. The free in-room wifi is fast as well. Great stay overall.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leep116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Booked a room at this HIE for a night on my recent road trip. Overall it was a good stay as the hotel was small and tidy. The only issue i had was the lack of wifi as the service was not available for the night. Were promised by the front desk that the issue was being dealt with and wifi would be available but that wasn't the case.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandD_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kendalville, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear DandD_2008,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am glad to read you like our room accommodations. I apologize the experience you had with the internet service was less than satisfactory. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

I hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.


Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I couldn't have asked for a better experience. I arrived there the night of March 19, 2013. Since my husband died in June, 2012 this was my first big trip back to Kendallville! Very scarey experience but all of the Staff at this hotel were marvelous. First Misty, at the front desk, was so helpful. She was really more friendly and helpful than if she had been in my own family. Since it was so late, I got in a Suite which was the only room left, but I loved it. The bed was so comfortable. I had a large room with lots of tv stations on wide-screen, & lots of different tables and accessories. Other helpful staff were: Vanessa and Sandra. I'm sure there were more but I don't recall all the names. For breakfast, I mostly had skim milk and yogurt plus coffee but Nancy was so pleasant to talk with. Even the manager (owner?) was friendly. Again, I could not recommend this hotel more.
Barbara

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scraggles59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor I decided to stay at this HIE. From the check-in to the morning breakfast everything was top notch. The room was clean and comfortable. The bed was extremely comfortable. The front desk staff went out of their way to speed my check-in and make sure I had everything I needed. The breakfast was great and there was plenty of items to chose from. This is the place to stay when in the Kendalville area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NovTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendallville
0.9 mi away
Best Western Kendallville Inn
Best Western Kendallville Inn
#1 of 3 in Kendallville
175 reviews
23.6 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
9.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
161 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Auburn
Hampton Inn Auburn
#1 of 7 in Auburn
272 reviews
23.1 mi away
Quality Inn hotel in Fremont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kendalville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kendalville

Address: 1917 Dowling St, Kendallville, IN 46755-9436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Kendallville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kendallville
Price Range: $81 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kendalville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with the totally renovated Holiday Inn Express of Kendallville! Our amenities are the newest around. Every feature designed to exceed the needs of every guest. Our hotel is the place to stay, whether for business or pleasure. A stay with us is not just a night at a hotel…it’s an experience to remember! Don’t compromise your stay. Our goal is to provide you with the most outstanding customer service experience you deserve. We offer an extended breakfast from 5:30–10am daily. Our hotel has executive king rooms, queen rooms, even Jacuzzi suites. Every room has been renovated with an urban scheme. We provide luxurious pillow top mattresses, high quality thread count sheets, choice of soft or firm pillows, desk & chair, refrigerator, microwave, coffeepot, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, luggage rack, and TV with HBO all for your convenience. We have a private business center with essentials available 24/7. We are the only hotel in the area with an elevator making accessibility easy on every floor. Relax in our whirlpool spa, enjoy our newly remodeled pool area, lounge on our comfy new pool furniture, and have the benefit of our lovely outside patio. This is a great place to hang out with family and friends. For our athletic guests we have our new fitness room that is available for use around the clock. The Holiday Inn Express of Kendallville is the perfect rest destination! Our qualified staff has the skills needed to ensure you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kendalville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kendallville
Kendallville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing