We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Edakkal Hermitage Resort
Nearby Hotels
Mount Xanadu Resort(Ambalavayal)
$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Villagio Holiday Apartments(Sultan Bathery)(Great Value!)
$58
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OYO 8897 Resort August Residency(Wayanad)(Great Value!)
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Thejas Resorts Wayanad(Sultan Bathery)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wave Wayanad(Ambalavayal)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Vistara Resort(Ambalavayal)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tapovanfarmhouse(Sultan Bathery)
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Sheelisach Inn(Sultan Bathery)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
34
39
14
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
39
14
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscave dinnercandle light dinnerthe cottageslong weekendromantic dinnerveg or non vegwestern ghatsamidst naturenice and spacious roomssunrise and sunsetnear futuresightseeing placesunique experienceawesome placewonderful stayappammouth watering
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 88 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2010

This place is AWESOME for honeymooners. If you are looking for a HM spot in India (and you are like us, staying abroad in US/US etc) then I will highly recommend this. There are not many "tourist" places around this place to see but I think you dont look for any either when on HM.

This place, the food, service and unbeatable architecture is just way too good. If I could; I would rate it 10 stars.

Do not miss out on the cave dinner they serve. It is a beautiful experience.

I must mention also that the service they offer (everything politely, punctually and quitely) is worth all the effort hat you may need to reach there. Its isolated but reaching there in a car from Kozicode airport is not much of a hassle. Emailing or calling them is promptly replied to and so one never feels lost.

I am sure you will love this place and experience, particularly if you are on a honeymoon.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itsleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2009

we visited the hotel for 3 nights. the first one we would never forget- expect a sensational candle light dinner. from out room we had a great view downwards , with monkeys around in the morning and a excellent kitchen.sudheesh and his crew did everything to fulfil our wishes.
dieter , munich , germany

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meckremmert2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2009

Excellent place to stay. Nested on the slopes of the mountains, giving an awesome view of the cofee and pepper plantations down the valley.Effortlessly binding history and traditional values, the Edakkal Hermitage combines spectacular vistas of nature and the timeless appeal of heritage of the nearby pre-historic Edakkal caves, with its warm ambience and vernacular architecture.

Staying in the tree house was a thrilling experience. We enjoyed the shaky room immensely. The room was simple and neat without a TV. We could imagine how the tribals live in a tree house. During the night we were bit scared and hoped that there are no gusty winds. But it was just our feeling everything went really well there.
The best experience of our stay there was the candle light dinner in the resort cave and the trek to edakkal caves. Only suggestion is to visit the edakkal caves on working day in the early morning or else the local crowd (especially youth) could be very disturbing and you can not enjoy the trek. The trek for around 200 meters is very stiff but the efforts are worth. The caves are amazing. To make less strenuous you can book the jeep till the cave entrance. The hotel staff will help you in the same
Driving on the last stiff to reach the resort. You have to be really careful or else request the resort staff to assist you. The best is to travel on non govt holidays, the crowd will be less.
The noise of the crowd walking towards the Edakkal caves. They disturb the serenity of the place. Plus i do not recommend the place for families with children.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jimvaghese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

We got a good package for 2 nights and 3 days at Edakkal Hermitage way back in Oct 06.

The place is drivable from Bangalore, but we hired a taxi. It is about 5-6 hours from Bangalore. You go on the road to Ooty till Gundalpet, where you take a right turn (westward) towards Kerala. To reach Edakkal, you first pass throughBandipur National Park, and then just 5 km or so after Sultan Bathery, you are there.

The staff at Edakkal are very friendly and keen to take good care of you. The first cottage that we got was built against a rock (Lascaux), but we found that a bit too cramped, so they moved us to another cottage called Chauvet. This has a verandah to sit in and enjoy the view.

We had dinner in the cave, and it was a great experience for the kids too. It was so warm inside that I had to take off my jacket to stop sweating! The staff were accomodative to our kids limited diets, and made some excellent idlis and dosas, which were otherwise not on the menu. Such small touches, are what makes any traveller feel welcome.

The cottages are some distance down-hill from the restuarant, and the grade is not very comfortable if you are not in a decent physical condition. They told us then that they do not serve food to the room, not sure whether it has changed now.

The views from our cottage or nearby were fabulous, and I have uploaded some.

Go to Edakkal Hermitage when you can - you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ikkalakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

We were 4 adults and one child visited this place in the peak season Oct dussera holidays. We had taken our own transportation...this is the best option to go to Wayanad. We reached this resort around 2pm in the after to start with our lunch. We had booked two cottages Lascaux & Chauvet which is situated on the top most large rocks. We were staying there for 3 days. This had best views from the cottages.
Stars, cool breeze and pollution free nights was unforgetful ..mist covered early mornings was definately something which we dont get in our busy city life ...food was mouth watering. The resort offers a very comfortable stay in the midst of nature, with even romantic dinners in candle – lit caves. It was the best relaxed trip we had after a long time. Staff here were caring and friendly.
Great! This place is definitely gonna be recommended to all. The service level was outstanding.

1  Thank coolnature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews